Evergreen Terrace
Almost Home


4.0
excellent

Review

by intothepit83 USER (3 Reviews)
October 10th, 2009 | 14 replies


Release Date: 2009 | Tracklist

Review Summary: All in all, this album is as solid as it comes. There are very few albums that have come out this year that have captivated me as much as this one. Is this the classic I am looking for? Maybe not, but I do know that Evergreen Terrace will be ne

I've really struggled to find a "great" album this year. I love Despised Icon's new album, but it doesn't exactly knock-my-socks-off, Behemoth's "Evangelion" is great, but it follows the same formula as all of their other albums, and Devildriver's "Pray for Villains" I thought was lacking the edge that "Last Kind Words" had. So, now it's October of 2009, and I'm still searching for that classic album. Will it ever arrive"
Alas, here comes Jacksonville hardcore heroes Evergreen Terrace to save the day! "Almost Home" in my eyes, is the album that breaks the boys from Jacksonville away from all the other metalcore acts out there. Easily their best and most polished work, "Almost Home" combines the ferocity you've come to expect from them with beautiful melodies and harmonies, mostly attributed to Craig Chaney.
The album starts off with a bang and never let's up. From the moment the first riff of "Enemy Sex" hits, you know what you are in for. At times, I feel like I'm in the middle of a knockdown-dragout fight between to heavyweights in the ring. But the beautiful thing about Evergreen Terrace is they can blend huge, enormous, brutal breakdowns with such beautiful melody. With tracks like "The Letdown" and "God, Rocky is This Your Face"" you get that ET's leaving behind the melody for straight up hardcore just like on most of "Wolfbikers." Songs like "We're Always Losing Blood" and "Sending Signals" remind you of "Sincerity Is an Easy Disguise in This Business" and "Losing All Hope is Freedom."
The harsh vocals leave a little to be desired, just like Evergreen's previous albums. I find Andrew Carey to be a bit grating at times, but I can hear his voice getting better as the album goes on. His constant dry shrieks are a little rough, but you can almost hear him growling at times on the album. Besides the vocals from Carey, though, the production is very crisp and the musicianship has been stepped up a bit. There's a beautiful solo by Chaney in "Sending Signals" that makes the hair on the back of my neck(I know, disgusting) rise.


user ratings (191)
Chart.
3.6
great
other reviews of this album
Curse. (4)
Evergreen Terrace further proves why they are among the best (and fastest) with their strongest effo...


Comments:Add a Comment 
combustion07
October 10th 2009


5587 Comments


Pretty decent first review try to seperate the paragraphs next time though, I like this bands older releases but I still have to check this one out, you got me looking foward to it.

Groink
October 10th 2009


814 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Good review, I need to check this out.

intothepit83
October 10th 2009


2316 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

thank you... first one and just giving it a shot... thanks for the positive feedback, much appreciated

cvlts
October 10th 2009


9424 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

shorten up the summary and split the paragraphs. other than that, good review. love these guys.

intothepit83
October 10th 2009


2316 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

ty dantesfire10... ya, evergreen is one of my favorite.... florida boys done good

catsinflats
October 11th 2009


129 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

hey man good review, although you make reference to alot of he bands previous material, so some people (like me) who arent familiar with the bands previous work mighy still not know how the songs sound.

apart from that its all good, i like you shorter style.

BallsToTheWall
October 11th 2009


48160 Comments


This didnt appear to touch Sincerity but ill give it another shot.

Digging: Vreid - I Krig

intothepit83
October 11th 2009


2316 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

See, I like sincerity, but i felt they became a more complete band with Wolfbikers, and i think they combined everything from their previous albums on this one... thank for the comments though, i hope u do, because i believe this is their best all around album

Inveigh
October 22nd 2009


26319 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I like Wolfbiker and Sincerity, I need to check this out. Good review dude

Digging: Desolate Shrine - Deliverance From The Godless Void

accompliceofmydeath
October 22nd 2009


4615 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I definitely like Sincerity and Wolfbiker better than this. I've only listened to this a couple of times though. Perhaps it will grow on me.

Digging: Goldfinger - Hang-ups

Inveigh
October 22nd 2009


26319 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

yeah, it's probably not at the top of my "get" list, but I'll pick it up sooner or later.

intothepit83
October 25th 2009


2316 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

see, i disagree, respectfully of course... i thought sincerity was great, wolfbikers showed them maturing and growing up, and i think this one is the completion of the maturation process for this band... this album i cant stop listening to, from the first second to the last

Groink
October 25th 2009


814 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yea I agree, this is their best. Awesome stuff.

intothepit83
October 25th 2009


2316 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

it's a lil more hardcore than wolfbikers, but i think they mixed up their earlier sound with what they were trying to do with wolfbikers perfectly.... i think they are on the rite track



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy