Madder Mortem
Where Dream And Day Collide


3.5
great

Review

by Voivod STAFF
August 22nd, 2010 | 8 replies


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The cherry on top of the cake.

EPs form an interesting, yet underrated music release format. They have come in handy in the past, both for bands and record companies. Bands use this format, to release material completely different with respect to their preceding (and/or following) "official" releases, expressing musical style transitions or temporary artistic endeavors.

On some occasions, however, EPs are issued by request of the record companies, so as to give further momentum to an artistically (and/or commercialy) successful record. The goal is two-fold. Reward the fans for their appreciation towards the band’s recent work and keep them in anticipation, while the band goes relatively "obscure", working for an upcoming release. The EP material is similar in form, while of moderately inferior quality (in most cases), with respect to the preceding "official" release.

When Dream and Day Collide EP files under the latter case. With Eight Ways, Madder Mortem were credited with considerable praise from both fans and the metal music press all around the globe. As a consequence, the band released an EP with previously unreleased material from the Eight Ways sessions, named after a track first issued in the aforementioned album, present here as well.

The EP starts and finishes respectively with the single edit and the original version of a fairly good Eight Ways song, the EP title track. However, the essence here revolves around the three new songs. Musically, there are no surprises, as the band successfully continues the songwriting ethics of Eight Ways, that is the blending of ultra-heavy plus joyful "rock ‘n roll" riffing with musical passages influenced from art rock, light 40’s jazz and the blues. On the other hand, repeated listens show that the new material is moderately good but of inferior quality, when compared to the songs from Eight Ways, making this EP a must-have only for the fans.

The band performance is tight as usual, as it can be witnessed even by the flawless sound production. The energetic instrument playing (bass, guitars, drums) gets the most out of the new material, while it favors repeated listens. A really appreciable attribute - reminded in this release once again - is that the band works for the songs, not the other way around. Agnete Kirkevaag’s voice, although it holds certain limitations, is highly emotive and soothing as usual. In so many words, the voice melodies are quite memorable, although not superb.

At the end of the day, this EP can be seen both as a companion to the Eight Ways album and as a small gift to the fans. Although it can't be considered as a solid musical proposal, it keeps the band at the surface long enough, until its next full effort.



Recent reviews by this author
Trial (SWE) MotherlessThe Sonic Dawn Into the Long Night
Sisyphean Illusions of EternityShrapnel (UK) Raised on Decay
Acrimonious Eleven DragonsBestial Invasion Trilogy: Prisoners of Miserable Hate
user ratings (7)
Chart.
3.5
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Voivod
Staff Reviewer
August 22nd 2010


7992 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Constructive criticism is most welcome.

Digging: Kevin Hufnagel - Messages To The Past

Shimbodono
August 22nd 2010


8 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Nice review. I agree wholeheartedly with what you wrote.

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
August 22nd 2010


7992 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

thank you for the pos.



Madder Mortem are so obscure here on Sputnik.

scissorlocked
August 22nd 2010


3528 Comments


Good job voivod,once again nice review!!

It would be good to review their latest album,which happens to be really enjoying

keep it up bro!!!

this deserves more attention

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
August 23rd 2010


7992 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Their latest album has already been reviewed here more than adequately, as far as i can remember.



But if i have time, i will review that from scratch.











Too bad i couldn't find youtube links for the new songs.



Perhaps they will show later. I will post them then.

Willie
Moderator
August 23rd 2010


17609 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I've only read one other review for this EP, and the other guy hated it. This band is an aquired taste due to the vocals.

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
August 23rd 2010


7992 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Apparently that other guy saw the glass half-empty. I saw it half-full.



It happens.



Indeed, the new songs aren't superb or highly memorable. Otherwise they would end up in Eight Ways. But they are enjoyable.



i was between a 3.0 and a 3.5 and i chose the latter rating, because i enjoyed this repeatedly.





As for Agnete, she has to work more on her vibratto and her high pitch vocal performance, that's for certain. But her vocals are good overall.



She did an amazing job with the vocal armonies in Deadlands and Eight Ways.

Shimbodono
August 23rd 2010


8 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I love Agnete though. I think she does a wonderful job of driving the music forward. I feel the way she sings is contingent upon the song itself. If it's a heavier song, Agnete will use her shrieks and add that extra element of insanity that I feel permeates throughout every album Madder Mortem have put out. On their proggier songs, Agnete keeps the music grounded and prevents the band from going off into technical dalliance. But best of all, her emotive and passionate, yet always somewhat restrained, brooding, and introspective, singing on the slower, doomier songs has to be the best contribution she could make to this band's sound.



I'm sorry for babbling so much, but I just wanted to express how integral Agenete's vocals are, and despite knowing that they are somewhat of an acquired taste, she is an amazing singer and everything she does has a purpose in the grander scheme of the song. ;)



And I agree that Madder Mortem aren't recognized well on sputnik, or by the larger metal scene as a whole. Because of their awkward and unique sound, I realize that they will always be a niche sort of band. But to deny or look over their talent and penchant for song-writing, to me, is a crime while others continue to laud generic music that has already been written and played time and time again by better bands. But I guess that just makes me appreciate them and love their music more.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy