Dommin
Love Is Gone


3.5
great

Review

by Robert Garland CONTRIBUTOR (263 Reviews)
April 5th, 2011 | 20 replies


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Newcomers to the gothic rock genre have something to say and Dommin’s message is that “Love Is Gone”

Incorporating features of blues, small amounts of jazz and more heavily the gothic rock influence Dommin create an interesting and valuable listen. Hailing from Los Angeles and reaching the worlds stage in 2010 after releasing their debut full length album ‘Love Is Gone’ Dommin display a high sense of creative talent over the length of their album.

Whilst remaining relatively unnoticed until the release of this album Dommin bring elements from rock, the gothic, and add a touch of jazz to create an effect that is both interesting and tasteful as they combine these elements almost perfectly. Dommin utilize dark themes, melodic passages, rhythmic vocal lines that most on a first listen would miss making Dommin’s first release a mix of catchiness and originality.

On a first listen Dommin’s sound may appear to have many similar characteristics and traits of many other rock groups, however with Dommin there appears to be something bubbling under the surface, adding features heavily influenced by the gothic genre overall creates an interesting sound for the listener and after a few repeat listeners will find amounts of contrast breaking the sound up and creating a higher level of playability. Production on Love Is Gone shows the bands own potential. The production sound itself is clean and crisp with all recorded parts sounding clear and mixed well.

Instrumentally the band at first glance does not appear to be anything overly special. The instrumentation itself contains male vocals, guitars, bass, piano, and drum kit thus being an ordinary line up for most conventional groups. The vocals are smooth and tasteful with lyrical content strongly supporting the overall theme of the album. The flow is pushed by the vocal force and gothic nature of Dommin, however the only problem may appear to be the context as it occasionally will come off as cheesy and cliché. The drum work of the album adds small greatness using small amounts of jazz styled beats to lift the level of interest and technicality to the drums and the rest of the album. The bass guitar while not strongly noticeable emphasises the guitar rhythm lines and works well with the drum section. The guitars show varying amounts creativity and smartly shows this when it is needed ensuring that ‘Love Is Gone’ does not become a tedious listen and from time to time the piano is used branching out the sound and creating a tasteful level of contrast for the rest of the album. This shows Dommin’s more mature melodic approach to their music.

While mixing dark tones with light and dark song themes Dommin show the world on their debut album that they are a force to be reckoned with, they also show an excellent mix of melody and technicality that suits the music without lowering its overall standard. Showing promise and something a little out of the ordinary for the rock genre Dommin show in their own on their debut album that ‘Love Is Gone’.

Highlights Include: My Hearts, Your Hands, Love Is Gone, Dark Holiday



Recent reviews by this author
Ghastly (FIN) Death VelourGorod Aethra
Moonshade Sun DethronedArchitects Holy Hell
All That Remains Victim of the New DiseaseArsis Visitant
user ratings (25)
Chart.
3.1
good

Comments:Add a Comment 
NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
April 5th 2011


9113 Comments


Thought i'd focus on flow of the album, rather than describing a couple of songs to back up my points. I hope it works, As always criticism is always appreciated.

ButcheredChildren
April 5th 2011


5590 Comments


good review but band bores me.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
April 5th 2011


9113 Comments


thanks man, you think the change of writing style worked? Just trying something different.

ButcheredChildren
April 5th 2011


5590 Comments


Yah I like it, good work man.

pizzamachine
April 5th 2011


13873 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Your sentences generally need to be broken up. For example, your third "paragraph" is only three sentences (this means that your sentences are way too long). Also, it only has two commas! The rest of your review is basically written in the same manner. Just work on your general punctuation dude, keep it up.



NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
April 5th 2011


9113 Comments


thanks pizza, keep slicing.

quick question why is there so much dislike for this band? they do break the mainstream feel of things for a while, and change is good yes?

pizzamachine
April 5th 2011


13873 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

they do break the mainstream feel of things for a while



I guess the problem is that they don't do it enough.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
April 5th 2011


9113 Comments


fair enough.
while your crticing my review, anything you want to add?

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
April 5th 2011


22486 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Nice review Robert... & one that was needed. I think you overplay the jazz element, but otherwise pretty much agree with you. The only thing I'd probably edit in the review is the word "piano". There is more than just a piano there if you know what I'm getting at.



I think the dislike for this band mainly comes from the fact they are (a) fairly derivative & dated (Danzig, Misfits, etc...) & (b) do come off as rather corny at times.



I enjoy the album for what it is however.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
April 5th 2011


9113 Comments


Well i was kinda surprised there wasn't a Dave review already up, and its an album i have started to enjoy since they played at soundwave. Although it's a bit of a switch from the metal reviews i have been doing.

I do know what you mean about the piano featuring but it was the example i used and one that most readers would be able to notice quickly and easily.

I think it's a great listen and breaks my usual listens up nicely.

Definitely appreciate the feedback.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
April 5th 2011


22486 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

No probs. I like the way you have tested yourself by reviewing something different... & in a different manner.



From memory, I had no idea who they were when the album was released. It was only SoundWave that made me check it out.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
April 5th 2011


9113 Comments


Well if you like left of field reviews... my Rodrigo Y Gabriela review was a bit uncomfortable for me to write, wouldn't mind an opinion?


I had heard of them before Soundwave and heard the track 'Dark Holiday' but i didn't really give them much attention until a week before SW.

Acanthus
April 6th 2011


9812 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Love this band, bought their E.P. and waited eagerly for the full length. As Davey mentioned they are a bit dated but I love that about them, this release got momentous amounts of play time in my CD player.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
April 6th 2011


9113 Comments


I know what you mean. Thanks for the feed back guys. This all helps the writing process for the next review. If anyone wants to add anything more it will be much appreciatied.

Alucard125
April 6th 2011


598 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Super boring album, but good review. I hate that guys fringe so much.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
April 6th 2011


9113 Comments


Thanks guys

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
April 7th 2011


9113 Comments


Any other pointers? Guess I'm looking for any help i can get.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
April 11th 2011


9113 Comments


@Alucard125
a fringe really shouldn't be a deciding factor. but yes i hate it too.

thacoconut94
September 30th 2014


1497 Comments


saw these guys back in 2010 they supported HIM live, good performance, band and album

DrGonzo1937
Contributing Reviewer
March 20th 2017


14898 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I've been jamming this recently, it's still pretty great.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy