Kylie Minogue
Aphrodite


3.0
good

Review

by taylormemer USER (92 Reviews)
July 4th, 2010 | 41 replies


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Eleven down, how many more to go?

Stuart Price of recent Scissor Sisters fame, his wide-ranging production team and their collective effort spawn plenty emblematic dance-pop driven tunes across Aphrodite’s twelve instalments. There’s no doubt that Kylie, regardless of who’s assembling her music, is still one of the hardest working pop queens still breaking the dance floor. Even if significance has gradually waned since 2000’s Light Years, Aphrodite supplements resilience in more ways than one – much more than X’s painstaking stabs in the dark. In comparison, the melodious “Closer” and its successor, “Everything is Beautiful” are as leisurely as it all gets, with the rest clinging to wee small hours but completely familiar uptempo dance floor estate. Others like “Too Much”, which remarkably introduces the seemingly forgotten art of pinging polyrhythms, and “Illusion” offer a characteristic Kylie with no gimmickry, but don’t answer the ultimate matter of Price’s occasional dubious reduced-to-clear production style. The marriage between her voice, and his synthetic strings, and average bouncing beats is where its success will be measured given its generally simplistic structure; lead anchor (“All the Lovers”), and three or four winners bisected by a remainder harboured between the featureless (“Cupid Boy”/“Can’t Beat the Feeling”) and the more tolerable (“Get Outta My Way”/“Better Than Today”).

These all may be blips on the radar of the current pop megalomania, but all the more vital is for Kylie to show coherence to be deemed a success by her fans, and in this case a listener not so much concerned with overstated flamboyancy and more about how long before the budgie-birdie vox is just too much to handle. The choice to supplant the sentiment from 2003’s Body Language with a more synthetic sensitivity will most certainly impede the album’s long term impetus. Playing safe, while generally undesired, is all about a veteran could be asked of in the current pop climate. However, regardless of this, from a fan’s perspective, nothing could really be any better, as everything here at least strikes the catchy, cluey and clever aura Kylie so eloquently suggests amidst her musical colour.



Recent reviews by this author
Hans Zimmer InterstellarMachine Head Bloodstone and Diamonds
Arch Enemy War EternalCavern Cavern
Hans Zimmer The Dark Knight RisesPeriphery Periphery II: This Time It's Personal
user ratings (55)
Chart.
3.6
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
taylormemer
July 4th 2010


4962 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Oh, wow, a shortie.

AliW1993
July 4th 2010


7511 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Good review, I pretty much agree.

British Kid
July 6th 2010


10 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I love Kylie and the album, but I just feel this album doesn't push any boundaries or open up any new ground in the way that X did, but it feels like a much more cohesive and "together" album.



good review.

AtavanHalen
July 11th 2010


17920 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Oi, this is sick

taylormemer
July 11th 2010


4962 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Too Much is pretty awesome.

AtavanHalen
July 11th 2010


17920 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

All The Lovers is boner time

taylormemer
July 11th 2010


4962 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Imalittle partial to the lead.

DoubtGin
July 11th 2010


6880 Comments


this made me watch the music video for "Slow" again

Anthracks
April 11th 2011


6261 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

this is the best pop album ever

Digging: Obliteration - Cenotaph Obscure

crixus2012
March 28th 2012


22 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Madonna clone

taylormemer
March 28th 2012


4962 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Umm no.

Pndi
July 29th 2013


464 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Can’t Beat the Feeling is such a jam, and damn that Can’t Beat the Feeling/Love At First Sigh somewhat mashup was genius

Havey
July 2nd 2015


10244 Comments


the singles are so good

IanPhillips
September 28th 2015


22 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Good review. I found this to be more cohesive than 'X' and one that grabbed me straight away.

Kaiwaz
October 11th 2018


7691 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Big bump

Digging: Jason Becker - Triumphant Hearts

Kaiwaz
October 11th 2018


7691 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

wow this is so good

Kaiwaz
October 11th 2018


7691 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

@Hawks

artiswar
October 11th 2018


5940 Comments


Thrust bumping KM threads reminds me of me bumping No Doubt and FKA Twigs threads. Like jerking into the wind. My only real experience with her was seeing that Lalala video on Muchmusic as a kid ad nauseam and always feeling weird in my pants and not knowing why. Still don't know why to this day!

Kaiwaz
October 11th 2018


7691 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

lmao

Kaiwaz
October 11th 2018


7691 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

someone made a list about Kylie and I had only heard a few of her albums, so I got them all now and listened to them almost all day at work today and right now and I will say she is probably the most underrated pop artist that I know of



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy