Skyfire
Fractal EP


3.5
great

Review

by BallsToTheWall USER (231 Reviews)
July 14th, 2009 | 77 replies


Release Date: 2009 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A four track tidbit to appease the listener which is guaranteed to incite drunken hooliganism in green tight wearing sword bearers that play the flute more often than they should.

Give or take it’s been about five years since Swedish progressive, symphonic, blackened power metaller’s Skyfire actually introduced some new material so it came as quite a shock when they actually released something new amidst all the setbacks and band updates. Their fifth full length record Esoteric distributed through Florida based label Pivotal Rockordings is expected to be released soon but until then, Skyfire have provided a four track E.P titled Fractal for the metal community to sink their teeth into until Esoteric receives the green light.

For those new to the band, Skyfire are very similar to their Finnish cousins in Norther and Children Of Bodom. Combining blackened power metal with neo-classical shred, a few melodic death metal-ism’s, and symphonic metal, Skyfire managed to stand out amongst the two latter bands with a unique and theatrical keyboard approach akin to The Legend Of Zelda: Ocarina Of Time. Conjuring the grand majesty of Link cruising through Hyrule to save his broad Zelda from the unmistakable evil of Ganondorf, Skyfire have made a ten + year career out of finely utilizing pompous atmosphere and epic keyboard drenched melodies with aggressive heavy metal. Have all of the interruptions and setbacks from the past couple of years chipped enough away from Skyfire’s mighty core to where nothing remains but an empty shell" Stay tuned for the third paragraph where I will tell the mighty tale Skyfire: Fractal.

Opening track “Bereaved In Denial” blasts through the speakers with pounding riffage and blast beats amongst thrashy rhythms and ripping vocals courtesy of new vocalist Joakim Karlsson who awesomely enough is a Muay Thai kick boxer. The stylistic shift is considerably different as the keyboards no longer dominate the mix while the aggressive factor has been upped a notch. However, before one is comfortably situated with Skyfire’s new found aggression, the band returns to intricate piano melodies and soaring synthesizers with second song “The Transgressor Within. Much more melodic than the previous track albeit retaining spontaneous bursts of fury, Skyfire has returned to it’s former glorious self. Musically, Skyfire appears to have progressed in sound despite retaining their traditional identity. Guitar melodies are crisper than ever, the riffing is heavier, and the keyboard wizardry has transitioned from pompous level III to pompous level IIII. Thanks in part to the addition of the choir and orchestra to the third track “Esoteric”.

After a debatably rough start in “Bereaved In Denial” which lacked the catchiness and overbearingly triumphant atmosphere from slaying those irritating blobs of jelly, the band quickly pulled their instrumental skills together and created three epic, fist pumping anthems to momentarily hold the metal legions at bay. Fans of Skyfire, Norther, and Children Of Bodom will love this undoubtedly love this as will fans of World Of Warcraft, or any other adventurous third person role player for that matter. Climb upon Epona and equip yourself with the longshot and ocarina for you will ride…mightily into the sunset…..



Recent reviews by this author
The Plague NarakaDead Melodies The Foundations of Ruins
Light This City Terminal BloomDruid Lord Grotesque Offerings
Witches Moon The Grim BotanicalAs Oceans Still Miles To Go
user ratings (21)
Chart.
3.4
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
CompanionCube
July 14th 2009


977 Comments


ocarina of time ftw

fireaboveicebelow
July 14th 2009


6832 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

JABU JABU GODDAMMIT I love this review and record



more people should use zelda references

BallsToTheWall
July 14th 2009


49311 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Seriously, what the hell is the name of those fat jelly pricks who constantly annoy the lands of Hyrule? Seriously, If I dont get another N64 ane play ocarina or Majora;s Mask i'll load up my potato gun and shoe the obese with gallons of Edy's lo fat ice cream.

Digging: T.S.O.L. - Dance With Me

Yazz_Flute
July 14th 2009


18939 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Great review as usual, except the first track should be "The Land of the Wolves." You totally excluded it from the review, stating that "Bereaved in Denial" was the opening track, "Transgressor Within" as the second, and "Esoteric" as the third.

CompanionCube
July 14th 2009


977 Comments


why not do both

BallsToTheWall
July 14th 2009


49311 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Ughh. My ordering on i-tunes is completely different. This will make for a major edit I will do. Not now though. I'm basking in my youthful memories.

fireaboveicebelow
July 14th 2009


6832 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Seriously, what the hell is the name of those fat jelly pricks who constantly annoy the lands of Hyrule? Seriously, If I dont get another N64 ane play ocarina or Majora;s Mask i'll load up my potato gun and shoe the obese with gallons of Edy's lo fat ice cream.
are you talking about Blue Bubbles?

Crysis
Emeritus
July 14th 2009


17368 Comments


Good review, I've been wanting to hear new material by these guys for a while now.

Yazz_Flute
July 14th 2009


18939 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I enjoy all the material off of this more than most of the material on their last album. "The Land of the Wolves" might be their best song.

Metalstyles
Emeritus
July 14th 2009


8574 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

good review as always Ballsy, i will most definitely look this up, I have one album from Skyfire, but I haven't given it a fair listen yet, from this review it sounds I would love this band

BallsToTheWall
July 14th 2009


49311 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I dont know Fire. They come in many transparent colors and basically bump into you. After you slay one they give you a heart.

Willie
Moderator
July 14th 2009


17623 Comments


Good review. Norther and CoB aren't nearly my favorite bands so I think I can probably do without this.

Yazz_Flute
July 14th 2009


18939 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

These guys are a lot better than Norther and CoB tbh, a lot more serious as well.

Willie
Moderator
July 14th 2009


17623 Comments


Ok, I'll check their Myspace tonight when I listen to the new Paradise Lost song.

BallsToTheWall
July 14th 2009


49311 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

You should check out some of their previous tunes. This is just an offering.

Willie
Moderator
July 14th 2009


17623 Comments


I'll just listen to whatever is on Myspace.

Crysis
Emeritus
July 14th 2009


17368 Comments


Yeah I just listened to "The Land Of The Wolves" and I agree with Bodom that it is by far their best song. Loving this.

Wizard
July 14th 2009


20208 Comments


Your summaries make me howl in laughter. Good review. I'll pass on the gay cousins of Nother and CoB.

jingledeath
July 14th 2009


7101 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

this was alright, but idk I might raise my rating after further listenings

Crysis
Emeritus
July 14th 2009


17368 Comments


I'd give this a shot Wizard, I think you may enjoy it. Look up "The Land Of The Wolves" on youtube and give it a go.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy