36 Crazyfists
A Snow Capped Romance


4.0
excellent

Review

by Confessed2005 USER (97 Reviews)
September 12th, 2005 | 53 replies


Release Date: 2004 | Tracklist


As nobody had actually done a review for an album by '36 Crazyfists', I have taken it upon myself to be the first to provide such a review. This album is definitely a worthwhile addition to many a music fan's collection. So, here is my review and I hope you enjoy reading it.

What Is Good About The Album"

This album only cost me a mere seven pounds and I can safely say it is worth every penny in terms of quality. There are quite a few very strong tracks here. The first thing that struck me is how well the singer can vary his voice. At times, he sounds similar to Lost Prophtes singer and at other times (especially when he screams) Matt Davies from 'Funeral For A Friend'. The best songs on this album are mostly singles in fact. At The End Of August, The Heart And The Shape, Bloodwork, Skin And Atmosphere and Cure Eclipse which is definitely one of the heavier songs on th album. The album has been mixed by Andy Sneap so the sound has excellent clarity and also crisp sound overall. The guitrs sound excellent and the bass is also prominent in nearly all the tracks which is a nice change. There is a nice collection of songs here and they range from melodic to brutally heavy.

What Is Not So Good About The Album"

Call me a metalhead but i was a little pissed to discover that there were no solos on this album. The album would definitely benefit from them. Overall, the guitar parts are very simplistic and easy to play yet they fit the song well and provide good brutality. The lyrical content of the album is pretty average in comparison to their previous attempt 'Bitterness The Star' but I guess that is a matter of opinion. Also, the sixth track , 'Song For The Fishermen' is just so goddamn pointless. It really does rile me. Also, some may be put off slightly by some songs which contain repetitive vocals. Other than that, this album is pretty solid.

Why Buy"

Well, if not for the three singles, then just because it is a very solid album, with fairly good songwriting and some catchy tunes. If you do see this then it is recommended that you buy because you are likely to enjoy the first half of the album if nothing else. And that is not too shabby.

Hope you found this review enlightening. Comments very much welcome.

Track Ratings

At The End Of August 5/5
The Heart And The Shape 5/5
Bloodwork 5/5
Kenai 4/4
Skin And Atmosphere 5/5
Song For The Fisherman 3/5
With Nothing Underneath 4/5
Destroy The Map 4.5/5
Installing The Catheter 4/5
Cure Eclipse 5/5
Waterhaul 3.5/5



Recent reviews by this author
Tomb Mold Planetary ClairvoyancePelican Nighttime Stories
Swallow the Ocean Swallow the OceanLurid Panacea The Insidious Poisons
Nirvana In Utero (Deluxe Edition)Nirvana Bleach
user ratings (546)
Chart.
3.9
excellent
other reviews of this album
craigy2 (3.5)
...

ThePalestMexican (4.5)
Jackie Chan would be proud...

gravediggerfuneral (5)
In the end, A snow capped romance is a classic American metalcore album, in the same ranks with Kill...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Toaster
September 12th 2005


343 Comments


What is this band like? From your review it seems like screamo, but I can't be sure. I like your review; the format is pretty original.

Apathy
September 12th 2005


645 Comments


Comparable to Trivium, you say....?

*Strokes chin*

Apathy
September 12th 2005


645 Comments


Sigh. I downloaded "Bloodwork", and it is nu-metal, from what I heard. Just like old DevilDriver or something like that.

Megalomaniac347
September 12th 2005


2 Comments


Has anyone ever heard of reveille

ozzfest05
September 12th 2005


1 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

i dont know about this review one of their best tracks is destroy the map, its really evolved compared to some of their other ones, who ever at the top said screamo not even close, their a whole new style of music comparable to no one get it right

CushMG15
October 10th 2005


1810 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yea, I've heard of Reveille...and I enjoy them. But 36 crazyfists ain't rap-metal.



I would probably consider 36 crazyfists nu-metal, although its some of the most interesting nu-metal I've heard. The vocalist is rather unique.



And "Song for the fisherman" is a track i find rather enjoyable. The album is a tribute to Alaska, which is where they're from, and the imagery in that song really gets that across.



Regradless, thats my opinion and your review was good.

Cravinov13
October 27th 2005


3854 Comments


I heard Bloodwork and was greatly pleased.

Storm In A Teacup
October 27th 2005


26603 Comments


I've heard something from them on MetalChoiceMusic, but I don't know what. Whatever it was, I liked it.

Arucard
October 27th 2005


581 Comments


Great album. My faverouite tracks are At The End Of August and Destroy the map.

Good, concise review.

4/5.

Apathy
October 28th 2005


645 Comments


Eh, I'll try these guys again.

EDIT: You gave one song 4/4.This Message Edited On 10.28.05

incubus62086
October 29th 2005


147 Comments


very good cd, At The End Of August and Kenai are stunning

gaslight
January 17th 2006


46 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Good to see someone has reviewed these guys. 36 Crazyfists are a great band, and this is a very solid album. I'm not sure what the singles from it where, but in my opinion the strongest track is Skin & Atmosphere. Others such as Destroy The Map, Installing The Catheter, At The End Of August and Bloodwork are typical Crazyfists songs. And then you have Song For The Fishermen, which is a nice break in the pacing (the band had a similar track, Left Hand Charity on their previous album).

This is an album and band with a lot of energy, Brock's vocals have a pretty unique sound as well, which helps them stand apart from their peers in a genre that can become quite samey.

Eagerly awaiting their third album, which will hopefully be out this year.This Message Edited On 01.17.06

oiweufa
February 7th 2006


1 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

36 crazyfists is fucking amazing. the raw intensity and power behind all their music is phenomenol (sp?). the talent of the band is something of its own. its very unique. a mixture of many different things to make its own sound. thats what makes them....well....them. to be able to understand what they sound like you just gotta listen to them. and honestly, i dont think you can get enough....i know i cant. and i too am waiting eagerly for their third cd. i know it'll hold true to their previous two.

Drunken Viking
February 28th 2006


1023 Comments


I like this album a bunch. Bloodwork is the Shit.

eternalwinter06
March 31st 2006


3 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

the best songs for me in this album were "skin and atmosphere" and "destroy the map"

pattern_recognition
April 24th 2006


950 Comments


They're a really hard band to pin down. Their sound has elements of nu-metal coupled with melodic choruses, a technique that's become the norm these days, but was quite a bit different when this and their first album came out.
I used to think this was a boring album, but I dug it out the other day, and I was suprised at how much I like it. At The End Of August, Bloodwork, The Heart And The Shape, Skin And Atmosphere, Installing The Catheter and Cure Eclipse are all really enjoyable, well-written songs, IMO.
Those of you looking for an idea of the band, DL either Bloodwork, or Slit Wrist Theory (off their first album).
Oh, sweet artwork too. I'm really looking forward to their new album now.

pattern_recognition
April 24th 2006


950 Comments


And Destroy The Map rules...forgot to mention it...

pattern_recognition
April 24th 2006


950 Comments


It's one of their best songs, so, er, go listen to it. Yeah, I command you.

Confessed2005
April 25th 2006


4762 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I am still surprised nobody has reviewed 'Bitterness The Star'. Judging from what I have heard it may well be better than this. Seems there has been a surge of comments on this review! But nobody seems to ever vote whether the review was helpful or not oh well.

Digging: Tomb Mold - Planetary Clairvoyance

mentalpplrock
June 10th 2006


1 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

i frickin love this album. enough said.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy