Paradise Lost
One Second


4.0
excellent

Review

by Buccaneer USER (3 Reviews)
October 14th, 2009 | 58 replies


Release Date: 1997 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Ditching their Death/Doom sound, Paradise Lost welcomes a new approach, with their first foray into Gothic Pop/Rock territory.

Paradise Lost were considered the pioneers of the Death/Doom genre. Forming in 1988, in a little town called Halifax, a town famous only for its industrial mills and a carpet factory; it comes to no surprise that Paradise Lost were renowned for their melancholy and gloomy compositions. The town could be paralleled to their early sound; dark, murky and even depressing. The aging architecture from the 12th Century, which are prominent in Halifax, are reflected in their earlier works, such as the album Gothic - which many consider to have established the Gothic Metal genre. Basically, Paradise Lost were the living symbol, a symbol that represents the damning monotony that was prevalent in the town. But in 1997 after their seminal works, Icon and Draconian Times, they decided not to opt for the direction that helped them flourish. Instead of following their home-town’s backward tradition, they took away the aggressiveness found in their previous albums and embraced a more pop approach.

With the release of One Second, it had in effect ended the Gothic metal era in the band’s history at this point, and with this release, it saw the band renovate their sound completely. Gone are the Hetfield-esque vocals and the raw abrasive guitar work, and instead, Paradise Lost incorporates a heavily synthesised sound, reminiscent to that of the Depeche Mode. The guitar still plays a heavy role in the band’s music, but they aren’t the focal point anymore and they now provide more room for some superb keyboard melodies. The keyboard/synthesisers are the key new aspect to the band’s new sound, which is evidenced right from the beginning, with the opening title track. What fans may also notice is that Nick Holmes, previously known for his influential guttural vocals and then his James Hetfield impersonations, has now opted for a new cleaner approach. Songs like “Say Just Words” displays his new baritone vocal line and compliments the new sound superbly.

Despite all this change, Paradise Lost have managed to maintain their song-writing abilities to a very high standard, creating new memorable melodies whilst also preserving the gloom found in their previous releases. Nick’s transformation is a remarkable highlight to the album, backed up by solid instrumentation by Greg Mackintosh and co. The keyboards/synths are used appropriately and never become tedious to listen to, a trait that can be common in most synthesised gothic music. Offering highlights such as the slow, yet poignant “Disappear” to the aforementioned “Say Just Words” which houses a great chugging guitar riff whilst also reflecting Paradise Lost’s capability of creating memorable choruses – this is without question, a successful experiment and one that just brims with quality. Though, fans who are only accustomed with their previous works may be wary of picking this up – although there is no denying the lasting appeal of this record once they disregard their previous presumptions.


user ratings (300)
Chart.
3.6
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Buccaneer
October 14th 2009


742 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I dont know about this review...was kinda rushed.



Any criticism is appreciated.

Willie
Moderator
October 14th 2009


17623 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

The review isn't bad and this era of PL needed a review anyway. I don't like this album as much as Host, though. This album just doesn't seem as developed.

Buccaneer
October 14th 2009


742 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, I was planning on reviewing their other albums, but my reviewing skills are a little rusty.



I preferred this one to Host - it just feels more vibrant. Host was a bit slow and solemn for me, though I have grown to enjoy it.

Willie
Moderator
October 15th 2009


17623 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Well with as much attention as PL reviews usually get, this is kind of a surprise. Yeah, it's not metal but I figured there'd at least be a few people posting to express their dislike of this album. Oh well, maybe Host will be a better album to review.

Buccaneer
October 19th 2009


742 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It's a shame this went unnoticed. Porbably because it isnt a well-known album reviewed by a unknown user.



I dont know if I'll review Host or not, or any album for that matter. Dont have much time tbh =



Thanks for the pos anyways

Willie
Moderator
October 19th 2009


17623 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Well, if you find yourself with some free time I'm sure Host will still be sitting without a review (even if I'm the only one that notices).

omgraptors
March 28th 2011


843 Comments


amazing rock album

DutchDevotee
February 6th 2012


47 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Not to found of metal myself, but ths PL album is excellent. Perhaps the whole Depeche Mode link is what does it for me ;-)

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
February 6th 2012


8285 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

(even if I'm the only one that notices)



no you're not ;-)

Digging: Veiled (DE) - In Blinding Presence

Dreamflight
February 6th 2012


1761 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It's a great album for sure. Great classics like title track and Say Just Words, but also amazing songs: Lydia, Disappear, Another Day and Sane.

Vicariously
February 7th 2012


35 Comments


Yeah, this is pretty good. Not a fan of host though...

Willie
Moderator
February 7th 2012


17623 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

What didn't you like about Host?

Shuyin
February 7th 2012


13462 Comments


such a good band

Digging: Erdve - Vaitojimas

TheNotrap
April 2nd 2012


10226 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Band deserves credit for exploring new territories with One Second.

Say Just Words is one of their best songs.

Digging: Allegaeon - Apoptosis

NeroCorleone80
January 25th 2014


34562 Comments


This album is actually pretty good once you get past the fact it isnt like Draconian Times.

VermTheInquisitor
January 25th 2014


489 Comments


Good but a letdown compared with icon and draconian times

manosg
Staff Reviewer
January 25th 2014


11601 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

^Exactly.

NeroCorleone80
January 25th 2014


34562 Comments


Host was a much bigger letdown

manosg
Staff Reviewer
January 25th 2014


11601 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

Oh definitely. Host is where they lost most of their fans.

NeroCorleone80
January 25th 2014


34562 Comments


Even their latest albums I dont enjoy that much, even though they've gone back to the Icon/Draconian Times style. They just sound like watered down versions of those albums and lack the energy they had.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy