OOMPH!
Truth Or Dare


3.0
good

Review

by Hurricanslash USER (47 Reviews)
March 28th, 2011 | 14 replies


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Oh dear...

OOMPH! was a really influential band back in the 90s, inspiring bands like Rammstein or Megaherz. From album to album, they always sounded different. More lately they are more like a conventional rock band and not like their beginnings anymore, which isn't too bad, but it could be better. Now they noticed that they have an ever growing popularity in other countrys than Germany. So what do they decide to do" Rerecording their greatest hits in english. Oh dear...

Let me start off with something positive first. It's very nice of them to translate their greatest hits into english, so people in other countries can easily understand the lyrics. And noone can really say that Dero is a bad lyricist. So I'll give 'em that.

BUT: Any OOMPH! fan has already all of this songs in his collection. So for him this record becomes pointless. We don't need these rerecordings. There was a better collection already (Delikatessen) anyway. So why does this thing exist"

Because there are people that don't know OOMPH! that good. For them, this is the perfect start to listen to the new, more recent OOMPH! than anything else. This gives this record a reason to live, short and simple.

So, we get to the final point breakdown:

For an OOMPH! fan: 1/5
For anyone else: 4/5
Final score: 3/5 (I'm being nice here, this was my first favorite band)

So, OOMPH fans, please avoid this record. But anyone else, feel free to buy this record, you might get a new favorite band, who knows.



Recent reviews by this author
Echo Tail Fields of VisionKieron Boothe The Lone Wolf: Volume One
Rav Beneath The Toxic JunglemessFX Without Shame
Hoobastank They Sure Don't Make Basketball Shorts Like They Used ToDAT ADAM Chrome
user ratings (29)
Chart.
2.9
good

Comments:Add a Comment 
Hurricanslash
March 28th 2011


1830 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Second review. Feel free to leave criticism.

theacademy
Staff Reviewer
March 28th 2011


31367 Comments


AUGEN AUF!

Hurricanslash
March 28th 2011


1830 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

A little too overrated if you ask me. Good song, but they have better ones.

theacademy
Staff Reviewer
March 28th 2011


31367 Comments


thats the only one i know

im american

does you like emery?

Hurricanslash
March 28th 2011


1830 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

To get a better idea what they sound like, listen to their earlier albums, like Wunschkind or Defekt. Was their better phase. And I don't think that I know the band Emery, sorry.

theacademy
Staff Reviewer
March 28th 2011


31367 Comments


I would address that if I were you; i will listen to Wunschkind or Defekt.

i one time reviewed a german album even though i only speak american

bloc
March 28th 2011


52995 Comments


Man I can't stand these guys

Digging: Sparks - No. 1 in Heaven

Hurricanslash
March 28th 2011


1830 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

What have you listened to by them? They are really not that bad. If you don't like their newer style listen to the old things by them.

bloc
March 28th 2011


52995 Comments


To be honest, this was the only thing I've heard from them. I doubt I'd enjoy anything else they've put out though.

Hurricanslash
March 28th 2011


1830 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Oh, don't judge too early. Their older stuff is really completely different than this. Give it at least a chance. Try the albums i recommended to theacademy. I'll doubt you will hate it.

Meatplow
March 28th 2011


5524 Comments


fuck I hate everything about this band based off just this one release

but I sort of, sort of like this, too. OOMPH!

Tom93M
March 28th 2011


1106 Comments


Rammstein are one of favourite bands, but i'm not sure about these guys...

As for review crit; it wasn't too bad but perhaps a little short.

Ovrot
March 28th 2011


13302 Comments


Their early albums ruled

BAAASSSTTTTTAAARRRRDDDD!!!
BAAASSSTTTTTAAARRRRDDDD!!!

Hurricanslash
March 29th 2011


1830 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

@Meatplow: Just listen to some more of them.



@Tom93M: Thanks. I noticed that I can't write medium or long reviews, so I decided to go with short reviews.



@Ovrot: Yes, definitely. Unrein, Wunschkind and Defekt are still in my favourite albums of all time list.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy