Snowing
Fuck Your Emotional Bullshit


5.0
classic

Review

by Comatorium. USER (47 Reviews)
October 22nd, 2009 | 484 replies


Release Date: 2009 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Stop procrastinating. You've heard of this band, listen to them already.

Everyone has heard of Snowing in passing, and most likely heard that they're good. Most of these people have also passed up downloading or buying this EP because this band is obscure, the EP is badly produced, and above all, Snowing are as emo as a band can get. But that's a good thing. Here's your wake-up call, Sputnik: Listen to this. Stream it, steal, buy it, it doesn't matter, just listen to it. *** Your Emotional Bull*** is everything an emo album should be. This EP is nothing short of amazing, with raw emotion and pure talent on display. Spanning a small five tracks, Snowing has managed to put together a collection of songs that will stick with those who give them the time.

The songs span all different types of subjects, from bitter ex-lovers (Sam Rudich), deviant bisexual behavior (Important Things), the vices we adopt as we grow up (Pump Fake), dying alongside a loved one (Kirk Cameron Crowe), and screaming At The Drive-In in the car (Methuselah Rookie Card). The lyrics are concise, to the point, and blatant. In a nutshell, they're damn good.

All the songs clock in at around two and a half minutes, which plays out to be the perfect length for short bursts of aggression and emotion. The music itself is a cross between pop punk and screamo, and the guitars are dynamic and varied, playing off of each other with riffs from the rhythm section and tremolo picking from the lead. The drums are very well done for such a young band, and the bass is even occasionally audible. The vocals are the most interesting part, and while you might need to read along once or twice to understand them, they're incredible. By no means is this guy a world class singer, but perhaps that's where the undeniable charm comes from, as he conveys his emotions perfectly.

So Sputnik, I know you've heard of Snowing. Do yourselves an enormous favor and listen to this. You wont regret it.



Recent reviews by this author
Frank Turner Positive Songs for Negative PeopleSenses Fail Pull the Thorns from Your Heart
Haste the Day CowardGodspeed You! Black Emperor 'Asunder, Sweet and Other Distress'
Lakota De Kai Big Dad WolfAJJ Knife Man
user ratings (543)
Chart.
3.9
excellent
other reviews of this album
Brady Hayes (4)
Is less more?...

SeaAnemone (3.5)
"what the fuck, disco ball."...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Comatorium.
October 22nd 2009


4844 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Short review for a fantastic short EP. I saw there was no full review up for this, which was total blasphemy.



So here.

SnackaryBinx
October 22nd 2009


2309 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

man i was gonna write a review for this after my first class.



not a 5 though.

Phantom
October 22nd 2009


8985 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

of all the people to write a review for this

BallsToTheWall
October 22nd 2009


48999 Comments


Awesome album title. Might check this out. Short but decent review.

Digging: Protector - Golem

Comatorium.
October 22nd 2009


4844 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

There isnt much to say about this other than its really good. I described pretty much everything there is to about it. You should get it, the end.

SnackaryBinx
October 22nd 2009


2309 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

you really didn't. the guitars aren't pop-punk sounding, at all.

Comatorium.
October 22nd 2009


4844 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

They kinda are.

Ulsufyring
October 22nd 2009


1748 Comments


SMACKARY JINX IS BACK

BallsToTheWall
October 22nd 2009


48999 Comments


For a 5 rating one would expect a little more detail.

Comatorium.
October 22nd 2009


4844 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Besides, i said the sound as a whole is a cross between pop punk and screamo, not that the guitars themselves sounded like that. I think i pretty accurately described the guitars.

CompanionCube
October 22nd 2009


977 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

lol i hope this gets 5 million negs like all your other reviews

SnackaryBinx
October 22nd 2009


2309 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

there honestly isn't much to describe Balls. Every song follows the same formula of mid-western emo twinky-twankly guitars of any Kinsella project, with more 'screamo' like vocals. it's only 5 songs long and realtively short though so it doesn't get boring.

Comatorium.
October 22nd 2009


4844 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

As for the detail, the album itself is extremely concise and to the point, it doesnt beat around the bush, and all the songs follow the same format, but it works perfectly. I might lower this to a 4.5 because of the production quality, as it could be viewed as detracting from the sound, but i personally see it as part of the charm.

Comatorium.
October 22nd 2009


4844 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeh what Binx said.

Phantom
October 22nd 2009


8985 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

[IMG]http://i37.tinypic.com/2d7g0lg.jpg[/IMG]

BallsToTheWall
October 22nd 2009


48999 Comments


My mistake I didnt see how few songs there were. Uh.. I retract my previous statements. Needs moar pokemon avatar.

Comatorium.
October 22nd 2009


4844 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Hahah.

Ulsufyring
October 22nd 2009


1748 Comments


i might have to get in on this pokemon fun

Comatorium.
October 22nd 2009


4844 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i would if i didnt love my avatar already.

Ulsufyring
October 22nd 2009


1748 Comments


AW YEAH RED GYARADOS IN DA HOUSE BIT CHEZ



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy