Led Zeppelin
Presence


4.0
excellent

Review

by Tyrion USER (1 Reviews)
July 12th, 2005 | 358 replies


Release Date: 1976 | Tracklist


In 1969, Jimmy Page, a seasoned session muscian, decided upon creating a band after an experience in a supergroup, Beck's Bolero. He picked Robert Plant, from an unknown Band of Joy for lead singer, fellow session musicians John Paul Jones and John Bonham for bassist and percussion, respectively. Even though the band was sure to "fail like a Lead Balloon" they had become one of the most influential bands in history.

Fast foward to 1976. Just after creating Physical Graffiti, Robert Plant had gotten into a car crash in Rhodes and spent his recovery creating the songs which would be grouped together as Presence. This album is unique in all of Led Zeppelin's discography, as it's the only one without keyboards nor acoustics. And now let's begin with the review:

1. Achilles Last Stand - Phenominal. Excellent guitar work by Jimmy Page, he used the same "army of guitars" technique that is used with Blackdog, and it's used to great effect. John Paul Jones is thumping away with his bass the whole ten minutes, never missing a beat. John Bonham is pounding away with exceptional fury, but keeping a militant theme throughout. Robert Plant sings his best here in my opinion, and the lyrics he wrote are majestic too. It's ten minutes of bliss to me, and I'd strongly recommend you to buy the album for this song alone. 5/5

2. For Your Life - Bluesey. That sums up the song well enough. Robert Plant is lamenting about drug-addicted friend, and the melody certainly adds to the atmosphere. It's not bad, but does tend to repeat itself. 3/5

3. Royal Orleans - This song is about a certain member of Led Zeppelin, most likely John Paul Jones, who ends up taking home a drag queen. Royal Orleans itself was a favored hotel of the band. The song starts out with a powerful riff, and is certainly not the norm for Led Zeppelin. Alright song, but like For Your Life it repeats itself. 3/5

4. Nobody's Fault but Mine - Another great song on the album, this one starts out with a distorted guitar solo, followed by Plant humming to the melody of the riff. Then comes the bass and drums, and we have a song. As the title suggests, this song is about Plant trying to save his soul. Just as this song is about to become stale, Plant goes into a truly wicked harmonica solo. 4/5

5. Candy Store Rock - First real rocker on the album, and this it does well. Lyrics are not Plant's best, but it's made up by the guitar pounding nonstop. 3/5

6. Hots on for Nowhere - This is about Plant's frustrations towards the confinements of his situation and Jimmy Page. It's the only song of Led Zeppelin's to have the f-word within, too. "Recycles" the riff from Walter's Walk, which was written before although released later. Uses an unusual stop-and-start timing, I rather like it. 3.5/5

7. Tea for One - Final song on the album, and it's a good way for it to close. Goes back to the blues, and is about Plant's feeling of loneliness from being on the road so much. It's slow and sad, and while not the most impressive musical technique on the album, it definitely is filled with emotion. Great way to slow down a hectic day, even if it does leave you a bit more reflective in the end. 4/5

With an epic like Achilles Last Stand, and some impressive blues works, this s a must own album for any Led Zeppelin fan. Also, the entire album feels rushed as it was made in less than a year in less than desirable conditions, but that adds a certain flavor that makes this unique. If you've been wondering which album to get lately, make sure to pick this one up.

4/5


user ratings (1410)
Chart.
3.6
great
other reviews of this album
Bron-Yr-Aur (3.5)
...

lz41 (3.5)
...

pinkzeppelin (4.5)
...

menawati (4)
A back to basics release from Led Zeppelin which failed to live up to the sky high standard set by i...



Comments:Add a Comment 
angelo_d_necro
July 12th 2005


43 Comments


At last this has been reviewed, Achilles Last Stand has been a favourite of mine for a good while now

masada
July 12th 2005


2733 Comments


Pretty good review. I like Presence a lot, actually. I don't really know why.

Taxman
July 28th 2005


82 Comments


Yea...this is a good album...not as great as some of the older stuff but For Your Life and Achilles are really cool songs...Achilles is actually one of my fav. zeppelin songs

Desensitized
July 28th 2005


136 Comments


Great album. I actually like the shorter songs the best. But I agree, with your score. Good job.

YDload
August 14th 2005


1207 Comments


Good review. "Achilles Last Stand" is by far the best Led Zeppelin song there is, but I'm not sure that it would be worth it to buy the whole album.

Tyrion
August 17th 2005


17 Comments


Depends on where you get it. Itunes is a no brainer, but used CD's of Presence(how I got mine) usually go around for seven or eight dollars.

Edit- Nevermind about Itunes, Cheeto-t corrected me.This Message Edited On 08.17.05

Jawaharal
August 17th 2005


1832 Comments


itunes doesn't have zeppelin

zabbit82
October 22nd 2005


62 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Good review. This has to be one of my favorite Zep albums. I think Tea For One has one of Page's most emotional solo's, if not one of his finest IMO.

Killtacular
October 22nd 2005


1314 Comments


I was under the impression it was "That'll go over like a lead balloon." Because they were gonna call themselves the New Yardbirds.

DesolationRow
October 22nd 2005


833 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Actually, Keith Moon had said that to Jimmy when he offered him the position of drummer for the band. They took away the 'a' so people knew how to pronounce it.

Arnold_Layne
December 7th 2005


49 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

presence is underrated.. achilles last stand is my favorite zeppelin song definetly

lastcharge
December 11th 2005


1 Comments



I think Presence stands next to VI for me, its a great album and i got the version in its recreated special edition LP sleve (thank you swan song) and i agree with arnold layne, it is underrated, it deserves atleast 4 and in comparrison to the next 2 albums they will release (in throught he out door then finnally coda) it is traditionall LZ's last great work. and oh, they didnt use the f word btw, as it stands, LZ has never used a nasty word in any RECORDED album hehe. but then again its hard to knock led zep are the real legends of rock and prolly the greatest band ever to graced from blues to our ears

Rudd13
December 11th 2005


952 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

^Thats gotta suck.



This is by far my favorite Zeppelin album, but it does come close to Houses of the Holy and Zeppelin I. Hots On For Nowhere and Nobody's Fault But Mine are classics.



A new review this album needs



*cough* (it's on the way).





Rudd13
December 11th 2005


952 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'll bet.



But in the end, theres very few bands that became so "seasoned" like Zeppelin that actually mantained everything they've ever stood for over the last..... I think almost 40 years?

Rudd13
December 11th 2005


952 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

*walks away*



(tsk tsk tsk)

Bonzo17
December 28th 2005


92 Comments


nobodys fault but mine is a classic, that was the first zep song i heard

Kyle71
March 15th 2006


19 Comments


Jimmy was actally in the "Yardbirds" before zep and the band formed in september 68' not 1969!
Overall a good review on a great album!

LINK2K99
March 17th 2006


48 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Nice review, but I hate Presence.xp



Achille's Last Stand and Nobodies Fault But Mine are some of Zeppelin's best and incredible fun to play on the guitar. Don't like the other stuff much.



Once again, great review!

LINK2K99
March 17th 2006


48 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Nice review, but I hate Presence.xp



Achille's Last Stand and Nobodies Fault But Mine are some of Zeppelin's best and incredible fun to play on the guitar. Don't like the other stuff much.



Once again, great review!

LINK2K99
March 18th 2006


48 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Nice review, but I hate Presence.xp



Achille's Last Stand and Nobodies Fault But Mine are some of Zeppelin's best and incredible fun to play on the guitar. Don't like the other stuff much.



Once again, great review!



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy