Deathstars
Termination Bliss


4.0
excellent

Review

by Zip USER (17 Reviews)
June 1st, 2009 | 18 replies


Release Date: 2006 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Slick and twisted industrial metal

It is rare to cross across a band as grim as Deathstars without marching straight into the over-crowded Swedish death metal scene. Despite the lack of throat-rending growls and face-ripping guitar solos, this Swedish quintet (although Cat Casino had not yet joined the band when this album was recorded) has managed to produce a wholly grotesque sound, shaped by gritty lyrics, twisted synth lines and the disturbingly low vocals of the aptly named "Whiplasher Bernadotte." Although it takes a bit to get into, Termination Bliss is an album that should not be missed.

The overall sound of Deathstars adheres to a simple but consistently entertaining formula. Despite the fact that the tracks are very similar in composition, each one brings a slightly different mood that does not allow Termination Bliss to become repetitive or even the slightest bit boring. Each track begins quietly with a dark synth line that lays the foundation for the crushing guitar riffs and equally low-pitched vocals. While the keyboards remain present throughout the entire album they are often over-shadowed by the lead-heavy guitar assault. Unfortunately, the guitarist, “Nightmare Industries” never really rips into any stunning guitar solos or even simple melodies, but he does put up a good fight with eleven tracks of solid riffage that varies from ringing choruses to choppy palmed verses. Drummer “Bone with Machine” follows the same code, never really cutting loose but providing and satisfyingly consistent performance throughout.

The last piece of this grisly puzzle, and ultimately the glue that holds this band together is the brutal vocal performance of “Whiplasher.” Imposing does not fully describe the nearly subsonic qualities of his voice. Forgive me for the use of a face-smashing cliché but listening to the vocals is similar to being hit in the face repeatedly with a sledge hammer without really feeling it. You get the vague feeling of blunt-force trauma but you’re in so much shock you don’t really notice the pain and you are crushed into a near-mindless state, unable to form coherent thoughts. Whiplasher’s vocal presence is not constrained to his normal crushing cleans either; he frequently employs semi-demonic whispers and screams to deliver his cunning and somewhat explicit lyrics across to the listener. Listening to his voice takes some conditioning but it is definitely worth it in the end.

Lastly, one of the defining characteristics of Deathstars is their somewhat-controversial image. Despite the cliché jet-black haircuts and excessive facial makeup, the Deathstars sport an aura that is undeniably awesome. This image paired with three deliciously well planned and interesting music videos makes for an incredible treat for those that bother stopping by their MySpace page.

Recommended Tracks
Blitzkrieg
Cyanide
Play God
Virtue to Vice



Recent reviews by this author
Geist GaleereNazxul Iconoclast
Altar of Plagues SolThe Crimson Armada Guardians
Malevolent Creation RetributionLegiones Demo
user ratings (141)
Chart.
3.7
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Zip
June 1st 2009


5312 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I feel somewhat more satisfied with my writing lately. Thanks for all your positive feedback .



Album is a lot of fun, definitely look up the videos.

Willie
Moderator
June 1st 2009


17621 Comments


Another good review. I love industrial metal but bands that lean more towards metal than industrial don't usually do it for me because I get frustrated that the industrial elements are so buried or underused.

BallsToTheWall
June 1st 2009


49229 Comments


It's pretty cool the brother of Jon Nodveit is the guitar player for this band. Good review.

Digging: Two People - First Body

Zip
June 1st 2009


5312 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"I love industrial metal but bands that lean more towards metal than industrial don't usually do it for me because I get frustrated that the industrial elements are so buried or underused."



Yeah, personally I don't see a whole lot of industrial here, but I really haven't been around the genre much.

Willie
Moderator
June 1st 2009


17621 Comments


Industrial is probably my favorite genre and it makes me very picky.

Zip
June 1st 2009


5312 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

You should def. check out Ventana. Thanks for Wumpscut too, finally got that.

Willie
Moderator
June 1st 2009


17621 Comments


Oh, you liked that? From your other list I started to think that would be something you wouldn't like.

Zip
June 1st 2009


5312 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nah, Fuckit is great. I love Pooch. Rumpeltkammer scared me the first time I heard it tho, never saw that line coming.

Willie
Moderator
June 1st 2009


17621 Comments


Ha ha, yeah that one is great. There's a line on the last Combichrist album that is kind of like that and it's funny. I'm actually reviewing a Wumpscut re-issue for next week.

Zip
June 1st 2009


5312 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Awesome, I'll check it out

jingledeath
June 1st 2009


7101 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

album is pretty good, Tongues is fugging awesome

Metalstyles
Emeritus
June 1st 2009


8574 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

so, um......, you stole my review bitch. I am so not happy about that. Anyway, on a brighter note this is a well-executed review and is once again nicely written so good job. It is nice that you are spreading that Ventana love too, I never really got Willie into checking it out, he always forgot, maybe you will be more sucessful. OH and how is it that "Death In Vogue" and "Tongues" are not in the rec'd tracks section, especially DIV, that tracks is pure awesomeness.



KYZAR
June 1st 2009


513 Comments


^ ha lulz, though i cant seem to get into industrial

Metalstyles
Emeritus
June 2nd 2009


8574 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yaah industrial is pretty hard to get into but when you do it is pretty awesome

RuRu
March 2nd 2010


1 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I dont understand why you call this band industial, when its clearly a gothic metal band. I do suppose it have industial elements to it, but i classify it as gothic.

linguist2011
Contributing Reviewer
July 11th 2012


2579 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Album gets a bit more boring towards the end, but the shimmering industrial elements and stomping guitar work is pretty well executed.

Digging: Nyktalgia - Nyktalgia

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
September 18th 2014


24615 Comments


Jammed blitzkrieg for the first time in years the other day.... FEELS

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
October 4th 2015


24615 Comments


Blitzkreig blitzkrieg... Fuckin blitzkrieg BOOM



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy