When Bitter Spring Sleeps
When Bitter Spring Sleeps


1.5
very poor

Review

by wyankeif1337 USER (56 Reviews)
January 5th, 2011 | 20 replies


Release Date: 2008 | Tracklist

Review Summary: ...because one can only take so much nature in their black metal.

Apparently, Iowa-based ambient black metal act When Bitter Spring Sleeps like mother nature. In fact, they are so in love with the great outdoors that they choose to record all their music outside, always making sure to keep the background noise prominent in their music. You know the whole typical Cascadian black metal, WITTR-style outdoor shtick? Living on a self-sustaining farm, isolated form civilization? Well, those guys are pussies. Only WBSS love nature enough to more or less make it become the focal point of their music. On paper, this idea just might work: there are plenty of cabin-dwelling black metal bands that have successfully incorporated songbirds and flowing streams into their music.

However, unfortunately for this act, that is just on paper: whether they can make it work is another question entirely. Each of this EP's three songs begins with a nature-y sound (1: rain, 2: nighttime noise, 3: nighttime noise [with a river, joy for variation]) that continues throughout the entire duration of the track. On both of the EP's latter tracks this ambient noise lasts for over three minutes before anything remotely musical kicks in. But, of course, it continues into the music. Once again, a more capable band just might be able to pull this off to the point of it being listenable, but not When Bitter Spring Sleeps. They overuse it to the point of all the nature becoming a mere gimmick, and then they go leaps and bounds ahead of that point-of-no-return.

The music itself is, to put it quite frankly, generally atrocious. In second track Tears For the Sounds of Darkness, after that aforementioned overlong period of crickets and various other nocturnal insects and amphibians, the band breaks into some of the most poorly produced black metal ever to violate your eardrums. Having raw, unpolished black metal production is one thing; having a bassless, tinny, abrasive crapfest of a track is another. Of course, being an ambient black metal band WBSS breaks into about two minutes of clean guitar lines before plunging into another four painful minutes of noise, after which we are subjected to (you guessed it!) more nature sounds and tinny clean guitar. Beneath Mother Moon is similar in its remarkable attraction to atrociously produced bullshit, but is mercifully shorter (7.5 minutes) than the behemoth shit before it (14.5 minutes).

What the Rain Knows is a track that shows these guys aren't completely hopeless. It uses the nature theme, but it doesn't overpower the music. Also, the guitars are actually discernible on this one, and one can pick out hints of a bass here and there (strangely, there are few to no drums at all here, but it's still the album's best by far). The vocals, instead of the typically abrasive black metal shriek shown on the other two tracks (which might actually be good is the rest if the music wasn't so bad), are a strange, wail-y sounding singing. It's not an exemplary track by any means, but it's infinitely better than either before it. Maybe, buried deep inside the pointless nature worship, there is a band here that has the capability to make decent black metal. But the problem is that this band is buried really freaking deep beneath mounds of atrociously produced crap and an abuse of ambient forest noises. Better luck next time.



Recent reviews by this author
Isis The Red SeaZodiak Sermons
Alda TahomaVESSL Goddess
Hungry For Hands I Was Hungry For HandsJob for a Cowboy Gloom
user ratings (9)
1.6
very poor

Comments:Add a Comment 
wyankeif1337
January 5th 2011


6739 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

their work on the panopticon split is way better: it's still pretty average bm, but it's better than this.

liledman
January 5th 2011


3828 Comments


mmm their material on that split didnt do much for me at all, but good on them for being bm hippies and all that.

Hawks
January 5th 2011


73729 Comments


Wow this must be pretty damn bad. They sound pretty similar to Skagos, which isn't a good thing. I'll stay away from this.

wyankeif1337
January 5th 2011


6739 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

it goes like this:



crickets and frogs

stream

moar crickets

fuzzzzzzzzzzz rah rah fuzzzzzzz crash crash crash fuuuzzzzz

twang twang

crickets

cvlts
January 5th 2011


9657 Comments


most bm deserves 1.5s anyways.

wyankeif1337
January 5th 2011


6739 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

u mean liek Modern Life Is War?



worst band ever

cvlts
January 5th 2011


9657 Comments


watch your tone. i will end you.

Observer
Staff Reviewer
January 5th 2011


7475 Comments


great negative review man :D pos

Digging: Joris Voorn - Balance 014

omnipanzer
January 5th 2011


21825 Comments


Enjoyed entire review.

wyankeif1337
January 5th 2011


6739 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

thanks for the feedback!

North0House
January 5th 2011


1764 Comments


Lol this thing sounds like a piece of crap.
Review made me laugh.

Crysis
Emeritus
January 5th 2011


17432 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I was wondering how this band was. I have their split with Panopticon downloaded but haven't listened to their side yet. Might not.

wyankeif1337
January 5th 2011


6739 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

give it a listen, it's not nearly as bad as this.

Crysis
Emeritus
January 6th 2011


17432 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Listened to a few tracks from this on youtube and thought they were pretty lackluster, but I don't know if I would put them at a 1.5. The production did suck but I wasn't really shocked or put off by it, more by the fact that the songs really went nowhere.

wyankeif1337
January 6th 2011


6739 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

that too.

DarkNoctus
March 9th 2011


10935 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

oh good lord this is awful



part of me liked the first track a bit but I'm near the end of the second and it's just ridiculously bad



the production is laughable, it's like someone already recorded it badly and then decided to record it again by playing it through an old cell phone speaker



would be a 1 but as I said, track 1 is alright

Transcend
August 25th 2011


361 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Lol, pretty bad album. Loved the review, bro. It made me chuckle a few times.

lordzaxxon
September 14th 2011


4 Comments


Well, I'm glad I don't care much for music reviewers, since I've enjoyed this album very much for quite some time.

Aren't music reviewers pointless now that we can all download all the music on our own now and make our own decisions whether we find something creative, inspiring, or even attrocious?

I guess the reviewers have more time to review than they do to create their our "amazing" music. It's easier anyway than putting your creativity and art on the line.

DarkNoctus
September 14th 2011


10935 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

that's always been the case so what you just said is rather redundant. :]

porcupinetheater
December 26th 2011


2703 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Good God, people need to stop using the argument that if somebody has to do what another person does to be able to judge it. If an architect builds a shitty, leaking house, I don't need to have constructed a series of well built, sound abodes to say this design sucks ass. (Although I do disagree with the review in this case, I do somewhat enjoy this release.) Still, it was very well written, in any respect.

Digging: Tropical Fuck Storm - A Laughing Death in Meatspace



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy