Aiden
Conviction


3.5
great

Review

by lonelyboy2013 USER (3 Reviews)
June 28th, 2010 | 36 replies


Release Date: 2007 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Aiden doesn't care what you think about them. Aiden is Aiden and they have made it quite clear that that isn't changing anytime soon.

No, I am not being sarcastic about my rating. I actually believe that this is a great album. I actually started listening to this album a long time ago and its still as good as it was when i first listened to it. I have read multiple bad reviews of this album and it they have frustrated me. They frustrate me because Aiden is actually talented. The drummer is crazy good, the guitarists aren't incredible, but they still have talent, and while Wil's vocals on Nightmare Anatomy were actually so bad that it was painful, he actually sounds good on Conviction and his vocals blend well with the music. Sure, the lyrics aren't great, but they are sincere. What people fail to understand is that songwriters don't write lyrics to please an audience, but they write from their opinions of the world, their personal experiences, their emotions, etc. Wil is obviously a dark, depressed, emotional person, so he writes dark, depressed, emotional lyrics. Wil knows that a lot of people aren't going to like his lyrics, but he doesn't write his lyrics to please those people, he writes them to express his emotions. You don't have to like them. I also believe that the many reviews that trash this album are biased because those people and many other people don't like Aiden's image. They don't like the make-up, the clothes, or just the general appearance of the band. That's ok, but Aiden doesn't care what you think about them. Aiden doesn't look like that the please any sort of audience, they look like that to express themselves. It frustrates me when I read a review that trashes their image. Sure, I don't like their image, but why should they care about my opinion of them. It also frustrates me when reviewers let there opinions on Aiden's image and their previous releases influence their opinions on this album, because seriously now, Conviction is a completely different album from Aiden's previous releases. Those points I just gave are some of the reasons why I believe Lord Worm's review of this album is absolute garbage. I just believe that too many people let their hatred of Aiden's image and unwillingness to accept Wil's dark, depressing, emotional lyrics get in the way of realizing that the members of Aiden are actually talented musicians. The music on Conviction is also just really good and its a lot better than their other works, including their new cd Knives. Now that I've spent a lot of my time giving my opinion (I'm sorry if I offended people who legit just don't like the music and don't think the members of Aiden are talented musicians in an unbiased way) I'm just going to rate each song.

The Opening Departure 4/5
She Will Love You 3/5
Teenage Queen 5/5
Hurt Me 4/5
One Love 5/5
Moment 4/5
Darkness 3/5
Son of Lies 3/5
Believe 4/5
Bliss (This song is probably one of the most depressing songs I have ever heard) 4/5
The Sky is Falling 4/5

Final Score 3.5/5


user ratings (323)
Chart.
2.2
poor
other reviews of this album
The Jungler (2)
Aiden clean up, and don't sound nearly as bad as they used to. Still, far from good....


Comments:Add a Comment 
Bitchfork
June 28th 2010


7584 Comments


Well I'll wait for this moment... stutter st-t-tutter

Douglas
June 28th 2010


9283 Comments


Wil is obviously a dark, depressed, emotional person, so he writes dark, depressed, emotional lyrics. Wil knows that a lot of people aren't going to like his lyrics, but he doesn't write his lyrics to please those people, he writes them to express his emotions.


You don't say?

ThePalaceOfWisdom
June 28th 2010


1134 Comments


I believe Lord Worm's review of this album is absolute garbage.


Yay, time to neg.

jpattison
June 28th 2010


125 Comments


This seems like more of a rant about other peoples reviews and talking about their image and darkness than an actual review of the album.

XulOnerom
June 28th 2010


1818 Comments


This band is shit

It also frustrates me when reviewers let there opinions on Aiden's image


Protip: Just because two words sound the same, doesn't mean that they actually mean the same thing, or that they are interchangeable

DiceMan
June 28th 2010


7067 Comments


Sounds like someone is a little butthurt about other peoples' reviews donchano?

DiceMan
June 28th 2010


7067 Comments


I don't think you understand people's criticisms of the music. At all. Aiden are mediocre in every sense of the word. However, I would not have negged you if you actually reviewed the album and backed up your 3.5 rating. Instead, you chose to rant about how much you love Aiden and you think that they recieve a majority of the shit they get just because of their image? Bullshit. It's the fact that their lyrics are terrible. It's like reading a fucking Twilight book about self pity. The fact that they let their image affect their lyrics and vice versa is fairly weak minded. These guys just seem to fit the bill exactly. They are awful musicians too. Someday you'll probably realize it, when you're done drowning in your naivety.

tl;dr? Review isn't reviewing the album one bit, Aiden sucks, try again next time.

Spare
June 28th 2010


5567 Comments


review needs some paragraphs other than that it is okayishkinda

Electric City
Emeritus
June 28th 2010


15762 Comments


this review has succeeded in bringing to my attention that there is a lord worm review for this gonna go read that now

Kronzo
June 28th 2010


1303 Comments


If you talked more about the album and less about other people's opinions I might have actually liked this review more. neg.

Ire
June 28th 2010


41945 Comments


ONE LOVE

lol I remember actually liking this when it came out.

buckfutter2
June 28th 2010


91 Comments


Dddiiiieeee romantic! Romantic! Romantic!

Ire
June 28th 2010


41945 Comments


I knew you'd be back pit

Apollo
June 28th 2010


10680 Comments


have a neg for being so gay!

buckfutter2
June 28th 2010


91 Comments


Thanks Ire. It was much earlier than anticipated, but I think I'll just stick around.

Apollo
June 28th 2010


10680 Comments


this guy has two FOB albums rated a 5....

Ire
June 28th 2010


41945 Comments


have you seen his other 5's?

FoB are the best band out of those

Apollo
June 28th 2010


10680 Comments


lmao true

Locrian
June 28th 2010


1003 Comments


Oh man, that is a giant paragraph. And if you think Bliss is that depressing, you have obviously not heard much music. And while I'm at it, don't be so generous with your 5 ratings.

Mr_Coffee
June 28th 2010


631 Comments


lonelyboy2013



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy