Acrassicauda
Only the Dead See the End of the War


4.0
excellent

Review

by Kazmarov USER (4 Reviews)
March 9th, 2010 | 16 replies


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist

Review Summary: After being embraced for their terrific story of perseverance, ex-Iraqi metal band Acrassicauda can finally be lauded for something else- their formidable metal chops.

It's always nice when beautiful stories come together full-circle. First profiled in the documentary Heavy Metal in Baghdad a couple years back, Acrassicauda is an Iraqi metal act that survived Saddam, the American invasion and insurgency only to finally get out and settle in Istanbul. From this background of war and fire comes the alternatively fiery and morose Only the Dead See the End of the War.

The four songs fall into roles. The into and outro tracks "The Unknown" and "Massacre," are much the same embracing a metalcore-progressive hybrid with shifting tones, styles and moods. "The Unknown" is more driving and harsh- if combines the galloping drums of 1980's Metallica with some pure blasts of sound more at home with the latest Fear Factory release. However, it does quiet down and we get to hear the lead vocalist Faisal rip into some positively demonic lyricism. The verses are bridged well with double bass and machine gun lyrics- altogether an immensely mature song for a band with no full albums to its credit.

"Message from Baghdad" is a Trivium song, simple as that. However, I rather liked it more than when Trivium does it. The riffs were closer packed, the vocals melded better, and the deeper drums got some force behind the drive of this firebrand of a song.

"Garden of Stones" and "Massacre" is where the theme of the album is kept- death, and the spirit world. "Garden," the single off of this EP, is both their bleakest and most creative work. The vocals are deep and far-off, ghostly. In addition there are some notable experiments with metal form- a guitar solo that replicates the piercing sound of traditional Middle Eastern string instruments, and then a bombs-away finish complete with tribal drumming overlaying the normal band sound.

"Massacre" finishes with an ethereal air, though long vocal interludes and a droning sound make it feel a bit too traditional a finish- plenty of bands in the genre do the same. However, Faisal comes up big again with some chilling vocals- the lyrics are standard, if heartfelt dialogues on war and pain, but the tones he hits are sublime.

This is a professional, precise work by a band with drive and vision. Their story may be astonishing, but do not let that detract from their music; they have produced a mature work with many unique elements.

EDIT: Made longer.


user ratings (27)
Chart.
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Jips
March 9th 2010


1146 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

nice review...



heavy Metal in Baghdad was pretty cool... been wishing good things for this band...



will listen soon...

SCREAM!
March 9th 2010


15754 Comments


Good short review. Their demo showed potential so ill be looking into this

bloozclooz
March 9th 2010


1770 Comments


short...

Wizard
March 9th 2010


20201 Comments


I loved the documentary. Need to check this out. Review could use a bit more work.

Kazmarov
March 9th 2010


9 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I wasn't sure what else to write. This is my first Sputnik review, and I haven't written anything full-scale in about a year. It's not that complicated an album, that's actually one of the admirable qualities of it- it's progressive without being pretentious.

pizzamachine
March 9th 2010


13871 Comments


For a first review it's not bad, but it's also a bit short. On a random note: gnarly album, the guitars are setting my mind on fire!

bloozclooz
March 9th 2010


1770 Comments


that's actually one of the admirable qualities of it- it's progressive without being pretentious.

that's the kind of stuff you should put in your review

hastapura
March 9th 2010


56 Comments


Ugh don't get started with 'pretentious' so early...one of the laziest things you could possibly say in a review, especially when left unexplained.

Fine review though. Short, but it *is* an EP, so let's call it efficient.

HenchmanOfSanta
March 9th 2010


1994 Comments


Was this band also in the book "Heavy Metal Islam"? Their name is familiar.

Kazmarov
March 9th 2010


9 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm not sure Henchman, but given that they are part of a very small metal culture, I wouldn't be surprised.



Also, in response to comments I've expanded my thoughts on the album to add some heft.

luci
March 10th 2010


10114 Comments


band should tour with Cobalt, bet they'd have interesting conversations backstage

Wizard
March 10th 2010


20201 Comments


Good call^^^^. Would be an awesome show too.

metal form- a

Space between 'form' and '-'. I've also noticed you do this quite a bit throughout the review. The proper formatting is a space before and after unless you're loosely putting two words together. Ie. one-two knockout. Otherwise, good job expanding your ideas. Since this is an E.P. and you've described it well, the length is fine. Pos'!

frozendilemma
March 11th 2010


6 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

well I really lovde their song Garden of Stones.The solo is so brilliant and the start is also epic.

Your review was small but since it was an EP and you touched all the songs.So it was nicely done.This band has immense talent but its raw and its great to see a pro like Alex Scolnick recognizing that fact and took a step to polish it since there `s no question about their heart.

The band has made a superb start to their journey even though they are playing for some time now but now they are in the big joint and they`ll be performing with some big names like Cannibal Corpse and Voivod.

Good Luck for them...and not a bad review either.So its a win win I think

blkmtl
March 11th 2010


12 Comments


lol i heard about this band on sirius liquid metal yesterday

Ulsufyring
March 12th 2010


1748 Comments



that's actually one of the admirable qualities of it- it's progressive without being pretentious.

that's the kind of stuff you should put in your review

PLEASE stop giving advice

JizzInMyPants
June 14th 2010


2866 Comments


watching part of the documentary of these guys....then found out that they just played in atlanta.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy