The KLF
Chill Out


4.5
superb

Review

by robertsona STAFF
April 1st, 2011 | 70 replies


Release Date: 1990 | Tracklist


The KLF’s Chill Out has an extremely charming and engrossing sense of tangentiality about it; of environments and their respective moods being passed through and of feelings and sensations just out of reach. Supposedly the album is meant to portray a journey from Texas to Louisiana, and so it is: the album transmits the delirious feeling of a thirty-hour car ride, as felt in that special sensory area between sleep and brainless acceptance of random stimuli. That is to say, the feeling of motion and of your feet sticking out the car window, looking up at the stars and not really seeing anything except bright spots against a dark blue canvas. Or, once again, even more broadly: The KLF paint a big, moving landscape of Elvis samples and steel guitar and Tuvan throat singers and washes of synth pads and let you explore it but never really bother to, say, “decode” it for you, which makes the album all the better. What would a never-ending car ride be without the inexplicable three-legged dog on the side of the road"



Recent reviews by this author
Jean Grae/Quelle Chris Everything's FinePlayboi Carti Die Lit
Natalia Lafourcade Musas Vol. 2R. Stevie Moore Phonography
Slum Village Fan-Tas-Tic Vol.1Morton Feldman String Quartet No. 2
user ratings (114)
Chart.
4.1
excellent
other reviews of this album
Adash (5)
One: the KLF are the greatest band of all time. Two: Chill Out may be one of the greatest albums of...


Comments:Add a Comment 
robertsona
Staff Reviewer
April 1st 2011


16249 Comments


not a review oops. nice soundoff etc

Ponton
Emeritus
April 1st 2011


6328 Comments


Yes this album

Digging: Aquilus - Griseus

Tyrael
April 2nd 2011


21109 Comments


Nice soundoff man. Well done.

Digging: Obscura - Diluvium

gaslightanthem
April 2nd 2011


5209 Comments


can't wait for the new hollywood undead

SowingSeason
Moderator
April 2nd 2011


26993 Comments


Nice soundoff. I like it when I don't have to read for very long

Digging: Foxing - The Albatross

Tyrael
April 2nd 2011


21109 Comments


Glad you didn't read my latest review then Sowing!

Cabrero
May 4th 2011


2 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

They wanted to relax me? I PREFER SILENCE THAN THIS NERVOUS EXPERIENCE. It seems like an highway destroying the nature... If you travel to Galicia, you will probably find and a multi-orgasmatic peaceful calm very far of this (It was what I thought to find...) but a great disappointment hit me.

bab808
July 27th 2011


456 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

can someone please delete this ^. and his rating. and sound off. and profile.

balcaen
July 27th 2011


3183 Comments


that guy sucks

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
February 19th 2013


16249 Comments


Weird review

Great album

foxblood
February 19th 2013


9291 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

one of the few tiny reviews i don't mind

foxblood
February 19th 2013


9291 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

they're usually just written by people who can't write is the biggest problem. but that happens with most reviews of any length i suppose



so is this a legit 5 for you?

ethixx
February 19th 2013


1170 Comments


yeah, perfect review
and im really loving how distinct this album is

Wadlez
February 21st 2014


4913 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

holy shit, perfect start to my Friday night

Lord(e)Po)))ts
February 21st 2014


39659 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

5/5 album, ambient i can jive to

Wadlez
February 21st 2014


4913 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Been on a major ambient kick lately, awesome stuff

Lord(e)Po)))ts
February 21st 2014


39659 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

its a rarity that i find ambient that keeps my attention so me saying this is a 5 is like an ultra compliment

Wadlez
February 21st 2014


4913 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

What do you think of Lifeforms or U.F. Orb? Also, Secede is very quality.

Lord(e)Po)))ts
February 21st 2014


39659 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

lifeforms is aight



i heard tryshala bu secede it was also aight

zakalwe
February 21st 2014


25382 Comments


Woob - 1194 is up there with this as classic.
It's got Quantum Leap samples in it which automatically qualifies it.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy