Bruce Springsteen
Working on a Dream


4.0
excellent

Review

by PunkItUp USER (4 Reviews)
January 20th, 2009 | 22 replies


Release Date: 2009 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The wind in the black elms....

Coming little more then a year after the near classic Magic album, Bruce Springsteen returns with The E Street Band for another great effort with Working On A Dream.

A big, bold pop album, Working On A Dream is neither as urgent nor as focused as Springsteen's previous effort, but what it lacks in one regard it more then makes up for with adventurous songwriting and skilled craftsmanship. Songs such as the lovely and warm hearted title track, the whimsical folk rock of Tomorrow Never Knows, and fleet footed Byrds inspired Surprise Surprise keep things moving along and tuneful, while others such as the reflective Kingdom Of Days, epic cowboy story Outlaw Pete, and foreboding desperate love tale Life Itself puts some meat on this albums lean, well crafted bones.

We also get bullet mic blues numbers such as Good Eye and A Night With The Jersey Devil, a touching farewell to his recently deceased long time organ player Danny Federici in the acoustic flavored The Last Carnival, and a real treat in the bald faced romantic tale Queen Of The Supermarket, which finds Bruce wearing his love for Roy Orbison all over his sleeve.

Producer Brendon 'O Brien must be given much credit here. Fleshing out the sound of the excellent group of players that is The E Street Band and encouraging Bruce to sing out in a big clear voice, over the course of the album 'O Brien brings a depth of sound and modern and classic recording touches to the group which compliment the times we live in as well as respect for times gone past, evoking Phil Spector lushness as well as solid modern rock production values. It was as unlikely a pairing as any when 'O Brien first worked with Bruce on 2002's The Rising, but it's a pairing which has brought this artist and said producer to new creative and musical heights that rewards the listener greatly, indeed. We can only hope for more to come.

Through it all the band is steady and true, Bruce is in fine voice, and the message is clear: love, so it seems, can conquer all. Even if it takes a lifetime of hard times and broken dreams to attain it. A truly great work by a truly great artist, Working On A Dream can sit comfortably next to Bruce Springsteen's greatest work, and is an instant Album Of The Year contender even at this early date. Older, a little wiser, and with his eyes set to the heavens musically and lyrically, we can only hope Magic and the wonderful Working On A Dream is just the beginning of what seems a new creative life for one of rock 'n rolls all time great artist.


user ratings (234)
Chart.
3
good
other reviews of this album
joshuatree EMERITUS (4)
I turn back for a moment to catch a smile...

EStreetFan (2.5)
After 35 years of staving off cynicism and realism with hope, Bruce Springsteen has finally been val...

MusicReviewer44 (4)
The boss is back! And better than ever. Bruce comes out with one of his best albums in many years....


Comments:Add a Comment 
PunkItUp
January 20th 2009


207 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this is a little review because as a sound off it was too long and the dumb thing told me to write a review instead



so in the spirit of the site this is very much a fan review. not really a complete one as will come from someone else, but just some thoughts about the new album to give you an idea of whats inside, so to speak. i really have nothing else to say about this album, but i wanted to say something because i think its a beautiful record



thanks for reading



edit: i added a paragraph to make it more review like :/This Message Edited On 01.20.09

AtavanHalen
January 20th 2009


17920 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

God-damnit. Damn you for doing a goddamn review I was gonna goddamn do goddamnit

Kiran
Emeritus
January 20th 2009


6021 Comments


Only listened to this once in full but it was good, I think.

PunkItUp
January 20th 2009


207 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

God-damnit. Damn you for doing a goddamn review I was gonna goddamn do goddamnit


do it man do it! gogogogogo :D



i love me some more reviews of this album



we can never have too many Boss reviews!



np: Kingdom Of Days, my fave track on the album This Message Edited On 01.20.09

AtavanHalen
January 20th 2009


17920 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Naw, I'm not gonna cut anyone's lunch so soon.

Don't worry, I'm just being a bitter old man.

By the way, Outlaw Pete = Holy mother of HELL, that's a good song.

PunkItUp
January 20th 2009


207 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah when i first heard it i thought "damn eight minutes" too long



heard it couple more times and i was like "Holy mother of HELL, thats a good song."



true story ;)



great minds think alike, as they say. so i hope yours is great cuz mine is kinda shot :D



lol damn fine song. robbing banks in little baby diapers and what not

AtavanHalen
January 20th 2009


17920 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yours isn't too bad, my man. You could expand on some parts and rework some others but you're definitely on the right track.

PunkItUp
January 20th 2009


207 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

shell.....grammar nazi



listen more it'll catch on. i bet JJ loves him some Bruce Springsteen, too :DThis Message Edited On 01.20.09

Jom
Staff Reviewer
January 20th 2009


2991 Comments


just a heads-up: it's 2009, not 2008

PunkItUp
January 20th 2009


207 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah i'm trying to stay young so my calender stops at 2008 :p

PunkItUp
January 20th 2009


207 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

hey my little review / sound off made the pages at Backstreets.com forums!



the first name in all things Springsteen



http://www.backstreets.com/btx/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=129142#p1804746



me so happy :D



site hits++This Message Edited On 01.20.09

joshuatree
Emeritus
January 25th 2009


3741 Comments


this completely rules

mynameischan
Emeritus
January 25th 2009


17946 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

ugh i keep forgetting to get this; gonna do that now

JohnXDoe3
January 25th 2009


17 Comments


this completely rules


it really does. its just a fine recording. a beautiful album full of songs and music that recalls so much of his career. and i like how he is writing about his own...um...i guess you would say he isn't retreading past glories. Kingdom Of Days is remarkable. the line "we laugh beneath the covers and count the wrinkles and the grays" just lets you know he is where he needs to be as an artist and with a large part of his audience. and in the chorus "sing away, sing away, my darling we'll sing away / this is our kingdom of days." its just so, so intimate. the song makes me think and feel "when i get to that age, i would like to be right there, just like that"

and of course its got a lot of stuff on it for everyone, too. just like usual. a truly remarkable work at this point in his career

hopefully sputnik gets a more proper review of it to go along with PunkItUp's nice little "big" sound off, too This Message Edited On 01.25.09

joshuatree
Emeritus
January 25th 2009


3741 Comments


yeah im reviewing this

gaslightanthem
January 25th 2009


5209 Comments


nooo
he wanted a proper review

joshuatree
Emeritus
January 25th 2009


3741 Comments


changed my mind im reviewing a two gallants album and rating it a 5

mynameischan
Emeritus
January 25th 2009


17946 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

review john frusciante and act like he's good

joshuatree
Emeritus
January 25th 2009


3741 Comments


he is good though
well hes good when hes not fucked up on heroin

gaslightanthem
January 25th 2009


5209 Comments


erm omg omg you ripping on my shit i'm gonna kill you you motherfuckin piece of shit how dare you that was my first review oh shit



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy