Machine Head
The Burning Red


3.5
great

Review

by Nytro USER (3 Reviews)
August 16th, 2010 | 19 replies


Release Date: 1999 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Sell out failure or commercial genius, it's still rock solid Machine Head.

In Machine Head's collection, there is one album in particular that tears fans 50/50. It is The Burning Red. Some call it a masterpiece, some call it a total sell out failure. Me" I am caught in the middle. I first found Machine Head when I was looking in my older brothers tape collection and found Burn My Eyes. I was hooked. Then I head The More Things Changed and thought, "man, they really played the Pantera card out", so when I heard The Burning Red would be more experimental, I got excited. I wasn't necessarily disappointed, but I wasn't blown away ether. Machine Head NEEDED to make this album. They were burned out on the groove oriented stuff. Logan Mader quit, Roadrunner was trying to get them to go more mainstream, and Robb wanted to rap. They picked Ross Robinson to produce it, (Korn, Limp Bizkit, Slipknot) and went to a more "radio-friendly" sound. Doesn't make it bad, but is a bad sign. Also what people don't realize is that this is a concept album. About a person being born in "Desire to Fire" and committing suicide Trent Reznor style in "The Burning Red" Here is my track by track breakdown....

1. Enter the Phoenix - Intro...skip

2. Desire to Fire - Nice opening riff. They use to play it when they opened their shows with Davadian. The verses feature a Biohazard-type rapping. Not Fed Durst or Eminem, but the influences are there. Drags a little in the middle. (3/5)

3. Nothing Left - This song has a little slower start but still packs a nice punch. Again this song drags a little in the middle. (3/5)

4. The Blood, The Sweat, The Tears - This song has a trash style drum opening and is a faster tempo then the other two opening songs. It features a small solo and is overall one of the best on the CD. (4/5)

5. Silver - The first single. Starts slow but don't be fooled. The Chorus speeds things up a little, but nonetheless is one of the softest on the CD. (3/5)

6. From This Day - Second single from the CD. Great opening riff. Robb again does a little rapping style during the verses but this song has a really nice breakdown in the middle. (4/5)

7. Exhale the Vile - One of Machine Head's most underrated songs. Great lyrics, great riff, and great chorus. Although the drumming in the chorus is awfully close to Pantera's "Becoming." (4/5)

8. Message in A Bottle - Machine Head jumped on the "Get rich quick" scheme of the 90s by doing a popular 80s cover. Not bad, but it really doesn't belong on the CD because it didn't make then any more famous. It worked for Limp Bizkit and Coal Chamber, but not Machine Head. (1/5)

9. Devil With A King's Card - The heaviest and angriest track on the CD. It is actually about Logan Mader leaving the band. Has a nice little melodic part in the middle. But it gets pretty repetitive. (3/5)

10. I Defy - This has a punk-meets-metal type feel to it. Has another nice breakdown in the middle, but is still one of the weakest tracks. (2/5)

11. Five - This is one of Robb Flynn's deepest songs. It is about a five year old getting molested and about how it ruined his life. It is a pretty strong track. (4/5)

12. Burning Red - This is about a person killing himself. Has a very "Hurt" atmosphere but is still one of Machine Head's strongest tracks ever. It is easily the strongest track on the CD and is a fantastic way to end it. (5/5)

So all in all, not as bad as people make it out to be, but not groundbreaking or influential. The lyrics are personal and well written, the musicianship isn't as technical as I hoped but is still above average, and the drumming is great as usual.

Stand out tracks:

The Blood, The Sweat, The Tears
Exhale the Vile
Burning Red

Bad tracks:

Message In A Bottle
I Defy


user ratings (670)
Chart.
2.8
good
other reviews of this album
bicepman4000 (3.5)
Some good riffs and vocals make this a very listenable album if you are prepared to ignore their dab...

wikuk (3.5)
...



Comments:Add a Comment 
Terrifyer
August 16th 2010


3403 Comments


album is really bad but its Machine Head so thats pretty obvious

Emim
August 16th 2010


27554 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

[img]http://www.musicianforums.com/forums/image.php?u=443796&dateline=1281976770[/img]

AnvilJ
August 16th 2010


124 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I don't know anyone who calls this a masterpiece.

Nytro
August 16th 2010


91 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

LOL. A lot of my friends who were Korn and Limp Bizkit fans called this album the bible.

Nytro
August 16th 2010


91 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

What did you guys think of my first review? I tried being unbiased because I wanted to go at it from a new fan's perspective but also from a "Burn My Eyes" era fan's perspective as well.

AnvilJ
August 16th 2010


124 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I personally don't like to see track by track reviews, although to some degree it could be warranted here.



I liked your observation that this teared fans apart. Nice piece of context. I would not necessarily agree with you, but I appreciate your thoughts. There is no right answer.



Your comment that they needed to make this album is perhaps something I would disagree with.



But good job on writing a review. This one needed a review as I would recommend people genuinely avoid it

Nytro
August 16th 2010


91 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Well they needed to do this album because, like I stated, their groove sound was getting a little stale. You could ask yourself "Was The More Things Change enjoyable?" Yea, to some extent, but the whole Pantera-groove style was coming to an end. Also with Logan leaving it was the perfect time to freshen up their sound. And with pressure from Roadrunner they kind of had to. But again these are all my opinions. Thanks for the nice comment though, means a lot.



I'll probably be doing Supercharger (ew) next.

AnvilJ
August 17th 2010


124 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I still enjoy The More Things Change. Consistent hardcore delivery. In fact in terms of enjoyment, I enjoy that the most.



Things must evolve. The band has always tried. The amazing thing is how they bounced back. That was just incredible. In all seriousness. The Blackening and Through the Ashes after this and Supercharger? That's just plain unheard of.

Nytro
August 19th 2010


91 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

You enjoy The More Things Change the most? That's weird. For me it's Ashes. The Blackening is good, but it almost has that too good feel to it. But Ashes has a very raw and motivated feeling to it.

AnvilJ
August 20th 2010


124 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Yes I do. I'm sure my unpartial Uncle Nostlagia helps.



I do like Ashes, although I do cringe modestly through some of the melodic tempo changes. I do like The Blackening better than Ashes. Not something I have a strong opinion about, nor something I have though of before.



I would rate MH on a cheese scale. The Burning Red is Kraft Singles, whilst The Blackening is a Port Silton served on a blackened Mackerel cracker. And you know, not everyone likes cheese the same.

Nytro
August 21st 2010


91 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The album I really dislike from their catalog is Supercharger. I'm sorry but that doesn't even sound like metal.

TrephineArtist
April 1st 2012


243 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Fantastic album. People need to get over the whole metal warrior posturing and listen to this album for what it is- a from the heart collection of songs, not really so radio friendly either & definitely not like Limp Bizkit, there's maybe 2mins (max) of rap/hardcore style vocals thats it. Unto the locust doesn't even come close to this great album.



@Nytro - you're saying songs like Bulldozer & Trephination are not like metal? Also SC has 'Only the names' an unsung classic.

pacedown
May 9th 2012


185 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

track by track reviews are little bit controversial, for 'message in a bottle' is a decent cover however if it was released on an EP or as a bonus track on this record, it would fit better.



Silver ain't a cheesy song and I Defy is my personal favourite.



Sciroccu
May 9th 2012


883 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

one of their best

Sciroccu
May 9th 2012


883 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

message in a bottke is 4/5

macman76
Staff Reviewer
May 9th 2012


1930 Comments


@sciroccu Better than which albums exactly?

Sciroccu
May 9th 2012


883 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

lol, those u like I think

macman76
Staff Reviewer
May 9th 2012


1930 Comments


You're entitled to like it better than the blackening or unto the locust, but this is not allowed to be better than burn my eyes, BME is m/

Sciroccu
May 9th 2012


883 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

lol, true for the true fans



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy