Enya
The Memory of Trees


5.0
classic

Review

by Eclectic USER (42 Reviews)
October 11th, 2009 | 58 replies


Release Date: 1995 | Tracklist

Review Summary: This is the kind of album you put children to sleep with, that doesn’t make it bad, its just what it is.

The easiest way to describe this album is by stating a fact. When I was a small child my mother would put this album on to get me to go to sleep. Not because it’s boring, but because it’s soothingly beautiful. With its layered vocals (Enya does all the vocals herself), light synth lines, and gorgeous orchestral compositions. There’s not a bad song on here, every single one of them is superbly crafted, produced to perfection so it’s almost impossible to tell its all just Enya. And she carries it too; through all 11 tracks she brings a beauty and passion to her work that is rarely seen in modern music.

From the opener “The Memory Of Trees”, which begins with a quiet synth and builds into an ever widening landscape of instruments, Enya creates a mood that remains unbroken throughout. That of a soothing, but uplifting land, which feels as much yours as it does hers. And the more upbeat tracks (Anywhere Is, On My Way Home) fit this nicely, the former in particular upstanding as one of my favourite songs of all time, with its relatable lyrics that lift the spirit wondrously.

“The turn I have just taken
The turn that I was making
I might be just beginning
I might be near the end”

And those are just the English ones; the Latin translations offer an even deeper perspective. The casual listener will shrug off lines like “Omnem crede diem tibi diluxisse supremum” but getting the translation shows another layer to an album that prides itself on having so much going on that it takes several listens to absorb it all, and even then retains the same warmth as the first time. The line is actually a quote from an ancient Roman text (Horace’s Epistle) and, literally translated, says “Believe that each day that breaks is the last”. There’s more, but in an effort to be concise I will avoid mentioning it here.

Skillfully produced, with outstandingly beautiful vocals and compositions, The Memory Of Trees remains as the kind of album our mother’s bought and attempted to get us to love as much as they did. It worked for me, as I find it difficult to criticize this wonderful masterpiece. Pick it up if you’re in the mood for some uplifting and soothing Celtic inspired opera.



Recent reviews by this author
Tom Waits Bad As MeNothing Rhymes With David =
Nothing Rhymes With David Double Negative, All The Way!Jebediah Kosciuszko
Cut Copy ZonoscopeToni Collette and The Finish Beautiful Awkward Pictures
user ratings (63)
Chart.
3.7
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Eclectic
October 11th 2009


3302 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Any criticism, at all, is welcome, I am planning on applying for a job as a reviewer soon (not here, with a local newspaper) and need to improve my writing as much as possible.

Eclectic
October 11th 2009


3302 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I just couldn't find a reason not to give this classic status, aside from the fact that it is one of those albums that will be remembered for decades to come, i can't find many faults with it either.

Fugue
October 11th 2009


7371 Comments


Never heard of it, is it really this good?

rasputin
October 11th 2009


14968 Comments


may it beeeeee that somethiiiing sometiiiiiing laaaaa huaaaaa laaaa whaaaaaaa a loooaaaaaaaaaaaaa

Eclectic
October 11th 2009


3302 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

If you're into this kind of thing yes.



http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9h-sqcM4LCs



check that out

Fugue
October 11th 2009


7371 Comments


Critiscism-wise it's a cute little review. Gramatically it seems fine, but I'm struggling to imagine what this actually sounds like from reading it. I can tell that it's soothing opera, with great vocals (duh) but other than that I'm at a loss. So maybe a little more expansion wouldn't hurt, although if you want to write in print media you'll need to keep reviews short, so yeah you might as well not listen to my advice as all my recent reviews have been pretty huge.

fireaboveicebelow
October 11th 2009


6832 Comments


enya....mmmmmm good review, I love Amelie too btw

Eclectic
October 11th 2009


3302 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

hahaha, it is hard to understand her sometimes, but that's why she has lyrics in the album booklet, very useful, particularly for the Latin

Eclectic
October 11th 2009


3302 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Amelie = win



@Ross: yeah, figured as much. Its the issue I'm having actually, I could write pages upon pages of stuff, but it would be long and boring, so I have to cut it down. The result is a review that seems too short but is difficult to extend without over-extending

pizzamachine
October 11th 2009


14168 Comments


"but it would be long and boring"

I hate reading long reviews 'cause I get distracted easily. Since I like short reviews and I'm feeling generous, pos 4 u.

Eclectic
October 11th 2009


3302 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

haha, thanks mate

pizzamachine
October 11th 2009


14168 Comments


No prob, just listened to her Christmas album and I love it. Guess I'll listen to this then.

lobby
October 12th 2009


1251 Comments


Haven't heard this one...how does it compare to the other enya releases?


Douglas
October 12th 2009


9286 Comments


SAIL AWAY SAIL AWAY SAIL AWAY

Fugue
October 12th 2009


7371 Comments


Ross: yeah, figured as much. Its the issue I'm having actually, I could write pages upon pages of stuff, but it would be long and boring, so I have to cut it down. The result is a review that seems too short but is difficult to extend without over-extending


Yeah I kinda figured that halfway through my critiscism paragraph.

Gyromania
October 12th 2009


27186 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i've only ever heard 'only time' off of her other album, which i liked well enough.

Eclectic
October 12th 2009


3302 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@lobby: Unfortunately I can't answer that as this is the only album of hers I own, hopefully in the future that will change but anyway.

Willie
Moderator
October 12th 2009


17623 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Good review. Everyone else already touched on possible improvements. My only thing is your rating this a "5" when almost every other album she has released is better than this.

Eclectic
October 13th 2009


3302 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

In answer to that I can only look at this from the perspective of someone relatively new to Enya. This is the only album of hers I own. What would you recommend to pick up next?

qwe3
October 13th 2009


21814 Comments


the lotr chick yay



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy