Addison
Closer To Home


3.0
good

Review

by ANewTypeOfPunk USER (11 Reviews)
July 28th, 2010 | 13 replies


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Using fluent and intelligent lyrics, with underlying meanings, and a heavy hitting sound mixed with reoccurring jazzy breaks, Addison (with their recent breakup) enter in a respectable album into the cluttered library that is the metalcore genre.

Have you heard of Underoath? Probably. Perhaps Inhale Exhale? Most likely. Now image if those bands, and Addison's fellow Aussie band; Dream On, Dreamer (check em too!) were thrown into the blender. Addison would be the concoction.

It's funny how yet again, if you haven't already guessed it, that Addison is a Christian-Influenced metalcore band, with a few ambient moments and jazz interludes. Thus it's almost evident as to where their influences lie, but nonetheless deserved to be mentioned along with them (The bands I listed above). Addison have an excellent harsh vocalist, and a reliable and solid (if not rarely but noticeably a little wavery on some chords on occasion, but that provides a measure of reality in my opinion) clean vocalist. Backed up with a good guitarist and a (surprise!) noticeable bassist, the band's last and final release Closer To Home, is a pretty good album.

It wasn't put through the Sturgis Factory when it came for production time, more or less it was put through the "Aussie Factory" as I like to call it, probably somewhat generic over there, and new and fresh over here. Perhaps new and fresh is a bit of an exaggeration but you get my point.

the breakdowns, while appearing a bit too often to be respected by some, they are pretty good, almost always sending a chill down your spine, because isn't that what they were meant to do? To cause a mix of excitement and satisfaction when listening to them? Aussies seem to have learnt to actually pay attention in the class of producing decent music, (heard of We Are The Emergency? Check it!). But make no mistake I'm only mentioning breakdowns because I think a lot of people judge bands because of their breakdowns, so make sure to give this band the respect they deserve before rating them, please finish the album.

The interludes are a more utilized tool, and they do it well. Great soaring guitar work during them, and the clean parts of the songs of course. In my opinion the guitar and the vocals are the highlights of the album.

For you drummer fans out there, myself included, the drums are just there, they're not progressive or anything impressive, but they are satisfactory. Providing the song structure easily and well, you can't hate them, only give a "meh".

For those of you waiting for the new underoath record, this wont be anything as good, but it's still good, therefor check it out while you're staring frustratingly at the updates, waiting to actually hear something that isn't a shi**y cam from a concert.

Anyways Closer To Home warrants a deserved 3/5

Standout tracks: This Hole In the Floor Looks Like Us, Oh Lethargy, Why Do You Covert Me?, Ocean's, and The Long Walk Home

-ANewTypeOfPunk




Recent reviews by this author
My Ticket Home The Opportunity To BeTom Caruana Enter the Magical Mystery Chambers
Bring Me the Horizon There Is a Hell, Believe Me I've Seen It...Scarlett O'Hara Lost In Existence
The Word Alive EmpireAttack Attack! (US) Attack Attack!
user ratings (7)
3.4
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
ANewTypeOfPunk
July 29th 2010


736 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I know a few of my reviews have really shi* the bed in the past, but I think since I'm pretty stoned and listening to the album while I write it, it'll be better? I just wanted to get some people to notice this awesome band, seeing as they weren't even in the database.



Anyways feedback is welcome just don't be a douche!

East Hastings
July 29th 2010


4409 Comments


i had this band's first EP, and it sucked. the only thing i remember was that the vocalist screamed "THIS ONES FOR JESUS" and then they played a breakdown. not for me.

and a reliable and solid (if not rarely but noticeably a little wavery on some chords on occasion, but that provides a measure of reality in my opinion)
a reliable and solid what? you never finished that sentence.
It wasn't put through the Sturgis Factory when it came for production time
while this is humorous, not everyone is going to get it.
The breakdowns, although do appear a bit more than respectably (is it that less the better now? I don't know what pleases people
try the breakdowns, while appearing a bit too often to be respected and you might want to take out the parentheses part.

East Hastings
July 29th 2010


4409 Comments


overall, just look for little things like this, and please stop telling your reader to check out other bands in the review. other than that, it's a solid one

ANewTypeOfPunk
July 29th 2010


736 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Thanks for the feedback I agree with you, I'll edit now.



And in reply to your first post, this ep is much more mature than their first, albeit no underoath LITSOS-era and their upcoming hopefully.

ANewTypeOfPunk
July 29th 2010


736 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I left my joke up there though, I'm going to be stubborn and childish and be proud of it =]

East Hastings
July 29th 2010


4409 Comments


lol okay, just a suggestion because some people don't always dig stuff like that. but it's your review. : ) and to your description of the band's sound, i think i've honestly heard enough of this type of music to last me a lifetime :/ but I might get around to listening to it at some point, thanks

Douglas
July 29th 2010


9297 Comments


Ha, I know these blokes.

ANewTypeOfPunk
July 29th 2010


736 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Honestly it strays far enough that it's refreshing if you like the same genre period, but that's just me.

TheyTookOurJobs
July 29th 2010


1318 Comments


Seen these guys live before they broke up.......... they gave me their other EP for free..... which was nice.

TTrent4
July 29th 2010


88 Comments


you got a link to their myspace?

ANewTypeOfPunk
July 29th 2010


736 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

http://www.myspace.com/addisonband



and as previously mentioned my reviews shit the bed including ratings haha. I think my tastes have matured greatly in the past few months. A lot more this, Dream On, Dreamer, Lower Definition, Fall Of Troy, etc. Still have guilty pleasures like AA! Of Mice, and stuff like that though haha.

PinkBlackberry
September 12th 2010


2346 Comments


had this band's first EP, and it sucked. the only thing i remember was that the vocalist screamed "THIS ONES FOR JESUS" and then they played a breakdown. not for me.

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHAHAH I really, really want to hear that song, just for the lols.

as far as this review...ugh, man...there's a lot of problems..east hastings basically caught them all but you need to redesign how you write, talk about the music. Talking a little bit about everyones favorite brodowns, and a little bit on each instrument isn't enough.

and you really, really, really need to stay away from talking about other CD's/bands unless they draw direct comparison and support/make your review better.

sorry to reiterate East hastings. I just feel it needs to be said...again

ANewTypeOfPunk
September 12th 2010


736 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

honestly I respect your opinion, but I feel that this review isn't that bad. I'm not saying it's amazing, but I feel it is worth a pos.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy