Nonpoint
Miracle


4.0
excellent

Review

by Metalstyles EMERITUS
May 1st, 2010 | 92 replies


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Taking half-a-step into hard rock territory, Nonpoint have crafted an album that sees the former nu metallers at the top of their game once more

It has been fun following Nonpoint for all these years, witnessing their every rise and fall. The last few years weren’t exactly generous for the band - Vengeance was a disappointment compared to Nonpoint's other records, and the loss of original guitarist Andrew Goldman didn’t simplify things either. But, after recruiting Zach Broderick to fill the void Goldman had left, the guys in Nonpoint obviously had only one thought in their mind – to get back into the game, stronger than ever before. Now Nonpoint have refined and refurbished themselves as a collective of musicians, and after listening to Miracle, it becomes evident Vengeance was, thankfully, just a stepping stone in the band’s career. With Miracle Nonpoint have shed their nu metal roots and after taking half-a-step into hard rock territory, have certified themselves as one of today’s most interesting metal/rock crossover bands.

Everything about Nonpoint sounds revitalized on this cd. Elias’ voice, the guitar work, the amiably familiar basslines – on one hand you can hear good ol' Nonpoint from every direction, but on the other it also sounds like a completely new band comprised of the same members. The guitar work is tighter and gone are Goldman’s distorted, crunchy guitarlines, which are now replaced by Broderick’s gritty ’n groovy guitar playing. On Miracle there is also an aggrandized emphasis on (crude) melody – something that was slightly shadowed before by Goldman’s highly distorted, discordant guitar technique. Also notable is the Pantera influence that is breaking through every hole, albeit in a strictly melodic fashion. Be it because Pantera is one of Broderick’s main influences or because Nonpoint covered their song "5 Minutes Alone", groovy yet muscular guitar riffs dominate Miracle through and through.

It’s not only the guitar work though that has been kicked up a notch; every other facet of Nonpoint’s music has also gone up since Vengeance. Elias has abandoned the annoying "macho" voice he exhibited on that record, and is back to singing and yelling in his typical, Latin spiced manner, putting on what is his career’s second best vocal performance right after Statement's. Robb Rivera also holds his own in the drumming department – as always he isn’t in the center of attention, but is a commanding force behind the kit, even surprising us with a few unexpected double-bass sections and tom waves, which compliment his usual snare/cymbal patterns well.

The sheer size of the jump Nonpoint have made since Vengeance is astounding. Miracle isn't their best album - Statement still holds that place - but it is an album that proves once again Nonpoint are far from a one-trick pony and opens up a variety of options for the band. Will they take a concrete hard rock direction from here on, or will they elaborate on the Pantera influence and turn to groove metal later in their career is to be seen, but as long as they keep their determination and, like the youngsters say nowadays, keep it real, they’re in great shape; maybe even in the greatest shape of their whole career.

Miracle isn’t an album that will please everyone. There will most certainly be people who dislike the whole new direction the band are taking, but one thing is undisputable - Miracle is the best thing the band could've possibly returned with after the flop that was Vengeance. Miracle shows that Nonpoint still have plenty of will, talent and determination left in them and wether you like it or not, are one of today’s best metal/rock crossover bands. So is Miracle actually a miracle" Well, maybe not on a full-scale, but it sure might be the start of a one.



Recent reviews by this author
Mauno Meesit Varjudemaa (OST)Dope Stars Inc. Terapunk
Furor gallico Songs From The EarthAhamkara The Embers Of The Stars
Atrum Tempestas NeantEluveitie Origins
user ratings (69)
Chart.
3
good
other reviews of this album
ABR157 (4)
A rejuvenated Nonpoint provide an impressive change from their past records....



Comments:Add a Comment 
Metalstyles
Emeritus
May 1st 2010


8570 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

stream: http://music.aol.com/new-releases-full-cds/#/11

LG
May 1st 2010


3050 Comments


Jesus, just a teenager and your already treatin the rest of the world like children.

Nice review Styles. I loved almost everything before Vengeance, so this is very good news. Have a pos my good sir.

jingledeath
May 1st 2010


7101 Comments


Great review and good to see this didn't disappoint you man, probably not gonna listen to this though.

ThePalestMexican
May 1st 2010


2816 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'm probably gonna give this a listen, I was dissapointed in the self-titled track, but after seeing them live a couple weeks ago. I'm back to loving Nonpoint.

BallsToTheWall
May 1st 2010


48188 Comments


Stopped caring after Recoil. Well written review.

Digging: CZARFACE - Every Hero Needs a Villain

Ghostechoes
May 1st 2010


1354 Comments


Development is their best album.

renegadestrings
May 1st 2010


1510 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

of course the stream isn't available in my region... i mean, why convenience me like that?

i'm really really hesitant to try this, but damn. nonpoint has always been an underdog band for me. i really want to believe this will be good

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
May 2nd 2010


22464 Comments


Styles, I feel guilty for not having looked into these guys after your reco last year. Looks like I'll have to change that very soon, based purely on the fact that you used the words "hard-rock".

BobbbyLight
May 2nd 2010


76 Comments


One of the better nu metal bands to last but I thought their last release was terrible. Definitely give this one a chance though.

Metalstyles
Emeritus
May 2nd 2010


8570 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks guys



Davey - definitely give it a shot. This is what you'd call "harsh" hard rock, but I think you would like this, as the vocalist is excellent and the band have dropped some of the fury they had on past albums like Statement and Recoil.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
May 2nd 2010


22464 Comments


Will do. Congrats on the review too... You've definitely steadily improved & your consistency is also well above par.

AtavanHalen
May 2nd 2010


17920 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

Nonpoint = "Stop it! STOP IT, you AWFUL band!"

Ponton
Emeritus
May 2nd 2010


6143 Comments


saw a stream of this around last tuesday or so, and figured you'd be really excited.

Good review, I listened to a few tracks but I can't get into this band. At least they didn't let you down

Digging: Emperor X - Western Teleport

Metalstyles
Emeritus
May 2nd 2010


8570 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks a lot Davey



Atavan - well, I thought long and hard about this and... I can't tell if that was sarcasm or not. Dammit.



Jared - this one wouldn't be your thing at all. The only album I'd see you enjoying from this band would be To The Pain, but I'm not exactly rushing you to listen to that one either. If you're ever curious you can youtube a few tracks from that album, as To The Pain is much heavier and more hardcore-vibed than any other Nonpoint release.

LG
May 2nd 2010


3050 Comments


Observer the only track you need to listen to from To The Pain, is Code Red. Best track on the album period.

linchpin313
May 2nd 2010


830 Comments


Magnus, i have yet to hear this but from what i've read, you seem to be content with the new Rock direction they're on even though its in contrast to Statement, am i right?

AtavanHalen
May 2nd 2010


17920 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

Seriously, fuck this band. They fucking suck.

DoubtGin
May 2nd 2010


6880 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

wrong





its a 3 so far for me, since the middle part was dragging. The last three tracks are great though (especially What I've Become)

Dinosaur
May 2nd 2010


1122 Comments


i keep hearing the song "miracle" on sportscenter..bit catchy

Metalstyles
Emeritus
May 2nd 2010


8570 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Magnus, i have yet to hear this but from what i've read, you seem to be content with the new Rock direction they're on even though its in contrast to Statement, am i right?
yeah, I don't mind their new direction at all - bands do have to either perfect their sound, or evolve. Nonpoint have done the latter.



Atavan - yeah well you liking crap like Justin Biber, AVA and Keane and then saying Nonpoint are effing terrible is kind of laughable ;). It's all opinions, but these guys were definitely one of the best nu acts back in the day, and are one of the strongest rock/metal crossover bands today.





DoubtGin - dunno, imo the album flowed really well and kept its groove throughout. Maybe it'll grow on you, who knows.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy