Catamenia
Cavalcade


2.0
poor

Review

by Kyle Ward EMERITUS
April 15th, 2010 | 38 replies


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist


It should come as no surprise to the folks who listened to 2008’s VIII - The Time Unchained that Catamenia’s latest album follows along the same path of sheer mediocrity. The band had their roots deeply entrenched in the likes of melodic black metal back on such albums as Chaos Born and Location: COLD, however with Cavalcade the band has gone for a style which best represents some bastardized form of power metal which hints ever so slightly at black metal but for all intents and purposes doesn’t set foot through the door. In fact, it’s fairly safe to say that the band has forgone all association with their former selves in favor of a watered-down, halfhearted shell that is slowly but surely sinking to the depths. Lackluster melodies and god-awful clean vocals plague an album which tries too hard to be catchy and enjoyable in that sort of sense where the only replay value lies in the fact that the music is fun to listen to. Instead, the fun is inadvertently left behind in favor of monotony and a false sense of grandeur.

The instruments are a wash; they go absolutely nowhere. The guitars meander around piss-poor melodies which seem to always rehash themselves at some point later in the album. When the harmonized leads aren’t present the rhythm section lies hopelessly inadequate to keep any form of interesting chord progressions while the lead guitar sort of blends in with the crowd. What’s really mind-boggling is that three people are credited with doing the guitar work which, in an ideal situation, no more than one competent guitarist would be needed to achieve. There are moments where the melodies are, admittedly, ear-catching when teamed with the vocals, and during songs like the title track or “The Vulture’s Feast” the music gives the listener a false sense of hope that what is to come may improve upon what at first comes off as an amateur melodic death/power metal band’s promo. It’s also worth mentioning that the drums and bass guitar never at one point grab your attention, instead shamelessly hiding themselves in a performance which is no more than passable.

It’s a nice change of pace when “The Vulture’s Feast” comes in to slow things down from the virtual carbon copies which make up songs one through six, all of which range from 4:20 to 4:59 and whose structures are nearly identical. The way the laziness in songwriting bleeds through is unforgivable, and the soulless music doesn’t help the situation at all. Cavalcade is a complete mess of an album. It’s not god-awful or even close to unlistenable, it’s just so painfully dull that you really won’t catch yourself wanting to listen to more than a song or two. The overbearing use of Kari Vahakuopus’ clean vocals, which alone are lifeless and one-dimensional, coupled with the instrumental display is almost embarrassing. So, it’s a nice change when Ari Nissila’s harsh vocals enter the picture, because they are the only piece of the puzzle which even slightly resembles what positives Catamenia had in their past. Cavalcade doesn’t paint a pretty picture for the future of Catamenia, because if they continue going in the direction they’re heading I’m sure that there will be nobody left to enjoy their music down the road.



Recent reviews by this author
Kauan KaihoInsomnium Winter's Gate
Be'lakor VesselsNovembre Ursa
Swallow the Sun Songs From The North I, II & IIIKauan Sorni Nai
user ratings (33)
Chart.
2.3
average

Comments:Add a Comment 
Crysis
Emeritus
April 15th 2010


17364 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Been putting off this review for almost two months now. Here it is, album was pretty lol

Ire
April 15th 2010


41948 Comments


^Reminds me of my FFtL review that has yet to be typed. It's sitting ten feet away from me.

Good review.

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
April 15th 2010


24614 Comments


good review, this band has always sucked real hard

Crysis
Emeritus
April 15th 2010


17364 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Yeah I wrote the first paragraph a little after the album was released and then got sidetracked for like 7 weeks.



I like some of the material this band has done, namely Location: COLD.

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
April 15th 2010


24614 Comments


Bands like this who have almost always been known as "melodic black metal"have never really piqued my interest. It seems they try to hard, and are quite often very formulaic.

Hawks
April 15th 2010


66656 Comments


Power metal? Really? Wow that's disappointing.

Digging: Polaris (AUS) - The Mortal Coil

Crysis
Emeritus
April 15th 2010


17364 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

It's not full-fledged power metal but it's definitely got a whole lot of influences.

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
April 15th 2010


24614 Comments


Userword will love

Hyperion1001
Emeritus
April 15th 2010


19985 Comments


Morning Crimson and Chaos born were so good. What the hell happened to these guys? I was pretty sure after The Time Unchained that this would suck, and i guess i was right.

This was one of the first "black metal" bands i ever heard though. Found them on a metal list when i was about 13 before i had heard of Kvltness and still enjoy their older material. But, this is utterly disappointing.

Hawks
April 15th 2010


66656 Comments


It's not full-fledged power metal but it's definitely got a whole lot of influences.

Well the real question is would I like it?

Crysis
Emeritus
April 15th 2010


17364 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I want to say no, but hey, you never know. If you want to give it a shot go for it but I wouldn't really recommend it at all.



I was pretty sure after The Time Unchained that this would suck, and i guess i was right.


Yeah, you were right. Anyone who had listened to that album before pretty much knew this would be terrible.



Trey I also see you lowered your rating for this from a 3 to a 2.5 tonight, you sneaky son of a bitch hahaha ;)

Hawks
April 15th 2010


66656 Comments


Well you know your shit dude so if you don't recommend it and you give it that bad of a rating then I think I'll pass on it.

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
April 15th 2010


24614 Comments


Yeah, you'd be better up passing

Hawks
April 15th 2010


66656 Comments


That's most likely what's gonna happen. I'm going to youtube a song right now though just to see for myself.

Crysis
Emeritus
April 15th 2010


17364 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Hope it doesn't hurt too bad.

Hawks
April 15th 2010


66656 Comments


I got two minutes into The Vulture's Feast and shut it right off. Absolute shit.

Wizard
April 16th 2010


20207 Comments


Band sucks real hard dick. I think you summed up a few of their albums with this one. Review does not suck dick!

Metalstyles
Emeritus
April 16th 2010


8574 Comments


Really solid review Kyle (whoa the first time I called you by your real name).

I'll fully trust your opinion on this and let it slide.

ReturnToRock
April 16th 2010


3446 Comments


A local metal magazine I used to read was ripping on these guys even as far back as their third album, saying they were just a second-tier Dimmu Borgir with a ridiculous wolf gimmick on the covers. Seems they were right, no?

Good review, pos'd.

Crysis
Emeritus
April 16th 2010


17364 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I got two minutes into The Vulture's Feast and shut it right off. Absolute shit.


Yeah I figured you would end up thinking that. You'd have to be pretty naive to really enjoy this.



Band sucks real hard dick. I think you summed up a few of their albums with this one.


Well it more or less applies to this album and their last one. Before that, they were pretty decent.



Really solid review Kyle (whoa the first time I called you by your real name).



I'll fully trust your opinion on this and let it slide.


Thanks Magnus ;) I think that you would share my views on this album, so good call on passing.



saying they were just a second-tier Dimmu Borgir with a ridiculous wolf gimmick on the covers.


I wouldn't say that because they really don't sound anything like Dimmu Borgir at all, but it's still pretty funny that they did that haha



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy