Cage The Elephant
Cage the Elephant


5.0
classic

Review

by IamMe90 USER (3 Reviews)
August 17th, 2009 | 44 replies


Release Date: 2008 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A brilliant expression of the rage and angst that festered and thrived from the sapling grunge of the early 90s "generation x."

Cage The Elephant is a multifaceted band. They ironically don an ill-suited moniker: Cage The Elephant they may, but their music refuses to be caged by genre or label. It is not so much that Cage falls into multiple genres, but rather, Cage so seamlessly combines blues, funk, and punk stylings that they transcend genre itself: there is no way to describe Cage The Elephant's music without referring to Cage The Elephant itself, and in this we find a band that is truly deital. There is no "blues rock," there is only Cage The Elephant. "Funk Punk"" No, friend, that's the visceral joy that is Cage The Elephant. Truly, never before has a band so exuded the sweet juices of so many different musical styles while managing to retain its own distinct flavour.

The opener, "In One Ear," is primal and furious. Vocalist Matt Shultz, with aggression no doubt fueled by centuries of Jewish oppression, angrily decries the ones who stood as obstacles in his path to musical expression. "It goes In One Ear/And right out the other/People talkin' ***/They can kiss the back of my hand" he says with generation x defiance reminiscent of Kurt Cobain. In fact, Shultz, practically channeling the Godlike Cobain's spirit itself, proclaims a message that is beautiful in its convolution; he doesn't set up an extant target for his hatred. No, he just hates, from the record industry, to the social commentators, and finally to the very "crowd" he's singing for. The "stupid ***" that goes in one of Shultz's ears and out the other may be white noise, but this music certainly isn't. It's a sonic assault; it masticates the ears while paradoxically pleasuring them.

The opener is a perfect overture to a grand symphony of faux political self abrasion. The rest of the album follows suit beautifully (and brutally). From the caustic lyrics of "James Brown," which evokes a legion of indie generics, to the harsh reality of "Ain't No Rest For The Wicked," which vividly paints the musician's Mona Lisa of the hypocrisy of society, Cage The Elephant completes what it sets out to do brilliantly. It's all but planned. It's not a carefully designed political commentary. It's not coherent, and it's not academic. It's complete recklessness, utter abandon; it's a sincere expression of the aggression and perspective that sprouted from the seeds of "generation x."


user ratings (648)
Chart.
3.6
great
other reviews of this album
Fugue (2.5)
At its best Cage The Elephant is an unpredictable piece of old school rock and roll, filled with tig...

TheWord (3.5)
A strong debut album. Very strong. However unless Cage the Elephant brings new ideas to the table or...


Comments:Add a Comment 
SeaAnemone
August 17th 2009


21407 Comments


Sounds fancy. Great first review.

Romulus
August 17th 2009


8479 Comments


I think you're overselling this just a bit, but great first review. Pos.

bloc
August 17th 2009


46960 Comments


Vocalist Matt Shultz, with aggression no doubt fueled by centuries of Jewish oppression

lol, nice one.

Digging: The Presets - Apocalypso

Fugue
August 17th 2009


7371 Comments


5? Wow, I've been meaning to review this for a while now and never got round to it. I'll bump it up to offer some contrasting opinions because this gets no higher than a 3 from me.

AliW1993
August 17th 2009


7511 Comments


good review, i liked the singles from this but can't see myself ever buying it

cvlts
August 17th 2009


9449 Comments


jeez, excellent first review.

Digging: Harm's Way - Posthuman

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
August 19th 2009


22485 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I had this recommended to me by someone (away from this site) months ago, but have never got around to listening to it. Not a bad review, although I'm still a little unsure what the band even sounds like. In the reviewer's defense, he does state the band is difficult to pigeon-hole.

ZiggyPop
August 26th 2009


92 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

If you like fun music in the vein of King Khan and old Weezer then at least download this. It's catchy, jammy, overall great party music. Definitively not a 5, but it is excellent

Yotimi
September 4th 2009


7410 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

I like this so far (two songs in). Reminds me of The Hives.

Yotimi
September 4th 2009


7410 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

K, wait no it's a better version of Arctic Monkeys.

Prophet178
October 18th 2009


6397 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

No where near a 5, I've been tricked.

Macalano
October 25th 2009


9 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

Your review is nice, the album on the other hand is god awful IMO.

Things that would make me enjoy this album-



1. If I didn't know who the White Stripes were.

2. If I could not speak English.

3. If I didn't know what Irony was.

4. If I didn't know what a cliche was.



I really, really hope they don't get much press and they fade out of existence before they can do any

more damage.

Roach
October 25th 2009


2148 Comments


haven't listened to the band but the singer was pretty funny on nevermind the buzzcocks once

theacademy
Staff Reviewer
October 28th 2009


30927 Comments


just DL'd this on a whim after the 'borderlands' commercial and wow its really quite great

Prophet178
October 28th 2009


6397 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah that Borderlands commercial is going to boost them into fame and even more mediocrity.

Giblover
November 6th 2009


35 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Got this with the hopes that all of the songs would be at least on par with "Ain't No Rest for the Wicked," i was completely dissapointed. After 2 listen throughs deleted the whole album other then ANRftW. Ew.

monkeygonetoheaven
December 7th 2009


71 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Great band, love their kinda funky style. In some ways, reminds me of the Arctic Monkeys (especially the vocalist)

jingledeath
December 22nd 2009


7101 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

this is alright and yeah I agree with the Arctic Monkeys comparison

MichaelSG15
January 6th 2010


9 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I believe he is right with his review, I haven't REALLY enjoyed a band this much since the first time I heard Origin of Symmetry of Muse, I love this gritty rock n blues sound.

IamMe90
March 5th 2010


16 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

By the way this was a joke this album is really mediocre



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy