Little Red
Midnight Remember


4.0
excellent

Review

by DaveFloyd USER (1 Reviews)
April 13th, 2011 | 24 replies


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Little Red take a step in the right direction, showing off their excellent musicianship with an impressive second effort.

Off the back of a mildly successful debut album, (with one hit single ‘Rock It’) Little Red have stepped up their game with their follow up ‘Midnight Remember’. Throwing to the wayside their Beach Boys inspired cheesy pop; they have opted for a more mature sound, while still retaining a catchy and feel good vibe. Right from the start you learn that this record is very different, with a large and sweeping soundscape accompanying opener ‘Get a Life’ as the airy and uplifting chord progression gives it an epic feel, without it coming across as too pretentious.

The excellent harmonies that are contained in each and every song on the record, also give it a better and more complete sound, with the fact that all of the band members can sing (aside from the drummer), being an obvious factor that they take advantage of. Another good thing about the vocals is that the leads vary from track to track, giving it much needed diversity over a reasonably lengthy thirteen track album. A track like ‘Place Called Love’ ridiculous lyrics aside, is a breath of fresh air with the deep voice of keyboard player Tom Hartney, making it stand out as a particularly enjoyable song. An excellent guitar solo towards the end sees the song transcend into chaos.

This album contains so much variability in genres; you feel like you’re literally travelling through the decades with elements borrowed from many different bands; however they still manage to mould it into their own unique sound. One band that seems to be an influence is someone like U2, with Little Red penning a number a bite sized anthems. It is quite incredible how much of a track like ‘Follow You There’ is a build up into the eventual crescendo, but still feels so complete even only clocking in at 3:47, no doubt a stand out song. The same thing can also be said for tracks like ‘Slow Motion’ and ‘All Mine’. Tracks like that bear resemblance to other Australian bands such as ‘The Temper Trap’ and ‘Empire of the Sun’, but what separates Little Red from them, is much better vocals, and even musicianship. The lyrics leave much to be desired, but they aren’t bad enough (or any worse than their contemporaries) to detract from the listening experience.

That’s not to say it doesn’t contain some great pop songs, particularly with the infectious ‘Rock It’. A ridiculously catchy bass line and chorus, ensures that it will be stuck in your head for days. A track like ‘Lazy Boy’ is also catchy, and probably the one song that bears the most resemblance to their debut. But in common line with rest of the album, it is much better done. The addition of horns and a more measured pace, make it far more interesting than anything from their debut. That’s not to say the album is perfect, with hints of filler and skip ability scattered occasionally throughout, with songs such as; ‘Forget About Your Man’ and ‘Going Wrong’ both falling somewhat flat (and are quite forgettable). But overall, ‘Midnight Remember’ is an extremely impressive follow up to Little Red’s debut, and most certainly a step in the correct creative direction.

Recommended Tracks: Rock It, All Mine, Place Called Love, Little Bit Of Something, Follow You There


user ratings (11)
Chart.
3.7
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
DaveFloyd
April 13th 2011


6 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

OK so first review, please be a little bit kind aha

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
April 13th 2011


22486 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Welcome to the site Dave.



Not bad for a 1st review at all. Review is about the right length & you say a fair bit over that length. Just ensure you re-read your reviews, as there are a lot of awkward sentences, extra words, etc... (EG: Very 1st sentence & much of the concluding paragraph).



As for the album, I really liked the 1st half, but they got wayyyyy too ambitious on the latter half. They try to cover too much ground & just aren't up to it imo.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
April 13th 2011


9110 Comments


wow, dave and dave lol. This looks better than my first review,

DaveFloyd
April 13th 2011


6 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Cheers Davey, btw my name is a mix of Dave Grohl and Pink Floyd, couldn't think of a better one. I'll try and brush up those sentences a bit and try and make them flow a little better. For the record I'm from round Geelong, and a North Melbourne supporter, which I believe you are too! Finally decided to make an account, and hopefully my reviews get a bit better over time.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
April 13th 2011


9110 Comments


New south Wales. You will find out what works soon enough. You can even change your style as you go if you want.

DaveFloyd
April 13th 2011


6 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Cheers Ipod, yeah I'll definitely write a few more and see what works and what doesn't.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
April 13th 2011


22486 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"... and a North Melbourne supporter, which I believe you are too!"



My new favourite user. Haha. Go Kangas... Just win one match.



You've got a good base going for your reviews... & you're already choosing well since this album didn't have a review & needed one.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
April 13th 2011


9110 Comments


When you do shout box me. Ill read

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
April 13th 2011


9110 Comments


Dave i have #20 up i wanted to do something fun cause its my birthday.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
April 13th 2011


22486 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

He's Dave, I'm Davey.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
April 13th 2011


9110 Comments


Lol guess i got told- just for you ill add a y. Davey

Vooligan
April 13th 2011


3541 Comments


Hey man, nice review. Always good to have another Aussie around. Despite the team you support, haha.

And for the record, I can't stand Little Red.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
April 13th 2011


9110 Comments


We seem to have an aussie team user base building up here. Awesome

DaveFloyd
April 13th 2011


6 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ipod: Yeah I'm a bit new to the whole shoutbox stuff around here, but I replied, I'll definitely give some of your reviews a read soon and leave some feedback



Davey: Yeah hopefully we can knock off freo this week but a shocking start! And yeah this was a particular favorite of mine last year and thought I'd give it some love.



Vool: haha fair enough, I never really liked Little Red but as I said in the review, I thought this album was a major improvement with much more interesting sounds, just my opinion aha



And yeah it's nice to be building up the Aussie base building up, I'll be trying to review plenty of Aussie bands and get them more recognition, cos they don't seem to get much love on this site for the most part.

Vooligan
April 13th 2011


3541 Comments


Been a pretty large group of Aussies on here for a fair while now, Ipod.

Dave: No worries man, different tastes etc. And yeah, i've been on here for years trying to get people on here listening to Aussie bands. Basically all my reviews are of relatively unknown Aussie bands.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
April 13th 2011


9110 Comments


Still. Can't hurt to have more. Daysend are my local metal act.

DaveFloyd
April 13th 2011


6 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nice Vooligan, they deserve some love out here theres plenty of great Aussie bands. Nice to see you reviewed that floating me release I'm pretty keen to hear that.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
April 13th 2011


9110 Comments


Let me clarify I'm not a part of daysend. And pos on the review.

DaveFloyd
April 13th 2011


6 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Cheers Pod, yeah we've got some pretty good local hardcore bands down in Geelong, I'll probably give some of them a review soon. Through The 11th Hour are actually from around here which I believe got reviewed recently. A whole bunch of others too.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
April 13th 2011


9110 Comments


Well as soon as you put another review up let me know. I like how you have started.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy