Heatmiser
Cop and Speeder


4.5
superb

Review

by Devin1562 USER (2 Reviews)
June 1st, 2010 | 9 replies


Release Date: 1994 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Heatmiser is the perfect band for you if you like good loud rock with meaning behind it, confidence, and strong musical craftsmanship. With Cop And Speeder ( Their second album) you get it all and more.

Heatmiser is the perfect band for you if you like good loud rock with meaning behind it, confidence, and strong musical craftsmanship. With Cop And Speeder ( Their second album) you get it all and more. You can hear the amount of work that went into every song. Both with the lyrics and music. Smith and Gust both have a great talent for writing great lyrics and music. Most people ( Including me) know of this band because it started Elliott Smith's career. And forgive my ignorance but they seem to be an unknown band and deserve more fame then what they have obtained.

On a lot of albums there are songs that the band writes just to fill up space on the album ( known as fillers) but on Cop And Speeders its hard to tell which are which. All the songs have a strong hook and are never boring. Elliott being who he is and having the amount of talent he has tends to steal the spotlight on the album and most of the better songs are his. "Bastard John" is one of the better songs on the album. Along with Nightcap these both excellent examples of Smith at his best.

"Bastard John" is a high energy song and Smith is almost held back by the band at parts, but still is a great song. Smith is vocally powerful and it shows on this song. Lash's drumming is powerful and greatly adds to song.

Recommended Songs:
"Bastard John"
"Sleeping Pill"
"Trap Door"
"Nightcap"



user ratings (33)
Chart.
3.7
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Devin1562
June 1st 2010


8 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Sorry for the short review its my first

vanderb0b
June 1st 2010


3473 Comments


I'll pos, because it's your first, but this definitely needs some work. It's not descriptive enough, and I can't tell what this sounds like based of the review. You claim that the songwriting is good, as are the lyrics, but you don't provide any further analysis. Perhaps explain how the music makes you feel. Also, if you like the lyrics, you could say what some of the themes addressed in the album are, or perhaps provide brief quotations. Read some staff/featured reviews to see what's expected and how you should try to write. That said, this is a good effort.

SeaAnemone
June 1st 2010


21407 Comments


I did my first review on Heatmiser too. I see good things coming your way.

timbo8
June 2nd 2010


618 Comments


^^ Ha! Same here actually! What is it about Heatmiser? I love Mic City Sons, but really should listen to the rest of their stuff.

Voytek
June 2nd 2010


140 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Not a bad first review, man. I remember finding this album in a random record store in Maine, and the cashier was baffled because he didn't know they even owned it. This album holds some great memories for me.

accompliceofmydeath
June 2nd 2010


4615 Comments


Review could go into more detail. It's pretty difficult to tell what this would sound like.

Digging: Gatecreeper - Sweltering Madness

Devin1562
July 24th 2010


8 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks for all the support and the advice. I will take it in and use with my future reviews.

Devin1562
July 24th 2010


8 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks especially to vanderb0b for taking the time to tell me what to work on. Thats helps a lot

xfearbefore
May 31st 2015


1479 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

You can totally hear shades of where Elliott wanted to go with his music on Antonio Carlos Jobim.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy