Judas Priest
Sin After Sin


3.5
great

Review

by Nagrarok USER (219 Reviews)
June 20th, 2009 | 776 replies


Release Date: 1977 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Priest's third is a record with a lot of potential, but fails to live up to this by being too inconsistent. Still a worthy addition to any Priest collection, but there are better ones out there.

After 1976’s Sad Wings of Destiny, Judas Priest terminated their contract with Gull Records, due to lack of financial support from the label (as a result losing all the publishing rights to their first two albums), and signed with major record label Columbia. Previous drummer Alan Moore was replaced by upcoming session drummer Simon Philips, and Priest began working on their third album, Sin after Sin, produced by Roger Glover of Deep Purple fame. The early influence of blues-rock had almost completely disappeared by this time, and, in parallel fashion, the original gothic-styled band logo was featured last on this 1977 release.

Sin after Sin’s Judas Priest was:
- Robert Halford ~ Vocals
- K.K. Downing ~ Lead Guitar
- Glenn Tipton ~ Lead Guitar, Piano
- Ian Hill ~ Bass Guitar
- Simon Philips ~ Drums

Their third album sees Judas Priest moving on, once again, to a slightly more polished and also slightly heavier style, with the exception of two ballads. Opener Sinner is an excellent showing of this, being powerfully delivered. The simple, yet heavy main riff that has become a trademark of Priest is present yet again, but is now paired with an interesting addition: Simon Philips’ drumming stands out, as he uses a more aggressive style than those who preceded him, as well as the double-bass pedal. The guitar has once again improved, also due to a better production. It sounds more streamlined and is a hint of the sound they would later continue with Stained Class. Especially the solos are fantastic, and sound more metal than before, although very faint hints of blues-rock are still present in some of the guitar parts. Halford has grown too, and become more confident. Sin after Sin’s opening sure shows a lot of potential.

Unfortunately, the record ultimately cannot keep its promise at all times. The two ballads, Last Rose of Summer and Here Come The Tears are not powerful enough and fail to stand out, with especially the latter having very cliché lyrics and being a rather bland song overall, except for the great solos that carry it along. The Joan Baez cover and live favourite Diamonds and Rust is interesting enough, but fails to really add anything to the album. The only real standout besides Sinner is the well-known Dissident Aggressor, which closes of the album on a high point with its take no prisoners-style and regular screams.

The remaining 3 songs are all great enough, though each of them slightly flawed. Starbreaker has that real Priest cheese again, Raw Deal is simple yet excellent, but drags on for too long, clocking at 6 minutes, and Let Us Prey/Call for the Priest could well do without its intro which gets very annoying. The rest of the respective songs certainly make it worth it, especially in Call for the Priest, which stands out because it has the best drumming on the album.

Other than that, there isn’t much to say about Sin after Sin. It is an album with loads of potential that is ultimately let down by its inconsistency and lack of real standouts. Luckily the good moments are there in bigger amounts than the bad, and Sin after Sin turns out to be a great album overall, though Priest has produced quite a few better than it.

+ Once again, all instruments improve from previous releases
+ Great solos

- Inconsistent
- Ballads are rather weak

Recommended tracks:

Sinner
Dissident Aggressor
Call for the Priest



Recent reviews by this author
Genesis Calling All StationsGenesis We Can't Dance
Genesis Invisible TouchGenesis Genesis
Genesis AbacabGenesis Duke
user ratings (853)
Chart.
3.9
excellent
other reviews of this album
Snowdog808 (4.5)
While not quite the consistent metal masterpieces that it is sandwiched between, Judas Priest's thir...

TheNorthernFox (4)
Though it can't quite outshine its predecessor, Sin after Sin is definitely a gem in Judas priest's ...

Priestmetal (3)
...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Nagrarok
June 20th 2009


8588 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Priest review #3.

OllieS
June 20th 2009


2148 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Really digging these Priest reviews man, please don't stop (until you reach like, Turbo :P). Agree with most of this, although Diamonds and Rust is pretty ace.

Nagrarok
June 20th 2009


8588 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I like Diamonds and Rust, but it just doesn't something special for the album. They could have better added it as a bonus track. And if I feel like it, I'll do the discography. This was actually my third choice for a discography review (wanted to do a BIG discography). Iron Maiden has already been done by Mikesn, and no one here is interested in Deep Purple t'seems.

ConorMichaelJoseph
June 20th 2009


1870 Comments


Doing a DP discography could revive some interest into that incredible band, but you seem to really know your Judas Priest so I'm all for you going for theirs. Good review, pos'd. album is a bit of a step down from Sad Wings but still an alright record.

Douchebag
June 21st 2009


3626 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Fellow huge priest fan here

This album is good and has amazing tracks like Sinner, here come the tears, dissident agressor, and diamonds and rust however it isn't as strong as a whole as some other albums...



Check out diamonds and rust from the dvd rising in the east, it's beatifull.

Nagrarok
June 21st 2009


8588 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This album is good and has amazing tracks like Sinner, here come the tears, dissident agressor, and diamonds and rust


Sorry Alligator, but I hope you're kidding. That track is far from amazing.



I was a bit on the fence between a 3 and 3.5, but since it's better than their debut which I gave a 3, 3.5 it is.

Nagrarok
June 21st 2009


8588 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I also fixed the right drummer in. The other review says Les Binks is drumming on here, but he joined only on the tour for the album.

mark7477
August 23rd 2010


414 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

It's one of my least favorite priest albums during the 70's era.Diamonds,starbreaker and dissident aggressor are exceptionally good but some of the other songs seem to drag on for a quite a bit sounding somewhat forgettable.

BigHans
August 23rd 2010


29393 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The riff in Dissident Aggresor fucking slays. You have good taste Mark.

Nagrarok
August 23rd 2010


8588 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ah, these old Priest reviews of mine. Glad to see comments still appear every now and then.



And (the riff in) Dissident Aggressor slays indeed.

KILL
April 21st 2011


81231 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

rockin

Ire
April 21st 2011


41948 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Let Us Prey/Call for Priest rules so hard

KILL
April 21st 2011


81231 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

70s priest is the best thing ever

Ire
April 21st 2011


41948 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yah

Nagrarok
May 11th 2011


8588 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

'Here Come The Tears' is a killer ballad. It builds and gets heavy like it should.




Oh no, our opinions differ.



Also, the comment about Halford is stupid. Halford has grown and become more confident". Are you friends with him? Were you hanging out with him at the pub in the 70s and ge told you he was more confident. Ridiculous.




Lol, I'm pretty sure you'd get from the context that I meant he became more confident as a vocalist, which you can hear.



How can you 'grow' from 'Dreamer , Deceiver'? Even in 1976, Halford was already the best vocalist of all time.




Wow, that's some pure objectivity. Dreamer Deceiver is a pretty amazing earlier performance from him and he's brilliant on Sad Wings overall, but there is an important difference between ability and the confidence to put it to full use.



That should clear things up for you, though I'll be the first to admit this is one of my earlier and weaker reviews and I could care less about the neg, come up with better arguments next time, thank you.

JamieTwort
May 11th 2011


26988 Comments


Sinner and Dissident Agressor rule.

TheNotrap
August 28th 2011


9416 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Not the best record of their classic era but still a great album. The best songs here are Sinner, Diamonds and Rust and specially Dissident Aggressor, one of the heaviest songs ever made.



GRAAAAAAAAANNNDD CAANYONS!!!!!

m/

Digging: Obliteration - Cenotaph Obscure

illmitch
September 2nd 2011


5511 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

BUT WE BOTH KNOW WHAT MEMORIES CAN BRING

THEY BRING DIAMONDS AND RUUUUUUUST

TheNotrap
September 2nd 2011


9416 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

yeahhhhhhhhhhh

m/

KILL5
October 23rd 2011


429 Comments


the last rose of summeeeeeeeeeeeerrrrrrrrrr



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy