Orbs
Asleep Next to Science


4.0
excellent

Review

by whywontyoudie USER (10 Reviews)
August 25th, 2010 | 94 replies


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The members of Orbs have crafted a progressive album that is sure to be one of the best releases of the year.

So, Asleep Next to Science has been leaked for over a year, diminishing the potential hype around the official release, but is this album honestly good enough to have any hype about it justified? The answer to this is a definite yes. Like almost anyone who knows about this band, I found out about Orbs through Between the Buried and Me, but was later pleased to find that Adam Fisher of Fear Before supplies the vocals for the band. So, what is the music like?

The only two possible ways I have to describe it are 1) imagine if Fear Before covered The Mars Volta or 2) what you felt like the follow up to The Always Open Mouth should have sounded like. One question that was on my mind before listening to the album in full was how would Adam Fisher do as a lead vocalist as opposed to back up with David Marion? Not surprisingly, he does a great job, mixing his typical singing styles with his admirable screaming ability, even throwing in a lower vocal style in the song "Lost At Sea." The lyrical content relates to the album title with lines such as "you can't fight biology" and "i bet this makes sense to the physicist, to me it's a whole lot of nonsense."

Instrumentally, it is very complementary of the vocal performance given by Fisher. Dan Briggs as a guitarist in a band instead of a bass player is a confusing idea, but he does a fine job of creating leads that illustrate an atmosphere that is both catchy and only adds to the ambiance created by keyboardist Ashley Ellyllon of Cradle of Filth and Abigail Williams. She changes between piano and synth patches that take the lead at times and become some of the most memorable parts of the album. The drums are in the same style as on Fear Before's self titled album. While not flashy or necessarily technical, they fit in with the music and don't create any awkward sections.

Overall, the album is a fun listen with the only obvious faults being that the longer songs might throw off those who are not fans of songs longer than 6 minutes. Definitely for fans of The Mars Volta and Fear Before.



Recent reviews by this author
Circle Takes the Square Rites of InitiationThe Blood Brothers Young Machetes
Castevet/Into It. Over It. Snack TownMy Heart To Joy Reasons to Be
The Number Twelve Looks Like You Here at the End of All ThingsNative We Delete; Erase
user ratings (326)
3.9
excellent
other reviews of this album
indigonowhere EMERITUS (5)
This is not a test. Repeat: this is not a test....

Tyler EMERITUS (4)
Shyamalan twist: Orbs wrote a fun progressive rock album!...

Waior (4)
The final frontier....


Comments:Add a Comment 
whywontyoudie
August 25th 2010


3067 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

please give constructive criticism. this is my first review people!

crazyblinddude
August 25th 2010


3390 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

You may want to expand more on your review. It's not bad, just could use a little more beefing up imo. Don't know why the mods deleted the original though.

accompliceofmydeath
August 25th 2010


4832 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I want my copy of this to come in the mail! Looks like it'll be sweet.

Digging: Day Of Suffering - The Eternal Jihad

Romulus
August 25th 2010


8535 Comments


for a first this is okay but make sure you fix stuff like this

should have (coding error doesn't show)


and this

4/4.


and everything crazyblinddude said

whywontyoudie
August 25th 2010


3067 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

thanks crazyblinddude. i know i need to expand on this, and when a better review gets written i'll probably take this down. and accomplice, you'll love it.

whywontyoudie
August 25th 2010


3067 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

yeah, i noticed the coding error. i'll probably get that fixed tonight.

whywontyoudie
August 25th 2010


3067 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

coding fixed, took out the 4/4.

greg84
Emeritus
August 25th 2010


7608 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

The review is passable, but i don't like this album at all. Many vocal melodies and some instrumetantion just annoy the hell out of me.

Digging: Hawk Eyes - Advice

crowing51
August 25th 2010


3505 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Really greg, I love this album. The vocals can get a little annoying but other than that this is an amazing album.

greg84
Emeritus
August 25th 2010


7608 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

I'm sorry but I just can't stand his voice. He sounds so whiny. And I forced myself to listen to this album twice.

crowing51
August 25th 2010


3505 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

lol yea i know some people who couldn't deal with his voice, it just kinda grew on me so it became allot more tolerable.

greg84
Emeritus
August 25th 2010


7608 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Nah. It leaked several months ago guys.

AggravatedYeti
August 25th 2010


7683 Comments


in before Bitchy.

KritikalMotion
August 25th 2010


2278 Comments


It leaked like last year. So is this finally out?

Digging: JPEGMAFIA - All My Heroes Are Cornballs

bloc
August 25th 2010


57535 Comments


Vocals are annoying

Digging: Orphaned Land - El Norra Alila

crowing51
August 25th 2010


3505 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yea its has been on sputnik without a review for the longest.

bloc
August 25th 2010


57535 Comments


That was because it hadn't been officially released yet.

TBliss
August 25th 2010


987 Comments


need to check this out, only found out about them yesterday tbh, read an interview on ultimate guitar.

Ire
August 25th 2010


41945 Comments



Vocals are annoying


... does that mean you like this album?

Motiv3
August 25th 2010


9023 Comments


Album rules so hard. Vocals are a grower for sure.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy