Amesoeurs
Amesoeurs


3.5
great

Review

by Muikuli USER (3 Reviews)
April 4th, 2009 | 124 replies


Release Date: 2009 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Amesoeurs by Amesoeurs is a good debut album. Too bad it's also the last one. 10 good songs out of 11 is an admirable effort. Still, it could have used some more finishing work.

The new Amesoeurs album seems to have split opinions among the old listeners. Some feel like it's a bad The Cure - rip-off and the worst project of Neige so far, while others simply love it. I just like it. The album isn't perfect, but almost every track is good, so I don't see much to complaing about, that is if you like this kind of shogazer/post-rock/black metal/whatthefckingever -styled music.

The album starts off with Gas in Veins, which is simply a great atmospheric intro. It build up slowly with a simple, but effective riff accompanied by a blast beat.

The albums continues with tracks of varying quality. Les Ruches Malades is good, but surprisingly I feel like the older demo version of the song is better in most aspects. Especially the vocals are duller. Luckily this isn't enough to make a good song bad. The follow-up "Heurt" though, is just rubbish. The riffs and melodies are ok, but Audrey's singing is at its worst here and the effect used on her voice doesn't make any favours. The unpleasant screaming at 2.30 does its purpose in making the listener feel like someone is puking on the mick. I'm actually quite baffled by Aydrey's performance on these first tracks. Fortunately she significantly improves her performance on the second half of the album, which I'm grateful for. Ugh...

Recueillement introduces Neige on vocals for the first time and is much better than the previous song although not the top of the album. The screaming vocals are a bit off-place here, but that's more of a personal preference I guess. The follower Faux Semblants is much lighter and depends strongly on Audrey's singing, which works very well here. Trouble (Éveils Infâmes) is an ambient-sounding small piece, great 101 seconds actually, which lead to weirdly named I XIII V XIX XV V XXI XVIII XIX – IX XIX – IV V I IV. Neige is on vocals again. This is also propably as metal as this album gets.

Video Girl and La Reine Trayeuse are the first songs to have actual chorus hooks in them. These are also the most likely parts of the album to stay on your head later on. Well, atleast for me they were. La Reine Trayeuse builds up to a fast-tempo metalish ending. This includes some more screaming by Audrey, but not quite as annoying as in "Heurt". Amesoeurs goes back to the lighter feel. Works well enough. Audrey sings at her best in these three songs.

The album finishes with Au Crépuscule de Nos Rêves, which actually covers pretty much every mood to be found on the album. Neige is on vocal duty again.... Aaaand, there it ends. Well, there is a hidden track there somewhere. But that doesn't really affect the scoring.

Overall, the atmosphere of the album, changing from depressing and angsty to hopeful and back, works pretty well. I have heard some complaints about the lyrics, but my conversational French isn't quite enough for me to analyze anything about that aspect. Apparently it's some whining about how the modern urban life sucks. I have no idea, but I guess it should fascinate some angsty teens out there. I don't know why "Heurt" exists, but I'm going pretend it doesn't.


3.5/5


user ratings (356)
3.7
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Willie
Moderator
April 5th 2009


18004 Comments


Not a bad review. I agree with most of what you wrote.

Digging: Hypno5e - A Distant (Dark) Source

ATC
April 5th 2009


42 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah. Agreed entirely. Huert is an abomination. Audrey shouldn't be screaming. Anywhere. She almost manages to fuck up Reine Trayeuse. Her screams sound like fucking Silencer or something. Neige's songs and the trio of Video Girl, Reine Trayeuse and Amesoeurs are the only worthwhile things about the album.

BallsToTheWall
April 6th 2009


49821 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I've played the title track constantly. So mellow, and the female vocals were excellent. Solid album is solid.

Digging: Great Master - Skull and Bones

karina
April 6th 2009


165 Comments


Her screams sound like fucking Silencer or something.


lol

windpromoteshate
April 6th 2009


179 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Heurt is awesome.

Youwithoutme
April 6th 2009


301 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Awesome album too bad its their last they would have been a great band.

fireaboveicebelow
April 6th 2009


6832 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Heurt is awesome what gives? review is decent but lacking in much detail, you pretty much just say "this is this, and it sounds nice." also reword this sentence so you don't have the two "which"

The album starts off with Gas in Veins, which is simply a great atmospheric intro, which builds up nicely.
other than that, practice some more reviews, you'll get better

204409
Emeritus
April 6th 2009


3998 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

1905:emo::Amosoeurs:metalgaze



think about it

Muikuli
April 6th 2009


194 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

fireaboveicebelow: Yes, the review has some mistakes as the site didn't allow me to edit it after posting due to some problems that day. Also, it's the first one I've ever written in English and I did it rather lazily too (well, I didn't read it through until I submitted it so...).



Gonna edit the worst mistakes out now...



And I hope I'll have time to write some more reviews in the future, and hopefully better ones too.This Message Edited On 04.06.09

BallsToTheWall
April 6th 2009


49821 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Other than what Fire said, good work, much better than my horrid first. I'm stuck between a 3.5 and a 4 for this but I still enjoy this. i'd say Amesoeuers is my favorite song of the year 4 months in.

jrowa001
April 6th 2009


8752 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

album is solid

luci
April 13th 2009


11970 Comments


This was disappointing, I hope it grows on me a bit

kingsoby1
Emeritus
April 13th 2009


4970 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

pretty awesome first time through, haven't picked it up in a couple weeks though.

Wizard
June 5th 2009


20228 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Just randomly bought this the other day without knowing a thing about the band. Alright sound, female singer is cool, Neige just sounds like his other band Alcest on his black metal/ shoegazey songs.

BallsToTheWall
June 16th 2009


49821 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Les Ruches is gold. Album is ace.

badkarma765
June 24th 2010


8 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

huert is the best song on the album. the screams are also the high point of the song... completely floored me the first time i heard it.

DarkNoctus
August 3rd 2010


10906 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

rubbish imo. only one song i'd ever listen to again, that being the final song.

Digging: Esoteric - A Pyrrhic Existence

JizzInMyPants
October 16th 2010


2877 Comments


lololol had no idea that the title track was used for avatar's video game trailer

Hawks
October 26th 2010


73729 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

This is decent.

Digging: Cradle of Filth - Cruelty and the Beast - Re-Mistressed

feanaro
October 7th 2011


1055 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

could have sworn this album had a more critical review... huh



haven't listened to this in a while, could be a 3.5 but i dunno. favorite tracks are definitely the lighter, poppier ones. Amesoeurs, Faux Semblants, Video Girl.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy