Amon Tobin
Supermodified


4.5
superb

Review

by Adash USER (43 Reviews)
June 17th, 2010 | 39 replies


Release Date: 2000 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The Master Thief

I’ve always had a penchant for sampling. The skill of mashing up countless dozens of obscure records into something greater than the sum of its parts fascinates me.
All the classic hip hop of the 90’s relied on extensive sampling; tunes by such visionaries as The Bomb Squad and DJ Shadow have gone down in history as master classes in plunderphonics - but the ubiquitous Amon Tobin took it to a whole other level.

Not content with mashing together various riffs and melodies, he used the technology just appearing in the mid 90’s to destroy songs, erase the line between sampling and composition and improve rusty melodies to the extent that entirely new and unrecognizable pieces could arise from a boxful of dusty vinyls.
Casting a wide net over the aural ocean he pulled in jazz, lounge and world music driftwood that was then moulded skilfully into masterpieces such as Bricolage and Permutation. Supermodified, his fourth album and arguably the apex of his career to that point is a melting point of different genres and styles that nonetheless retains the signature Tobin vibe – dark, groovy and at times unbearably sexy. But what else could you expect from a Brazilian"
The unique tone of the music helps give the album a continuity it may have lost at the hands of a less talented artist – plodding drums interweave seamlessly with slinky fusion basslines, whilst electronics bleep and sweep all before them. Subtle violins hum in the background, and a soothing sine wave fills out the sound spectrum in perfect harmony. Then breakbeats come in on top of cacophonous saxophones and you realize why sampling is an art of genius; it gives the artist the ability to mix together sounds that no self respecting composer would dare touch for fear of sounding contrived and ridiculous. Tobin, on the other hand, delves deep into unmarked crates and pulls out jigsaw pieces that he then fits together with such consummate skill you are left spellbound.

Trip hop" Lounge jazz" Call it what you want. This is simply one of those albums that showed the world what one could do with unappreciated or forgotten music – resurrect it and reshape it into masterful compositions that have the lifeblood not only of the Sampler but also the original artist flowing through it, giving it unrivalled aural power. Tobin’s sampled works are the link in the chain between Endtroducing and Since I Left You; acknowledged masterpieces that are amongst the best albums ever.

Amon Tobin simply took the art of sampling to another level, and Supermodified further cements his place on the podium alongside other luminaries of the sampling world.



Recent reviews by this author
Autechre ExaiVladislav Delay Vantaa
Pinch and Shackleton Pinch and ShackletonOneohtrix Point Never Replica
Patten GLAQJO XAACSOMatthew Herbert One Pig
user ratings (253)
Chart.
4.1
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Slipping Away
June 17th 2010


1260 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nice, someone finally reviewed this. Good job too, pos'd. Great album, probably my favorite of his.

porch
June 17th 2010


8460 Comments


Good review, cool album

Adash
June 17th 2010


1356 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

much obliged gentlemen

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
June 17th 2010


32190 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Very, very nice review man. Was it me who suggested you do this?

Adash
June 18th 2010


1356 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I have no idea who you are :p so most likely not

I just reviews them as I sees them - theres a huge amount of excellent albums that are ignored on this site





Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
June 18th 2010


32190 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ah right, I knew it was some one haha

nicolauz
July 9th 2010


62 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Great review. It's really amazing the type of polarization an album like this can do to friends when you're hanging out. I've had people go amazingly nuts like 'what is this ?!?!AWESOME' to 'what is this weird creepy porn music @!?'. A favorite night-time driving album, with the bass cranked.

kanecooper
January 17th 2011


630 Comments


splurge!

Adash
January 18th 2011


1356 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

insert my standard comment here



potato please comment on some bad album so that I can write something other than unconditional praise

jefflebowski
September 25th 2011


8573 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

should I try this or Bricolage first?

Adash
September 26th 2011


1356 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

His first three albums are all (borderline) masterpieces. Can't go too wrong with any of them. Welcome to the world of Tobin ; ]

jefflebowski
September 26th 2011


8573 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Goddam, this redefines awesome.



I feel a CD buying session coming on....

Adash
September 30th 2011


1356 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I saw some in some place on the Kudamm in Berlin if that helps.

Adash
October 1st 2011


1356 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

high time to make a trip to europe then, just in time to catch ISAM live, unless you already saw it at Mutek or something...

jefflebowski
October 6th 2011


8573 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

goddamn, this gets better every time I listen to it

jefflebowski
October 6th 2011


8573 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

he is indeed. Bricolage is almost as good as this, Permutations not far behind either. I've yet to

check out his more recent stuff in detail though - Foley Room sounded a little unfocused for my liking

jefflebowski
October 6th 2011


8573 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I will do that



also, what are your thoughts on Out From Out Where? It kinda seems to be overlooked in the context of his discography....



Adash
October 7th 2011


1356 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

'Out from' might be his weakest album but still a 4/5. The concept behind Foley Room makes the music for me. Permutations and Super both 5's. As for ISAM, it's just too mental for moi brain to comprehend.



Easy Muffin still his best song

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
January 2nd 2012


32190 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Have you heard Adventures In Foam yet?

mindleviticus
June 22nd 2012


9668 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Adventures in Foam is my favorite Amon Tobin album

Digging: Weyes Blood - Titanic Rising



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy