Aerosmith
Just Push Play


3.5
great

Review

by USER (1 Reviews)
September 19th, 2005 | 22 replies


Release Date: 2001 | Tracklist


Well it definitley isnt Permanent Vacation, but it is still definitley Aerosmith, with quite bit more of a pop edge to it, which they even explain in the booklet. So anyways, on to the tracks.

First track, Beyond Beautiful, is a nice catchy start to the album, although the almost total absense of the guitar in the chorus brings it down a bit, but they fill it up alright with some background vocals. Next is Just Push Play, which other Tylers vocals barely sound Aerosmith, but is still an alright song. Jaded is next, which undoubtedly the best track, because it has much more of a classic Aerosmith feel and has some great drum and drum moments. After this is the albums first ballad with a slow piano intro and exellent vocals (as always) from Tyler.It eventually builds into a beautiful chorus; another great song. Preceding this is Trip Hoppin, another weird Aero song, bit more blues sounding guitar than previous tracks, though, which is nice. Overall not a bad song. Sunshine is next, which is another exellent song, with some weird and catchy lyrics and an awesome chorus. Under my Skin follows, with a signature Aerosmith riff to guide it, its a very strong song. After this is Luv Lies which is another great slower song, with a very blues feel to it, and Tylers vocals really exel on this track, especially in the chorus. Probably the worst track on the CD, Outta Your Head, combines Aerosmith with rap, and its not Run DMC singing it this time. What follows is Drop Dead Gorgeous, which has some weird vocal distortion and uncatchy chorus, which makes it a pretty mediocre track. Bringin up second-last is Light Inside, a heavily pop influenced track, with a boring repetive chorus, makes it a bit of a dissapointent. And in last place... Avant Garden, an pretty good slower song with some nice acoustic hooks and building verse.
A nice ending to the CD.

Well thats it, Just Push Play By Aerosmith, their second latest relase from the band. Definitley stumbles near the end, but still a pretty great album. My first review, go easy :)


user ratings (340)
2.4
average
other reviews of this album
Pagepage251 (3.5)
Just push play....


Comments:Add a Comment 
NEDM
September 20th 2005


1113 Comments


It was a good review, but it was in a weird format. If you wanna talk about each track, then do a track-by-track. But the way you did it usually is the format in which you would tell of the feeling of the album.

But for a first, it was sweet. :thumb:

smiffsta
February 20th 2006


4 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i have this album in my aerocollection. At first I though it was weird but once i'd got more into Aerosmith it became part of the family. You're right that it is slighly weird, with the jazy stuff but that's just aerosmith, they'll experiment. some lovely sing alongs on this album. just push play is an excellent pick me up in the morning or if your warming up your vocals because of the dynamic range of vocals if you know them

MyRamona
May 2nd 2006


1098 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

This review is just a large paragraph. I loved Jaded when it first came out, but now I'm more obsessed with Just Push Play.

deflepp0925
August 2nd 2006


213 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

this was a pretty good album

as for the review

no detail, not very impressive in my opinion, you might want to consider a better track by track

EIB633
February 26th 2007


18 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Aerosmith's worst album, 2.5/5

aguzman
April 13th 2008


62 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Fly away from here is an amazing power ballad.

StrizzMatik
January 30th 2011


3857 Comments


Don't care what anyone says, Jaded = one of the best songs they've done ever

Digging: Refused - War Music

Nikkolae
June 19th 2011


5457 Comments


HEY J-J-JADEDDDD

Digging: Blackstreet - Another Level

Spec
March 15th 2013


35749 Comments


Fly Away From Here is a great song.

linguist2011
Contributing Reviewer
September 5th 2013


2615 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

A bit of an improvement on the band's last album, but not by enough to even give it a higher rating. The main problem with this for me is simply its "over-modernized" sound. Too many songs here just depend on glossy production and a style that has more in common with trance/dance/electronica/Pop than it does Aerosmiths own brand of infectious rock. A few songs however, such as the delightful 'Jaded' and 'Sunshine', are brilliantly written and performed. I personally think this is the best we're going to get out of the "new" Aerosmith.

Spec
May 31st 2016


35749 Comments


Jaded is really poppy but I don't think its bad.

Albums like a 3/5

VaxXi
March 20th 2017


4415 Comments


Avant Garden is a nice little ditty

SandwichBubble
April 2nd 2017


10312 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

*Album Rating: 5.0



"Just Push Play" YES PLEASE

Titan
November 5th 2017


19756 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Jaded bangs

BigPleb
November 5th 2017


59863 Comments


Toys in the Attic >>>

Titan
November 5th 2017


19756 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

haha

BigPleb
November 5th 2017


59863 Comments


It’s actually a cool record dude.

Only Aerosmith I’ve ever heard tho.

Titan
November 5th 2017


19756 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

its very good....check out Rocks too.....and maybe their debut

DivergentThinking
November 5th 2017


6226 Comments


Man, this review fucking sucks

bach
January 17th 2019


16276 Comments


CUZ IM THE ONE WHO JADED YOU



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy