Korn
Korn


1.5
very poor

Review

by druglesshippie USER (15 Reviews)
April 14th, 2010 | 31 replies


Release Date: 1994 | Tracklist


God this band is corny.



And that is not just a bad pun, it's also true. If I had to describe this album using theoretical babies, cause that seems to be what the cool kids are doing, it would be Metallica and Faith No More's child, born with autism. And as a bonus, Nirvana had sex with Faith no More while it was pregnant and came on the fetus. I know that wasn't the most politically correct way to put it, but I think that is the best way to describe it.

Almost every song on here DOES have parts that are genuinely interesting and engaging to the listener, whether it be the kickass metal intro to "Ball Tongue", the catchy at-the-time-original chorus of "Clown", the Grunginess of almost all of "Need To". And most importantly, the gregorian chant-sounding intro to "Daddy". But, the sad thing is that the songs end up getting too complicated for their own good. And that's a strange way to put it. But at the time none of the musicians in this band were especially talented, and they try really hard to sound like they're talented. Which means that the songs took too long for them to learn to play and they didn't pay any attention after they recorded it. The songs get bogged down by very poor production, and some might say that adds charm to the music. Sure, I might say, it adds charm in the same way that B-Movies are charming. But this is a major label for christ-sakes. This sounds like a demo!

However, there is a bright side to this record. "Shoots and Ladders" is by far the best song here. It's the cleanest song, it's melodic, it's original. And yes. I said "original" sure it might have childrens songs as the lyrics, but the slap bass sounds in place with the guitars, and don't mention those bagpipes! They sound phenomenal! I have always liked this song, even in high school, when I didn't listen to this band, cause all the asshole stoners loved them. But there are clever melodic ideas in this song, and it's a good way to see where the band would be heading especially around "Untouchables"

Oh yeah, spoiler alert!




Recent reviews by this author
Evanescence EvanescenceThey Might Be Giants Join Us
Ween 12 Golden Country GreatsDir En Grey MACABRE
Ween The PodWeen Chocolate and Cheese
user ratings (2548)
3.8
excellent
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
ConsciousLife
April 15th 2010


121 Comments


Ball Tongue shocked me when I was a kid

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
April 15th 2010


32292 Comments


Nice soundoff

That first paragraph needs to go

Almost every song on here DOES have parts that are genuinely interesting and engaging to the listener, whether it be the kickass metal intro to "Ball Tongue", the catchy at-the-time-original chorus of "Clown", the Grunginess of almost all of "Need To". And most importantly, the gregorian chant-sounding intro to "Daddy".

That paragraph kinda contradicts your rating
But, the sad thing is that the songs end up getting too complicated for their own good.

Really??

Yotimi
April 15th 2010


7597 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This album still kicks ass for nostalgia's sake. The lyrics are really bad though. And this is no way complicated.

Willie
Moderator
April 15th 2010


18809 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

But, the sad thing is that the songs end up getting too complicated for their own good.
... and with that you fail ;)

Digging: Make Them Suffer - How to Survive a Funeral

Emim
April 15th 2010


28494 Comments


I think I threw up a little in my mouth.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
April 15th 2010


32292 Comments


Reminds me of that Coheed review from yesterday

Baphomet
April 15th 2010


7364 Comments


God this review is corny.... and it's not only a bad pun!

KILL
April 15th 2010


81241 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

best korn album

XulOnerom
April 15th 2010


1818 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

But, the sad thing is that the songs end up getting too complicated for their own good.




the gregorian chant-sounding intro to "Daddy"




at the time none of the musicians in this band were especially talented, and they try really hard to sound like they're talented




the songs took too long for them to learn to play and they didn't pay any attention after they recorded it




The songs get bogged down by very poor production




[Shoots and Ladders] It's (sic) the cleanest song




What the fuck are you talking about???



bloozclooz
April 15th 2010


1770 Comments


whoa review got blasted

Thor
April 15th 2010


10284 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

album is still fun as hell



review sucks

druglesshippie
April 15th 2010


182 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

"whoa review got blasted"



I knew it would get blasted which is why I wore laser-proof armor, cause that's how I roll.

Powerban
April 15th 2010


2383 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

You should take drugs.

druglesshippie
April 15th 2010


182 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

I don't see the point, people who take drugs are boring.

Meatplow
April 15th 2010


5524 Comments


Awful album, shocking review.

druglesshippie
April 15th 2010


182 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

"Awful album, shocking review."



How is it shocking? It reads exactly as it was written, the product of an all-nighter of writing shitty music. And then Blind came up on shuffle, I didn't know any better, so I wrote a couple paragraphs about it and threw it up. LIKE VOMIT

Powerban
April 15th 2010


2383 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I think he meant bad review.



Learn to use the soundoff button and trim the crap out of this. This isn't a review at all.

druglesshippie
April 15th 2010


182 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

I think....that....I'm not gonna do that.

O.J. Simpson
April 15th 2010


408 Comments


sucks as much as foxxxy?

Emim
April 15th 2010


28494 Comments


^Let's not get carried away now.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy