Sleepingdog
Polar Life


5.0
classic

Review

by YouAreMySilence USER (4 Reviews)
May 22nd, 2010 | 23 replies


Release Date: 2008 | Tracklist

Review Summary: choose what you found here, sing your own song.

Every music fan has that one album that, for various and unexplainable reasons just clicked. It doesn't take much, just a riff, a small time signature change, or even just a, what my seem like, insignificant movement, for music to unveil its self in an intangible, powerful way only music can. For myself, the main album I would say that displays this remarkable trait, is Sleepingdog's sophomore release, Polar Life.

I can recall my first experience with the minimalist masterpiece. Taking a stroll through the site, I came across a soundoff for the record and something about the title enticed my interest so I clicked and read on. After doing so, with deep interest, I looked up their myspace and was greeted by the opening track to the record, Prophets, and immediately I fell in love with Acada's hushed vocal stylings. After playing through the duo's music player for close to an hour I decided to Polar Life a proper listen and *cough*illegally*cough* attained a copy. And as soon as the chorus of the second track, and one of the most incredible songs I've ever come across, Your Eyes, hit, I was a tearful mess. That best displays exactly what this album is. Consisting of just incredibly simple piano, Chantal's tender vocals, and but the slightest violin work, Your Eyes manages to bring even the manliest of men to their knees.

With that being said one cannot go without asking the question, why? How is it that Sleepingdog can make what seems to be simple minimalist dream pop, classic? First and foremost you must look at the members of the duo, more specifically the half I have yet to mention; Adam Wiltzie. Wiltzie, one half of the ambient gods Stars Of The Lid and the brainchild behind the Dead Texan, brings to the table a mastermind of subtlety, creating an incredibly lush and delicate atmosphere making Polar Life more than just a 'pretty folk record' but genius instead.

All in all what you have are ten lulling tracks, led by the lush vocal stylings of Chantal Acada, with the Texan drone legend, Adam Wiltzie, creating the beautiful atmospheric, but what can I really say to justify it as one of the of the best records of all time. Maybe I just lack the literary skill, or maybe there just aren't the words - this just well clicked. What I can say though is that this one of, if not the most tender records I have ever come across. And if you give the chance it can be the soundtrack to your first kiss, the eventual parting and the last fleeting moments before you drift off into sleep.

if only, if only I could believe that tomorrow when I wake from my sleep, that you'd still be with me. cause my love, my love will always be.


user ratings (60)
3.9
excellent
other reviews of this album
Knott- EMERITUS (4.5)
...

SeaAnemone (4.5)
This is exactly what you want in your head as your eyelids begin to falter and your mind begins to d...

DiceMan (4.5)
Just listen to Prophets. If you aren't captivated, go buy a new heart. The one you now possess is ma...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Romulus
May 23rd 2010


8569 Comments


Check that coding error quick

YouAreMySilence
May 23rd 2010


3727 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

I did thanks. Shitty write up but I was bored and thought I needed to put something.

SeaAnemone
May 23rd 2010


21429 Comments


cool, see you posted it already! ; ) I'll still read over it for ya though if ya don't mind

cirq
May 23rd 2010


9350 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

i honestly cant stand her voice.. :/

SeaAnemone
May 23rd 2010


21429 Comments


I like the review, especially the way you personalize the album/review, it comes across genuine. my advice.-- rework the intro. a little. maybe add a little, fix that run-on, clarify a little... it'll make the entire review seem a little clearer I think. and also you may want to re-read a few times for comma use and stuff like that.

Aids
May 23rd 2010


24460 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This is on my hard drive but I haven't listened to it yet. I think my friend got it for your rec, silence, and now he's all about it. It seems like something I'd enjoy



WatchItExplode
May 23rd 2010


7372 Comments


yeah, heard this is good but not buying it

Digging: Lunar Shadow - The Smokeless Fires

foreverendeared
May 23rd 2010


14677 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

you went a little nuts on the commas, but otherwise good review

AnotherBrick
May 23rd 2010


9802 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

pretttty darn good

crazyblinddude
May 23rd 2010


3390 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Nice job! I love this album. It was the second track for me too that made everything completely click.

Dryden
May 23rd 2010


13551 Comments


completely

DoubtGin
May 23rd 2010


6880 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

uh, I guess I diagree with the majority but I found this to be pretty mediocre.. its been long since I've listened to this though and I might not have payed full attention so I am probably going to listen to this again.

Mordecai.
May 23rd 2010


8392 Comments


this review makes me want to get this.

good review?

[img]http://content.ytmnd.com/content/d/3/9/d39ef8449fc12118a02384ca3390eecc.jpg[/img]



YouAreMySilence
May 23rd 2010


3727 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Thanks for the feedback, yeah Eric I lost my patience and decided to post it lol. Can you give me an example on how you would rework the first paragraph? Yeah and I'll probably fix commas and stuff at some point, but definitely one of my weaker reviews.

SeaAnemone
May 23rd 2010


21429 Comments


haha I do the same (losing patience). and yes, definitely split up the second sentence into two or three, this'll give you a chance to elaborate on those a little more too. and its good, but remember to concentrate on the 'personal' aspect, it makes your review stronger I think.

YouAreMySilence
May 23rd 2010


3727 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Thanks Eric will fix that in a bit, and I wish! Their lyrics are no where!

Dryden
May 23rd 2010


13551 Comments


Mordecai. your avatar is when vegeta is fighting zarbon right?

Mordecai.
May 24th 2010


8392 Comments


yep, fuck Zarbon

YouAreMySilence
May 24th 2010


3727 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

K I think I fixed the first paragraph but I dont know how I submit it again. How do I do that?

Eclectic
July 19th 2010


3302 Comments


If only, if only I could believe that tomorrow when I wake from my sleep, that you'd still be with me. Cause my love, my love will always be.

RIP Youaremysilence



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy