Wolfmother
Cosmic Egg


4.0
excellent

Review

by cubbzor USER (2 Reviews)
November 24th, 2009 | 21 replies


Release Date: 2009 | Tracklist


Two parts Black Sabbath, one part AC/DC, one part Led Zeppelin.

Four years after the release of their self-titled debut album, Wolfmother's Cosmic Egg is an impressive sophomore album. Between their first album and Cosmic Egg, the band's original lineup imploded with the departure of the band's rhythm section, leaving frontman Andrew Stockdale alone at the helm. After promising fans another album, Stockdale recruited three members, including another guitarist. Fans were both worried and skeptical of how the new band would measure with the old. They don't need to worry anymore

Though their revival-hard rock sound isn't exactly new, Cosmic Egg is a powerful album that should be put on the same level as any other great album of the genre. There are the loud power-chord driven songs, like California Queen and New Moon Rising, along with the right amount of lighter, more up-tempo ones, like White Feather and Far Away.

It's been a while since there has been rock group that can maintain a 1960's/70's sound without being compared to past legends. Though at times Stockdale channels other rock artists like Angus Young and Robert Plant, the band still manages to thrill the listener with a pure-hard rock vigor. With another guitarist, this album feels more full than their debut.

Cosmic Egg held my attention for course of the entire album, and I enjoyed every minute of it.


user ratings (394)
3
good
other reviews of this album
CrisStyles (3)
New lineup, same Wolfmother...

Douglas (2)
Cosmic Fail...

Pagepage251 (4)
Out of the frying pan, into the fire....


Comments:Add a Comment 
Mordecai.
November 24th 2009


8388 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

review sucks, but not as much as the album

Nagrarok
November 24th 2009


8599 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Rather bad review. I don't think you really know how you should write one.

Douchebag
November 24th 2009


3626 Comments


I still haven't heard this, and I loved the first album back in the day.

DiceMan
November 24th 2009


7067 Comments


Looks like more of a soundoff than a review. Know what I'm sayin? But still, it needs some work bro.

ScorpionStan
November 25th 2009


1908 Comments


i gave it a pos. i've seen a lot worse.

just go into more detail next time.

deathmetal101
November 25th 2009


300 Comments


^ please?^

ScorpionStan
November 25th 2009


1908 Comments


^ Yes i'm serious, get over it. What he wrote here was very well-written, there just isn't enough writing there. It's not long enough. But what IS there is quite eloquent.

Douglas
November 25th 2009


9291 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

Review needs more words about what the music is like as:



"There are the loud power-chord driven songs, like California Queen and New Moon Rising, along with the right amount of lighter, more up-tempo ones, like White Feather and Far Away."



Is really the only description of the music that I get.

Digging: Angie McMahon - Salt

ScorpionStan
November 25th 2009


1908 Comments


^ what about this:

Two parts Black Sabbath, one part AC/DC, one part Led Zeppelin.

I know that isn't describing the music technically, but 95% of people will get the general idea from just that one sentence.

Douchebag
November 25th 2009


3626 Comments


I still dunno if I should give this a listen. I mean I've got TCV for my riff driven modern rock. and i've got black sabbath acdc and zeppelin for my black sabbath acdc and zeppelin.

Mordecai.
November 25th 2009


8388 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Alligator, use whatever common sense you possess and don't, for your own sake.

Douchebag
November 25th 2009


3626 Comments


Yeah to be honest I really wanted to hear this, but now I really can't be stuffed, I've got better stuff to bother with.

Douglas
November 25th 2009


9291 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

Stan, I am not saying the review is badly written, it just needs more input.

Waior
November 25th 2009


11629 Comments


Way to go, Sputnik! 6 completely undeserved negs!

The review is honestly really lacking information, but it's not written poorly at all - just needs work. Describe the music a bit more, maybe mention a few particular songs and then hopefully you won't get slagged so much. Keep reviewing.

ScorpionStan
November 25th 2009


1908 Comments


^ agreed 110%

Doug yeah you're absolutely right. my only point was that the vote button says "was the review WELL WRITTEN?"...which it was. so it deserves no negs.

Jim
November 25th 2009


5110 Comments


why so many negs? this review is fine for the most part. i'm pos'ing to spite everyone.

Nagrarok
November 25th 2009


8599 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

He has a lot of improving to do, but since this is his second, and he clearly doesn't know where to go to yet, all those negs are undeserved.

RobotFrank
November 25th 2009


344 Comments


2 out of 9 (current) isn't fair, especially considering it's only a second review. The review is short. I've never heard the album, but I have heard that it's a cosmic fail. I still think constructive criticism would be more helpful than "this sucks" and negs. What is written here is not riddled with errors, nor is covered in I's and my's.

cubbzor: Describe the music in more detail. Read other people's reviews to get an idea on how to elaborate, if needed. Try to push your reviews closer to 500 words or more, as opposed to 250 or less. You wouldn't turn in a half a page paper in school or college. Same idea should apply here. Keep at it and don't get discouraged.

cubbzor
December 16th 2009


1 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yikes!



This was a draft of an article that was published in my high school newsmagazine. For that reason, I didn't go into as much detail as I should have, considering the age group of the demographic. Thanks for those of you who provided some constructive criticism, I'll be sure to make those fixes in the future.

Douchebag
December 16th 2009


3626 Comments


Do I wanna hear this album? I was obsessed with the first back in the day.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy