YOB
The Great Cessation


3.5
great

Review

by HenchmanOfSanta USER (32 Reviews)
December 5th, 2009 | 35 replies


Release Date: 2009 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The heaviest album of the year, but sometimes a little too meandering.

I'm no doom metal afficionado, but I appreciate a slow, crushing riff when I hear one. And what serious metal fan doesn't like a good thick atmosphere every now and again" On the reunited YOB's latest album, The Great Cessation, the Oregonians execute those two elements well, but without a whole lot else.

YOB is:
Mike Scheidt - Guitar/vocals
Aaron Reiseberg - Bass
Travis Foster - Drums

Cessation is only five tracks long, but these add up to over an hour of music. This works extremely well for more varied bands, but in a genre like doom metal, it can be very hit or miss. The first two songs, "Burning the Altar" and "The Lie That is Sin," are the hits. "Burning the Altar" starts with a very slow, heavy build-up, before vocalist Mike Scheidt makes his presence known with a distorted roar--you may commence headbanging. "The Lie That is Sin" has a nice little clean guitar section in the beginning, before the same YOB formula is implemented. These may not sound like the greatest descriptions, but the songs will satiate any doom fan's appetite.

Middle track "Silence of Heaven" is the biggest problem here. The middle track on an album is often a great spot to place your best track, as both an outstanding centerpiece and a transition between halves. Here, we merely get stagnation. The 10-minutes of "Heaven" are pure blandness, with no build-up and no crescendo, just a couple of generic doom riffs.

The album picks up again with "Breathing From the Shallows," which at seven-and-a-half minutes, is the perfect length for this type of music. The song makes excellent use of suffocating atmosphere (fitting the title and the lyrics), as well as the contrast between Scheidt's absurdly heavy growls and soaring (albeit hard to understand) clean vocals. From the shortest track, we transition to the longest song, the 20-minute title track. This song is essentially split into two halves: the lighter, climbing first ten minutes, and the back-breaking second ten. Summarizing the entire album in a song that takes up one fifth of it, The Great Cessation is the prototypical doom metal closer, although it isn't quite as strong as it should be.

Overall, the unrelenting heaviness and riffs of the album far outweigh any of the cons. It's just a little difficult to maintain focus. This is not the best album of the year, but if you just want some atmosphere or a solid head-banging (or -nodding, for we more reserved types), you will not do any better in 2009.



Recent reviews by this author
Electric Wizard DopethroneEntombed Left Hand Path
Dead Kennedys Fresh Fruit for Rotting VegetablesNeil Young After the Gold Rush
Lucifer's Friend Lucifer's FriendThe Allman Brothers Band Idlewild South
user ratings (148)
Chart.
3.9
excellent
other reviews of this album
Voivod STAFF (4.5)
In their return, Yob describe the birth of a gigantic black hole in terms of their extreme noise/doo...


Comments:Add a Comment 
BallsToTheWall
December 5th 2009


49494 Comments


TIOM rules but never got around to checking this out. I will. At some point, good review.

Digging: Twin Temple - Twin Temple (Bring You Their Signature Sound....

Wizard
December 5th 2009


20209 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Balls, this is really, really good. I also liked the review but I feel it's a bit better than you make it out to be. I can't argue with opinions though so have a pos' for reviewing something that the kids on this site can dig into rather than most of the poo metal that finds its way around here.

Mendigo
December 5th 2009


2299 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Burning the Altar is one of the best Doom Metal tracks I know. The rest is nice.

Zoo
December 5th 2009


3759 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is in my top 10 for the year so naturally I disagree with the rating, but it was a good review otherwise. ;)

HenchmanOfSanta
December 5th 2009


1994 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah, I'm still the only non-4.5 so far.

Wizard
December 5th 2009


20209 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Just wanted to extend the comment from yours above Zoo, I find it rather retarded that all of these people are posting their top 2009 for music this year when I can 100% guarantee you that most of them haven't heard this or even 90% of the GOOD metal that's come out. I think I will wait a month or two before releasing my list, just so I can say that I was thorough with my picks. I know for a fact Zoo that you have a thorough understanding of what's happened in metal this year, but most of these little pukes around here....jeezzzz!

Relinquished
December 5th 2009


39392 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

you talkin about me?

Wizard
December 5th 2009


20209 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

If you released a best of for 2009, than yes!

FistfulOfSteel
December 5th 2009


895 Comments


album rules, straight up one of the top of the year imo

Zoo
December 5th 2009


3759 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah wiz, my list isn't nearly done yet. I have a rough placement for a lot of the albums I've heard, but my top 100 is still changing. Kind of sucks that I had to leave out so many , as there's at least 60 albums that deserve to be on it but won't. As it stands right now my top 15 are all 4.5's, then everything after that is a 4 until around 81, and then 81-100 are the few 3.5's that I couldn't leave out. There's still a few key releases I'm expecting to come out before the end of the year that might completely alter my top 20 or so, leaving me no choice but to wait anyway.

SteelErectedb4you8er
December 6th 2009


2620 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I think is fine to make lists of what your favorites have been so far this year. I mean, we have less than a month for more things to come out. And it takes time to make a list on what has impacted you the most. So, some have already made up their minds. Until then, this is a great comeback record for YOB. Love it.

Wizard
December 6th 2009


20209 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

There's still a few key releases I'm expecting to come out before the end of the year that might completely alter my top 20 or so, leaving me no choice but to wait anyway.



And this is my main argument for all the kids with ADD.



I mean, we have less than a month for more things to come out. And it takes time to make a list on what has impacted you the most. So, some have already made up their minds.



And you kids continue to dig holes.





SteelErectedb4you8er
January 11th 2010


2620 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Burning the Altar" and "The Great Cessation" are such great songs. I am just glad YOB is back.

rasputin
January 11th 2010


14968 Comments


i thought this was pretty boring

SteelErectedb4you8er
January 11th 2010


2620 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Do you like any of Yob's material?

rasputin
January 11th 2010


14968 Comments


i haven't heard any of their earlier albums

SteelErectedb4you8er
January 11th 2010


2620 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ah, well, I am a huge fan of the Illusion of Motion and the Unreal Never Lived. But their heavier stuff is found in Catharsis. I don't know, but I love these guys maybe try out Catharsis.

brutebeard
September 2nd 2010


1655 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Devastating! Esp. Burning the Altar

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
September 10th 2010


8229 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

This is so awesome... That opening riff in "Burning the Altar" OMG........................



damn, no record dealer in Hellas has brought it in yet.



well written review, apart from this paragraph...



Middle track "Silence of Heaven" is the biggest problem here. The middle track on an album is often a great spot to place your best track, as both an outstanding centerpiece and a transition between halves. Here, we merely get stagnation. The 10-minutes of "Heaven" are pure blandness, with no build-up and no crescendo, just a couple of generic doom riffs.



You totally missed the essence of the song my friend.



This is pure noise/doom bliss.



brutebeard
September 10th 2010


1655 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"You totally missed the essence of the song my friend.

This is pure noise/doom bliss."



YES!





You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy