Black Sabbath
Headless Cross


1.5
very poor

Review

by Nagrarok USER (219 Reviews)
June 10th, 2010 | 122 replies


Release Date: 1989 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Aim: Sabbath power metal. Result: Utter failure.

The Eternal Idol may not have been the comeback Black Sabbath needed after a few major srewups called Born Again and Seventh Star, but at least it was a step in the right direction for a change. Expectations for it's follow-up Headless Cross must've been slightly higher again, but Iommi & co. (which the band can be easily referred to at this point, because he is the only part of the original group left) completely failed to keep up the momentum. With this release, Black Sabbath treads the dangerous paths of power metal. Whilst listening, the term 'worst case scenario' is the first that comes to mind.

The two major strengths that made The Eternal Idol quite an enjoyable record were Iommi's renewed riffing power, and new vocalist Tony Martin's refreshing and determinded performance. Headless Cross takes these strengths, and smashes them to bits and pieces. Every single riff you'll encounter on this album is a recycled product of what Sabbath and the metal groups that followed in their wake have long done before. The word generic has never been more fitting. Apparently, Brian May of Queen fame even does a solo on the track When Death Calls. Was that rather noticable" Not really.

If that wasn't worse enough, Martin decides to abandon his pleasant singing style on Sabbath's previous album and switch to a dramatic power metal style. The vocalist completely does away with any sense of distinction in his singing, and sounds like a half-baked cross between the late Ronnie James Dio and Symphony X's Russell Allen. Oh well, at least it works better with the music than the terrible chemistry displayed on Born Again.

Headless Cross is quite easy to describe overall: following the pointless and boring intro track The Gates of Hell, we get treated with 7 tracks that sound exactly the same, all based around generic choruses and bland riffs. As such, there is not even something come close to a standout. This album is among Sabbath's very worst, and although not their ultimate low point (Forbidden takes the cake for that), it is still quite a horrible metal record. Forgiving factors" Well, it is at least consistent in tone.

Headless Cross' Black Sabbath was:

- Frank Anthony 'Tony' Iommi ~ Lead Guitar
- Anthony Martin Harford ~ Vocals
- Laurence Cottle ~ Bass Guitar
- Geoff Nichols ~ Keyboards
- Colin 'Cozy Powell' Flooks ~ Drums


TO BE CONTINUED…



Recent reviews by this author
Genesis Calling All StationsGenesis We Can't Dance
Genesis Invisible TouchGenesis Genesis
Genesis AbacabGenesis Duke
user ratings (505)
Chart.
3.2
good
other reviews of this album
Subrick (5)
Astonishing. Simply astonishing....

PsychicChris (4.5)
The first true Sabbath album since The Mob Rules...

related reviews

Paranoid

Master of Reality

Black Sabbath

Vol. 4
recommended by reviewer
Black Sabbath Tyr

Comments:Add a Comment 
Nagrarok
June 10th 2010


8547 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

This and Tyr are so bad.

BigHans
June 10th 2010


28559 Comments


No idea they went power metal. What did they do? Add keyboards and dragon slaying lyrics?

Nagrarok
June 10th 2010


8547 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

It's mostly the vocals, and the lyrics as well. The keyboards were already there for a while though.

Parallels
June 10th 2010


8858 Comments


solid review addition to black sabbath. pos'd

Emim
June 10th 2010


27546 Comments


Blech. Will avoid this like the plague.

Jethro42
June 10th 2010


15141 Comments


ugh even worst than 'Born again', how this could be !!...
''Headless Cross takes these strengths, and smashes them to bits and pieces''. Love the image.
Review was a good reading, as usual. Pos'd

LepreCon
June 10th 2010


5434 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This album is among Sabbath's very worst, and although not their ultimate low point (Born Again takes the cake for that)




You'll probably reconsider that in about 3 albums' time!

Don't fully agree but good review as always, pos'd

Nagrarok
June 10th 2010


8547 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

No, not really. I've only to hear Forbidden still, and even though I've heard how bad it's supposed to be, it cannot be possibly have such horrible production, chemistry and uninspired songwriting as Born Again.



But then again, things can always get a little worse.

LepreCon
June 10th 2010


5434 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

it cannot be possibly have such horrible production, chemistry and uninspired songwriting as Born Again.




Production, no.

Everything else, yes.

Plus it has Ice-T featuring on the first track.

'Nuff said

Nagrarok
June 10th 2010


8547 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Out of curiosity, I have just started listening, and oh my, that first track is so bad it wants to make my laugh and cry at the same time.

LepreCon
June 10th 2010


5434 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

If you can get to the last track, I'll salute you sir

Nagrarok
June 10th 2010


8547 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Well, I will HAVE to. I'm reviewing it, remember?

LepreCon
June 10th 2010


5434 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Think of it as climbing Mount Everest, so many try, so few succeed, good luck my friend.





So basically if you do it then you're ready to climb Everest...



No, wait, forget that, my logic has its flaws

Nagrarok
June 10th 2010


8547 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Hmmyeah, your logic makes no sense. I can say that as far as it looks now, this is going to be another 1 (which would mean this becomes the first discog where I hand out two 1's). There is just not a single trace of Sabbath left. I'm beginning to believe that Born Again could be less of a torture.

LepreCon
June 10th 2010


5434 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Make it a 0.5, g'won I dare ya

Nagrarok
June 10th 2010


8547 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Oh wait, I hadn't even considered that. After so many reviews I ought to do a 0.5 one anyway.

LepreCon
June 10th 2010


5434 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

If 0.1 were possible, that would be a more accurate score

Nagrarok
June 10th 2010


8547 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Haha, this is the first time I've actually heard you NOT trying to find redeemable featutres for a bad album.



This album is among Sabbath's very worst, and although not their ultimate low point (Forbidden takes the cake for that)




And see what I did there?

LepreCon
June 10th 2010


5434 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Well then again that would prolly be because I don't remember a thing about it, just that it was really bad and Ice-T is on it at some point. Perhaps there's a decent guitar riff or two if unoriginal but I dunno, I have it rated as a 1.5 because I'd even take it over all the stuff I've given a 1 to.



Nice review change, speaks more troof

EVedder27
June 10th 2010


6088 Comments


Nice Nag, short and to the point



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy