As Blood Runs Black
Instinct


3.5
great

Review

by TechieCore USER (13 Reviews)
March 25th, 2011 | 101 replies


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: As Blood Runs Black take a formula they know very well, and make the best album they probably could have with their new members.

As Blood Runs Black is one of the many "love-hate" bands. Some people find them to be quite catchy, with solid (albeit boring) breakdowns and riffs, while others just find them at the top of the generic totem pole. It has been 5 years since the release of the acclaimed Allegiance album, which was held to a fairly high standard. After such a long absence, Instinct has finally debuted (after a couple years of delays). Now the real question is "Is it worth the wait"".

In a sense to everyone love or hate, the answer is yes. While some might still find them generic and boring, their musicianship and song writing have improved vastly. Fresh new guitar leads are to be found all over this album, and many will leave you unknowingly bobbing your head and having a slight grin on your face. A prime example of this is Echoes of An Era, the tenth track on the album. The bass on Instinct is a bit more audible this time around, and Nick does a great job of holding his own with the guitarists. The drums are about the same production quality, but everyone knows Lech is a phenomenal drummer.

One thing I have to note about this album, is there are many different influences throughout. Some songs have a very Black Dahlia Murder feel (Angel City Gamble), while others have an All Shall Perish style to them (Tribulations, Reborn). That's not to say it's a bad thing, they take these influences and execute them in a coherent manner. Throughout the album you can see the different styles they have expanded to since Allegiance.

Instinct clocks in at around 33 minutes, which is a bit shorter than their previous release. However if you are a fan of ABRB, all 33 minutes will be joy to your ears to hear a band so far gone make such a comeback. For those of you who aren't that impressed by them, Instinct will surely change that opinion for some of you.

Recommended Tracks:

Echoes of an Era
Instinct
Divided



Recent reviews by this author
Outrun The Sunlight The Return of InertiaElitist Earth
Betraying the Martyrs Breathe In LifeJody Breeze Welcome To The Futute: Part 2
Volumes ViaAttila Outlawed
user ratings (341)
Chart.
2.6
average
other reviews of this album
jdsanca (2)
Once again nothing special...

related reviews

Allegiance

Ground Zero

Comments:Add a Comment 
TechieCore
March 25th 2011


662 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

First review ever, please be easy. I welcome criticism.

loveisamixtape
March 25th 2011


7743 Comments


very good for a first.

this album is getting so much unneeded hate. it's not that bad, really.

Scrambled
March 25th 2011


394 Comments


I dug allegiance years ago, so will pick this up just for shits, but from what I've heard it sounds almost exactly the same, which is annoying (especially after 5 years)

anyways, good review for your first, and im happy that someone reviewed this. some constructive criticism:

"while others just find them at the top of the generic totem pole"
get rid of "just" and switch it to bottom from top of the pole (you are talking about people who don't like them right? prob at the bottom then of the totem pole, not the top hah)

in the third paragraph, move "feel" from after the paranthesis to before it

in the second paragraph, you say that their musicianship has improved, esp on the 10th track. great, you gave us an example, but elaborate a bit with how you think their musicianship has improved.

have a pos tho

Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
March 25th 2011


9387 Comments


Don't like the band, however this review is pos worthy. Especially for a first keep writing.

balcaen
March 25th 2011


3183 Comments


not too shabby for a first review, and i'm no expert either but you'd probably be better off describing the music rather than only referencing comparable works and talking about improvements.

won't be getting this though. whatever gets a ton of hate here tends to get it tenfold from me.

loveisamixtape
March 25th 2011


7743 Comments


Erm, I believe that's a pretty reasonable thing to talk about in a review. Especially when bands like abrb gains new members and people interested want to know about whether it's any thing like their past works.

iFghtffyrdmns
March 25th 2011


7045 Comments


Nice review Taylor. I thought Allegiance was okay, not really intriguing enough for me to wanna check this though.

Their original drummer was crazyyyyy good, too bad they kicked him out.

Hawks
March 25th 2011


69289 Comments


Like everyone else has said, nice review for a first. Definitely not gonna listen to this though.

Digging: Hecate Enthroned - Embrace Of The Godless Aeon

ButcheredChildren
March 25th 2011


5590 Comments


I was hoping for another song like In Dying Days but no
wasn't impressed by this, no stand-out tracks although the musicianship is good

Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
March 25th 2011


9387 Comments


yep just doesn't grab your attention.



One thing I have to note about this album, is there are many different influences throughout.



is 'that' there are many

sorry just nit picking.

IAMERROR
March 25th 2011


328 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

I agree with Scrambled. I loved the shit out of Allegiance years ago, but I'm afraid my taste in Deathcore has changed since then, and I find this "sound" stagnant and uninteresting.

IAmKickass
March 25th 2011


840 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

Been trying so hard to get through the entire length of this album, still can't succeed.

MalleusMaleficarum
March 25th 2011


16373 Comments


andcas we agree on something !

srsly tho whats with the art lol

PinkBlackberry
March 25th 2011


2346 Comments


The CDs horribleness pales only in comparison to the album art.

Scoot
March 25th 2011


19228 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

fucking gross album + art

witchxrapist
March 26th 2011


11117 Comments


as blold runs black

InFiction
March 26th 2011


3883 Comments


Pretty good first review.
I've always thought of these guys as the poor man's Black Dahlia Murder. Mind you I've only heard Allegiance, but I thought it was a bit average sandwich.

Scoot
March 26th 2011


19228 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

i hate this band name

Scrambled
March 26th 2011


394 Comments


as diarrhea runs yellow

crowing51
March 26th 2011


3505 Comments


Wow this album finally came out, to think the 5 year wait would mean it would be a great album.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy