Deftones
(Like) Linus


2.5
average

Review

by Apollo USER (25 Reviews)
September 13th, 2010 | 43 replies


Release Date: 1993 | Tracklist

Review Summary: If you are not a Deftones fan, do not start here. But for longtime fans such as myself, for nostalgia's sake and just to rock the fuck out to one of the greatest bands of our era, this is pretty much worth checking out

Most Deftones fans are familiar with the bands demo tape (Like) Linus and yet it is rarely discussed on this site. The reason for that, is that it is so raw, under-produced and eclectic that I even found myself skipping most tracks on the EP when they came up on shuffle. The Deftones that we have come to love in 2000's White Pony to 2010-era Diamond Eyes is most certainly not the band that began in 1988 in Stephen Carpenter's garage in Northern California. This is the reason why most of us fans love the Tones. They have constantly evolved, maturing and invoking new elements into thier music. They took a new sound that they helped to create and warped it into something that is beautiful and revered by many fans and critics alike.

Back in 1992 however when the Tones recorded the extremely amateur demo tape (Like) Linus, we hear a record that for the most part resembles what 1995's Adrenaline would become. The difference between the demo and the debut album are enough to warrant a listen, even if simply to see the evolution of this band. That's the key here: it's ***ing incredible how far they have come. The songs on this demo sound like a mix of early Incubus, Korn, Pantera and the Melvins. The screaming is few and far between. Chino doesn't quite sound as pissed as he does on Adrenaline. Don't misunderstand me, this is still an aggressive album. The buzzsaw distortion that Stef is so famous for on Adrenaline is still there, but experimental basslines, reggae and hip-hop influenced lyrical passages, simple riffs and incredible drumming make this a decent ride. Chino is found singing predominately and you can clearly hear the youth in his voice. It is somewhat refreshing to hear what he was capable of 19 years ago and very interesting to hear the comparison from his vocal style then and now.

Make no mistake, the sound quality is horrible, the production weak and the song writing slightly above average. Some tracks would go on to make the cut for Adrenaline such as Engine No 9, 7 Words and Root, however the majority of these tracks would almost never be included in the Tones setlists as they toured the world.

If you are not a Deftones fan, do not start here. But for longtime fans such as myself, for nostalgia's sake and just to rock the *** out to one of the greatest bands of our era, this is worth checking out.



Recent reviews by this author
Dropped Flyer LowlifeO'Brother Garden Window
Disfear Misanthropic GenerationBleeding Through The Great Fire
Mar De Grises Streams InwardsRosetta A Determinism of Morality
user ratings (129)
Chart.
3.3
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Apollo
September 13th 2010


10674 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

wrote this slightly drunk and in a very short period of time....didn't have a review so I said what the fuck



please point out any spelling mistakes and I will fix when sober

East Hastings
September 13th 2010


4402 Comments


Nevermind.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
September 13th 2010


32190 Comments


so famous for on [/]Adrenaline[/i] is still there,


Apollo
September 13th 2010


10674 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

thanks Dev, I'll fix that now

AnotherBrick
September 13th 2010


9782 Comments


wait...this isn't diamond eyes

Apollo
September 13th 2010


10674 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

nope

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
September 13th 2010


23804 Comments


Great review dude. Not a huge Deftones fan aside from Diamond Eyes really so probably won't check this out.

Digging: Burial Invocation - Abiogenesis

Apollo
September 13th 2010


10674 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

thanks spirit

SowingSeason
Moderator
September 13th 2010


27012 Comments


going for brevity in your reviewing technique is commendable, i have been doing it myself for the past 2 reviews...too many reviews these days are long and wordy and say nothing.

anyway, with that said, this is a good review. you talk about the music with a great deal of knowledge, everything is conveyed clearly...i also like how you incorporated a lot of personal opinions about the album; i know first person language is frowned upon when writing objectove reviews, but i like it when it is done right, and well...here it is done right. have a pos.

i would comb through your review for grammar i saw a few minor things as i read through it. also, wtf i haven't heard this album yet!?!? and im a huge 'tones fan...

Digging: Wild Pink - Yolk in the Fur

Apollo
September 13th 2010


10674 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Thank you my friend, as usual you're criticism is helping me become better at reviewing. I am slowly going through and fixing the mistakes I find.



This is worth hearing simply for the curiosity aspect of being a Deftones fan. Check it out!

SowingSeason
Moderator
September 13th 2010


27012 Comments


no problem, will check this out

ThePalestMexican
September 14th 2010


2816 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Worst Deftones release = DAMNED NEAR AMAZING for a local band

Maniac!
September 14th 2010


28046 Comments


Review sucks ass, negnegnegnegneg

LukeB84
September 14th 2010


151 Comments


1993? wow i woulda been 9 when this came out. Still gonna check this album out since Adrenaline was the one that got me into this band.

RippingCorpse
September 14th 2010


1087 Comments


woah the production sucks i am very suprised

Inveigh
September 14th 2010


26468 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

sweet review man, glad this album's got one now. there are a few songs on here that are fantastic, but the majority of it is pretty bad

Apollo
September 14th 2010


10674 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

thanks dude, yeah it's definately average at best haha

Maniac!
September 14th 2010


28046 Comments


I SAID



REVIEW SUCKS ASS, NEGNEGNEGNEGNEG

Maniac!
September 14th 2010


28046 Comments


I gave up on trying to be nice. I'm nice all day when I'm not on sputnik, I get bored of it more than being an asshole around here.

Apollo
September 14th 2010


10674 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

it's definately not my best



nothing wrong with being an asshole Brandon



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy