Judas Priest
Live in London


2.5
average

Review

by Nagrarok USER (219 Reviews)
August 3rd, 2009 | 27 replies


Release Date: 2003 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Priest partly right what was wrong with Meltdown, but still fail to bring out a live recording that is above average.

Even though also Demolition wasn’t a success, Judas Priest went on to issue a second live recording with Owens, Live in London. It was his last brought out performance with the band, recorded in 2001 on the tour for Politioneel, but only released in 2003, one year before the classic line-up would reunite.

Live in London’s Judas Priest was:
- Timothy S. Owens ~ Vocals
- Kenneth Downing Jr. ~ Lead Guitar
- Glenn Raymond Tipton ~ Lead Guitar
- Ian Frank Hill ~ Bass Guitar
- Scott Travis ~ Drums

26 tracks this time around, which makes for a long listen of more than 2 hours. In contrast to ’98 Live Meltdown, the band has obviously got more Owens-era tracks to play, but only 5 in total made it to the set list. The real famous songs (Breaking the Law, You’ve Got Another Thing Comin’, Living after Midnight, Painkiller, etc.) are there as always, but also some new entries that weren’t on Meltdown are present, such as Heading Out to the Highway, Grinder, Turbo Lover and Desert Plains. Each of the two track lists has its pros and cons, and its more up to the listener to decide which of the two albums is the better in that regard, as everyone has his preferences.

Luckily we see a slight improvement in what were Meltdown’s worst flaws. After building up some more playing experience together, the new line-up have grown more accustomed to each other, and that shows. While still not as energetic as we would like it to be, the boys from the instrumental section put out a much better performance than the one in 1998. As for Owens, he has found more of a niche for himself in Priest’s older material, but still cannot live up to its original image. The flaws were improved upon, but not as much as was necessary.

Despite these improvements, Live in London still isn’t a very good record. We’ve heard the performances of most of these songs already (more than once for many), but Priest does nothing to keep them interesting after so many listens. We just don’t need another Breaking the Law or Living after Midnight on an album. Though the repetition of the songs does not so much detract from the quality of the album in itself, Judas Priest really seem to have lost the ability to surprise and amaze, and that is a mistake that is far too often made with live recordings. Seeing the show is nice enough, but a band will have to put out something special to continue to entertain on record. Seeing is more than hearing.

Taking all this into account, Live in London still proves to be rather average. While the band feels more together and doesn’t sound as forced or dull as before, there is a true lack of excitement or new things happening out there, even with the addition of a different singer. For the third time in a row, Judas Priest does not satisfy with a live recording. If you so dearly require a live performance from the Owens-era, I suggest to go with this one, but Live in London is far from an essential Judas Priest release.



Recent reviews by this author
Genesis Calling All StationsGenesis We Can't Dance
Genesis Invisible TouchGenesis Genesis
Genesis AbacabGenesis Duke
user ratings (48)
Chart.
2.8
good

Comments:Add a Comment 
Nagrarok
August 3rd 2009


8588 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Worry not, the next one will be positively rated.

ReturnToRock
August 3rd 2009


3446 Comments


remember the story i told on the Meltdown thread, about the store guy saying the record sucked even at mid-price?

that was this one, not that one. i got my covers mixed up, plus i thought they only had one ripper-era live album... :P

FadeToBlack
August 3rd 2009


11044 Comments


pospospospos

Zip
August 3rd 2009


5312 Comments


Again with the Judas Priest....

lostforwords
August 3rd 2009


449 Comments


Pos.
Let's see what you have with Angel of Retribution (even though I' more curious about Nostradamus...)

FadeToBlack
August 3rd 2009


11044 Comments


hmm let me guess. He's going to give at a 3.5 and say that it's an improvement and a good comeback, and that Halford is a good vocalist

lostforwords
August 3rd 2009


449 Comments


He he!Yeah, after all I would be terribly surprised if he said he prefered Owens for Priest! I agree, he'll go for a 3,5

Nagrarok
August 3rd 2009


8588 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

@FadeToBlack: Why would I mention the fact Halford is a good vocalist? I have been saying Owens is a great vocalist as well, he just can't do them classic Priest songs live. You were probably going to be right about the other 2 though.



My rating for AoR is currently 3.5, which will probably stay the same, while my rating for Nos is currently 2 and is more likely to change.

Nagrarok
August 3rd 2009


8588 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

There seems to be a misunderstanding here. I mentioned several times in my Owens-era Priest reviews that Owens is a great vocalist.

Nagrarok
August 3rd 2009


8588 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Ok, I misunderstood then. Nevermind. His work on The Glorious Burden was quite good (probably the only album of the 2 IE and JP albums that didn't suck), although it lacked emotion at times.

Metalstyles
Emeritus
August 3rd 2009


8573 Comments


nice review again man, pos

We’ve already heard the performances of most of these songs already (more than once for many), but Priest does nothing to keep them interesting after so many listens.
there is one "already" too many ;)
Taking all this account, Live in London still proves to be rather average
Taking all this into account...

Nagrarok
August 3rd 2009


8588 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Thanks. Fixed. I'm only 3 away from completing that goddamn discography. 21 albums may have been just too much of a challenge. I still prefer to do my reviews in some kind of series though, so after Priest I'll probably cover some eras of other bands, that would be interesting.

Metalstyles
Emeritus
August 3rd 2009


8573 Comments


well you really are determined if you keep covering certain bands and stuff so you get a thumbs up from me. Btw your Priest reviews just inspired me to also review a bands discogapy, the only difference being that while Priest has 21 albums The Duskfall has 4 hahahahahah

Nagrarok
August 3rd 2009


8588 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I already have some bands in mind, but it'll be a complete surprise, the next one(s). Oh, and if you keep doing Duskfall I'll probably look into them sometime.



4 albums, such a challenge...

Metalstyles
Emeritus
August 3rd 2009


8573 Comments


lol i know it is not a challenge at all tbh, but none of their albums have been covered in sputnik before so I thought I'll make all of them myself

Nagrarok
August 3rd 2009


8588 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Very smart. Many of Priest's albums had already been done multiple times, so I thought mine would only get more attention than until they go off the front page if I'd do the discography. I still don't get how I was crazy enough to do it.

Metalstyles
Emeritus
August 3rd 2009


8573 Comments


hahaha yeah I know, the only problem being, who will look at them after they are done since nobody really knows of The Duskfall?

well I am rather happy you decided to do it, since 1) your reviews are great to read and 2) it is a hard task and only the best can handle it till the end

Nagrarok
August 3rd 2009


8588 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

*loving all the praise*



Well, you might bring The Duskfall into attention by reviewing all of their albums. But you're right, Sputnik will probably forget them after that. It's just no use reviewing bands that aren't popular/well-known, because nobody gives a damn. Also a reason I went for Priest. Still, props for going through with even though nobody will really care (and for being inspired by me. I actually inspired someone, who would ever think that?)

Metalstyles
Emeritus
August 3rd 2009


8573 Comments


yeah I have been in a really good mood over the last couple of days so I have complimented people who deserve it ;)

And yeah if I keep churning out The Duskfall reviews maybe some of my sputnik friends will at least check them out.

Nagrarok
August 3rd 2009


8588 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

And also, people who read the comments on this review will check them out because our posts will awaken their curiosity.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy