Hungry Ghosts
Alone, Alone


4.5
superb

Review

by North0House USER (11 Reviews)
October 24th, 2010 | 106 replies


Release Date: 2000 | Tracklist

Review Summary: This is completely minimalistic. This is completely brilliant.

I would venture to say that Hungry Ghosts may be the most under-appreciated minimalist masterminds of all time. Hardly anyone knew of them, hardly anyone knows of them. They released two albums, their self-titled album in 1997, and Alone, Alone in 1999. Then, they moved on.

If my mind, or anyone elses' for that matter, was organized, this is what thinking would sound like.
If the wind through the trees made musical notes, it would sound like this album.
If the feeling of sitting alone in the darkness produced music, it would sound like this.
If the sunrise sang, it'd sound like "Alone, Alone."
If the revolution of a country had a soundtrack, it would sound like this album.
If life itself could produce musical scores, it would produce that of Hungry Ghosts.

I know, it's impossible for an album to sound like that. But, this album does sound exactly like that. It's beautiful. At times, it emanates a feeling of overwhelming peace, at other moments, it's excruciatingly unnerving. Hungry Ghosts have done a phenomenal job at capturing every essence of life, and cramming it into a 15 track long acoustic album. Not one word is uttered on this album, not one keyboard or synthesizer is used, not a single one. This album is silence in the form of music. It's musical silence. Hungry Ghosts have managed to do something that almost every well-meaning musician has aspired to do, make an intensely emotional album. However, they have managed to pull this off without the use of any digital instruments, without the use of overpowering drums, without the use of a catchy bass line, they have done it with only the use of violins, guitars, accordians, and sparsely placed drums.

If you can find this album by these Australian musicians, pick it up without hesitation. It's absolutely breathtaking.

Highlights:
Every single song.

Best when:
Listened to while sitting outside in the mountains, staying up late at night, or during a thunderstorm.



Recent reviews by this author
Okkoto Childhood/BrotherhoodArroyo Individuum & Massen
Early Day Miners Placer FoundGray Ghost Deep In The Shallow End
Ten Kens Ten KensLoose Lips Sink Ships The Contemporary Issues of Celibacy
user ratings (115)
4.2
excellent
other reviews of this album
Timmah99 (5)
"Rock bottom" in all of its various forms compiled into a real emotionally challenging classic...


Comments:Add a Comment 
vanderb0b
October 25th 2010


3473 Comments


Cool, if unconventional, review; piqued my interest. I'll definitely check these guys out.

North0House
October 25th 2010


1764 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks.

Definitely check them out. The guys in the band deserve it, even if the band's not around anymore.

vanderb0b
October 25th 2010


3473 Comments


Listened to two or three songs, this is absolutely brilliant stuff.

North0House
October 25th 2010


1764 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Haha, I'm glad you like it. It's fantastic stuff huh?

alachlahol
October 25th 2010


7593 Comments


acoustic guitar, accordion, and violin? beam me up scotty you fuckin retard

North0House
October 25th 2010


1764 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Lol trust me, it's way cooler than you could imagine. There's not much use of accordian, but it comes in every now and then.

alachlahol
October 25th 2010


7593 Comments


no i meant all aboard

North0House
October 25th 2010


1764 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Ah okay, I gotcha.

Irving
Staff Reviewer
October 25th 2010


7502 Comments


Agree with Vanderb0b. Review is unconventional lol.

Not sure if that's good or bad. Oh what the hell. Pos =)

North0House
October 25th 2010


1764 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Lol, thanks, I'll take that as a compliment.

Ah, it's my 3rd review, so I'm still getting in the mode of things, review-wise. I'm just trying out new ways to review an album. lol. This one was hard to review anyways, because it's so quiet and simple. I couldn't write a long, in-depth, review on it... So, I had to think up something else.

alachlahol
October 25th 2010


7593 Comments


have you ever heard of Dirty Three? australian post-rock band with a guitarist, violinist, and a drummer. similar to this with less of a focus on minimalism. listen to their album Ocean Songs you may like it

heyadam
October 25th 2010


3112 Comments


I kinda wanna check this out, would you be able to download it anywhere ya think?

Schizophrenik
October 25th 2010


848 Comments


sounds cool, ill check this out. review is ok, i won't pos or neg

this is just a small error but it should be fixed:

They released two albums

North0House
October 25th 2010


1764 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

@ Heyadam. I dunno. If you dug around enough, you probably could find a place to download it from.



@Schizophrenik. Oh yeah, I missed that. I'll fix it. Definitely check it out too, it's good stuff.

demigod!
May 11th 2011


49300 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i wanna hear this

SowerKraut
June 16th 2011


236 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

It's 1:30 A.M, and I just got done listening to this all the way through. So amazing.

North0House2
June 16th 2011


6059 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Hey, people are still listening to this, awesome.



It is truly amazing, certainly one of my favorite post-rock/minimalistic albums of all time.

SowerKraut
June 17th 2011


236 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Blackout has got to be one of the album closers ever.

balcaen
June 17th 2011


3183 Comments


yeah man. 9 ratings? this is bullshit
bump

evilford
June 15th 2012


43294 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

is this cool?

Digging: Mortiferum - Disgorged From Psychotic Depths



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy