Chimaira
The Infection


4.0
excellent

Review

by BassDemon333 USER (66 Reviews)
April 20th, 2009 | 65 replies


Release Date: 2009 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Chimaira infuse elements from their previous releases with some new twists and turns on their 5th studio album. It makes a fun listen.

In 2007, Chimaira split from their longtime label, Roadrunner Records, and joined up with Ferret Records and released "Resurrection". The album also marked the return of their original drummer, Andols Herrick, and with him the bands original lineup was reformed and the band claimed to feel renewed and more powerful than ever. The album was great, but it lacked the technicality of their 2005 self-titled album which had amazing drumming courtesy of Kevin Talley and blistering guitar solos in every song left and right. "Six" was a masterpiece of a song off of "Resurrection" and truly proved that this band has potential, so I gave their new album "The Infection" a listen and it turned out to be great. It was, however, somewhat different for Chimaira.

One major aspect of this album is that the tempo is all over the place. In some songs, like "Secrets Of The Dead" and the lead single "Destroy and Dominate", the riffs are as heavy as ever but the speed of how the music is presented is slowed down for a more darker, sinister, and effective feel. The albums opener, "The Venom Inside". presents a beautiful guitar intro before vocalist Mark Hunter blasts in with his growling and screaming vocals that have topped of this bands trademark sound. The band also presents some catchy hooks, such as on the chorus of "Frozen In Time", which has a great groove and overall feel.

Mark Hunter has "taken it up a notch" from the last album. Hes already proved that he can scream and growl well and his clean vocals arent bad at all. On songs like "Coming Alive" and "Walking On Broken Glass", he presents the listener with guttural vocals that sound almost like he could be in a death metal band. Some might not think this fits in with Chimaira, but I thought it was a cool addition to the bands sound on this record. His clean singing proves to be very effective in this record, especially when it is used the most on the track "Impending Doom". The song is dark and creepy and the vocal work is some of the best on the record.

The Guitars on this album are as good as they were on the previous record, but for a true demonstartion of how good Rob and Matt can shred, check out their self-titled album. Songs like "Secrets Of The Dead", "The Venom Inside", and especally the instrumental "The Heart Of It All" display catchy riffs and heavy distortion that make you bang your head. However, the instrumental is the only song on here that truly shows the listener that these guitarists can really shred with the best of them.

Jim MaLarca's bass is nearly non-existant on this record, but it never really has been a standout part of Chimairas music. During parts of "The Venom Inside" you can hear it in the background quite well but other times you have to listen hard yo hear it over the crunching guitars. Hopefully in the future Chimaira will make the bass more present in their music, but it does seem unlikely.

The drums are definetly an important part of how this album sounds. Andols Herrick truly is remarkable behind the kit. On the Chorus of "The Venom Inside" he takes the pace from slow in the verses to really fast in the chorus and then suddenly slowing down again. On "Frozen In Time" he even uses blastbeats and techincal drumming usually found within death metal. It's definetly an important part of th music for Chimaira. Electronics are also a key factor on the Infection. On "Secrets Of The Dead", Chris Spicuzza adds dark and sinister electronics that add a great feel to the song, especially in the outro. On "Destroy and Dominate", there is a nice, beautiful piano from the keyboard that gives way to the haviness that is to come. Give almost any song on this album a listen to see how the electronics provide a great backdrop to this bands music.

"The Infection" is, overall, a fun listen. If you are a fan of Chimaira I strongly reccomend you pick it up. I enjoyed it just bit more than "Resurrection". The band definetly made their music a bit heavier this time around but some might not like how more of the songs are slow-paced heavy throughout. Some might take it as a step down from their previous releases, but give it a few listens. Its diffferent, but some of it is still really good.



Recent reviews by this author
Slipknot .5: The Gray ChapterDayshell Dayshell
Korn The Paradigm ShiftChimaira Crown Of Phantoms
SECRETS Fragile FiguresStone Sour House of Gold and Bones - Part 2
user ratings (374)
Chart.
3.2
good
other reviews of this album
Zippermouth (3)
A passable attempt at metalcore that unfortunately fails to resurrect a genre that is long since dea...



Comments:Add a Comment 
AliW1993
April 20th 2009


7511 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Good review but I found the album really boring

Metalstyles
Emeritus
April 20th 2009


8574 Comments


I would too. The man stole the spotlight by beating me to the Dope review that would have even been featured maybe. He's writing is ok, but I still have not forgiven him for stealing the spotlight from me. I did write my version, but he's version is the one you can see when you look up the album from the artist page

BallsToTheWall
April 20th 2009


49564 Comments


This isn't as bad as a few are making it out to be. Granted it's a bit of a step down from Ressurection, it's still fun, heavy, and brutal.

Digging: The Appleseed Cast - Mare Vitalis

fireaboveicebelow
April 20th 2009


6832 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

they really need to get their shit together for the next record though

zuzek
April 20th 2009


819 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Adequate review although I'm inclined to disagree with some of your 'statements'.



A shredder is not the definition of a good guitarist, although this review makes it out to be that the ability to shred automatically makes a guitarist good. From a writing aspect, a lot of riffs featured on The Infection are a very stale rehash of everything we've heard from Chimaira before, just a little slower. Definately not a quality you'd want as a good guitar player. Not even mentioning the issue of incredibly forced songwriting ('transition' verse > chorus in TVI being a standout).



Your take on the vocals is interesting to read, and I'm glad the new style of vocals have a few fans because up to now the general consensus definately does not seem to be "taken it up a notch", apart from the very atmospheric Impending Doom despite the vocal overlays. I'm surprised you haven't touched on the lyrics whatsoever. For instance, the Destroy and Dominate lyrics are about as corny and self-defeating as metal lyrics can get.



You mention the same tracks over and over, most notably TVI. How can you warrant a 4 rating when you focus on just a few songs and leave out another few?This Message Edited On 04.20.09

Athom
Emeritus
April 20th 2009


17240 Comments


nice review although i disagree entirely.

Phantom
April 20th 2009


8985 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Disagree with the rating but decent review nonetheless.

kingsoby1
Emeritus
April 20th 2009


4970 Comments


that's a really cool symbol guys, this must be heavy

Wizard
April 20th 2009


20209 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

This isn't as bad as a few are making it out to be.



A 2 is generous. Their ideas are rehashed and then extremely stripped down, completely eliminating any degree of fun or originality whatsoever.



Review has lots of grammatical and spelling errors throughout. Your word was backed up well though.

Zoo
April 20th 2009


3759 Comments


Won't even bother with this album.

Phantom
April 20th 2009


8985 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Needs more Kevin Talley

fireaboveicebelow
April 20th 2009


6832 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

that's not the problem at all, it needs better songs

Phantom
April 20th 2009


8985 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

No I know, I was joking.

gaslightanthem
April 20th 2009


5208 Comments


you were joking about how there was this one time

Phantom
April 20th 2009


8985 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Although, there is the argument that the addition of Talley spurred them on to outdo themselves and write better riffs and songs, which made the self-titled their best release.

kygermo
April 21st 2009


1007 Comments


I hope Mark Hunter stepped it up in the lyric field this time around. Im gettin sick of people acting like they know him lol.

ConorMichaelJoseph
April 21st 2009


1870 Comments


Couldn't listen to all of this in one go, but still not too shabby.

Wizard
April 21st 2009


20209 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Although, there is the argument that the addition of Talley spurred them on to outdo themselves and write better riffs and songs, which made the self-titled their best release.



This is why Phantom rules!



I hope Mark Hunter stepped it up in the lyric field this time around. Im gettin sick of people acting like they know him lol.



I don't personally know him and I think his lyrics suck huge balls for the most part.





lordworm327
April 27th 2009


38 Comments


I'm not chimaira's biggest fan but i've heard all their records and i think they are quite good, never a regular listener though, thought I'd check this out because my brother is counting down the seconds until its release! And I must say the record is some heavy shit! and by far the catchiest record yet. Technicality and heaviness for me should go hand in hand beacuse im a huge death metal fan, if it wasnt for the drums nothing in this record would be an impressive feat by any instrument, the guitar is simple, i agree with the review about their best guitars being onthe self titled! (even if the effects of the solos sounded dire) But chimaira fans get this album! Also I''m glad that on the last couple of albums mark hunter has varied his voice more, it makes it more interest!

itchyandscratchy
April 27th 2009


314 Comments


no this is their worst yet



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy