Sara Bareilles
Kaleidoscope Heart


4.5
superb

Review

by Caged USER (8 Reviews)
September 9th, 2010 | 25 replies


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Sara proves some female vocalists are worth their salt.

Just when I think 2010 can't get any better, Sara Bareilles releases an album that has climbed so far up my favorite albums of the year chart that I can't believe it hasn't received any attention at all yet. Granted, it's only been out for a couple of days, but there were only a few ratings for this record at the time I began to write this review.

Let me point out that I'm way out of my element writing a review for a pop record, much less even thoroughly enjoying a pop record to the extent that I do with this. It's absolutely infectious from beginning to end, I just can't stop listening to it.

The album starts with a mellow intro with the title track, where Sara really shows off her vocal abilities in a form that is so pure and raw it literally gave me chills the first time I listened to it. The pace changes immediately with "Uncharted" which is a pure piano-driven pop song that at this point is one of the top 3 tracks on the record for me. Sara changes gears once we get to "Hold My Heart" which is the album's first full-on ballad, reminiscent of some of Sarah McLachan's best work. "King of Anything" follows, and is the track I consider to be the best overall on the album, being one of the more up-beat numbers, it is definitely my favorite pop song of the year so far.

The album is so full of variety, something that I find very refreshing with ANY music these days. Sara doesn't adhere to one single formula through the entire 50 minutes. Each song has its own distinct feel to it, and all the songs are truly memorable. If you let this one slip by you'll be missing out on not only the best pop album of the year, but one of the best albums of 2010 in general.

I think the most impressive thing is Sara manages to be poppy and relevant without coming off as pretentious and only seeking radio play. This is an artist who clearly does this for the music, as it shows in the way she writes, plays and performs throughout this album. Sara proves some female vocalists are worth their salt, and you definitely should get your hands on this.



Recent reviews by this author
Rufio Anybody Out ThereA Hope For Home Realis
Balance and Composure/Tigers Jaw SplitFarewell to Freeway Only Time Will Tell
I Am Abomination To Our ForefathersCounterparts Prophets
user ratings (100)
Chart.
4.1
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
theacademy
Staff Reviewer
September 9th 2010


31357 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

ive been looking forward to this



will default a 5, as per usual.

Caged
September 9th 2010


42 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

^^ I didn't even know she had a new album coming out, randomly came across this, and it's getting better every listen.

DiceMan
September 9th 2010


7067 Comments


Members Also Liked section is kind of a boner-killer.

theacademy
Staff Reviewer
September 9th 2010


31357 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

members also liked

Soundgarden Superunknown

Porcupine Tree In Absentia

Breaking Benjamin We Are Not Alone

The Beatles The Beatles

Lady Gaga The Fame Monster

Kings of Leon Only By The Night

Seether Disclaimer II

The Sounds Dying to say this to You






i dont have any of these rated but Dying to Say This to You is a 5.

Caged
September 9th 2010


42 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah I'm not sure what's up with members also liked section lol...absolutely nothing there remotely close to this, or even remotely as good.

Jom
Staff Reviewer
September 9th 2010


3105 Comments


"King of Anything" is really, really good. Haven't heard too much else yet, but I'll go it eventually.

ninjuice
September 9th 2010


6760 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I didn't realize this was out yet. I love King of Anything, and her previous albums basically started my love for female singer-songwriters.

radianteclipse
September 10th 2010


398 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This album is so good. She's the cream of the crop when it comes to mainstream female pop -influenced singer/songwriters.



I love "Basket Case" and "Breathe Again" the most, but the whole album is solid.

meliffy18
September 14th 2010


50 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Album is great, even though it is a lot slower than I had expected but her talent really shines through. Excellent songwriting and the piano has more of an influence on this record. "Breathe Again" and "Uncharted" are standouts for me, and of course "King of Anything."

theacademy
Staff Reviewer
September 17th 2010


31357 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0



basically.

theacademy
Staff Reviewer
September 18th 2010


31357 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

opening track kinda sounds like imogen heap.

Desolator
September 19th 2010


191 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Loving this, but it's one of those guilty things, because the only song other people know is the love song one :

theacademy
Staff Reviewer
September 19th 2010


31357 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

members also liked

Coheed and Cambria From Fear Through the Eyes of Madness

Coheed and Cambria In Keeping Secrets of Silent Earth: 3

Coheed and Cambria No World for Tomorrow

Coheed and Cambria Year of the Black Rainbow

The Sounds Dying to say this to You

Chevelle This Type of Thinking (Could Do Us In)

The Beatles The Beatles

Coheed and Cambria The Second Stage Turbine Blade


CushMG15
September 22nd 2010


1810 Comments


Checked this out today and it sounds pretty decent, but on first listen it doesn't really even come close to Little Voice. I think those songs were fleshed out with other instruments much better, as opposed to relying mostly on poppy, bouncy piano playing.

I'm sure this will grow on me, but right now I'm looking at a 3. Little Voice was a high 3/low 4.

Parallels
October 13th 2010


8858 Comments


this album is the shits

jrowa001
October 25th 2010


8752 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

great album. love her voice

realrock34
December 27th 2010


25 Comments


She has an excellent voice and really fun/catchy music. I only just heard of her a few minutes ago! Does she play any of the instruments herself?
I can't wait to hear the rest of this CD, and hopefully all her old ones.

theacademy
Staff Reviewer
October 16th 2011


31357 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

PURE

FUCKING

AMERICAN

METAL


GiantSpeck
October 30th 2011


294 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Fair: Kaleidoscope Heart, The Light, Breathe Again, Bluebird

Good: Gonna Get Over You, Basket Case, Not Alone

Great: Hold My Heart, Let The Rain, Machine Gun

Excellent: Uncharted, King of Anything, Say You're Sorry

FromDaHood
December 27th 2011


9107 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Been bumping this while playing SWTOR. It's a surprisingly good soundtrack.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy