Arctic Monkeys
Who The Fuck Are Arctic Monkeys?


2.5
average

Review

by DaveyBoy STAFF
November 1st, 2008 | 32 replies


Release Date: 2006 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Passable & interesting, the planned 3rd single from the successful debut LP is combined with 3 B-Side quality tracks & an impressive closer that was best left for the follow-up. This EP is not essential for anyone but fans of the band.

It may just be a British trait, but it could be a little unwise for a young up and coming band to release so many tracks to the public so early in their career. As Oasis did before them, it seems that the Arctic Monkeys just can't get enough of providing music to their fans. Maybe they are unselfish. Maybe they are impatient. Maybe they are opportunists. Who knows" What I do know however is that the overnight sensations from Sheffield - England released a fair bit of music in a short time span.

The Arctic Monkeys had just scored two massive hits in the United Kingdom with the first 2 singles from their critically and commercially successful debut album ‘Whatever People Say I Am, That's What I'm Not'. When it came time to release 3rd single 'The View From The Afternoon', it seems that the band couldn't help themselves and ended up releasing this EP, actually making it ineligible to chart as a single.

'The View From The Afternoon', which served as the opener for the LP, plays the same terrific role here. Immediately hooky right from its opening drum-work, the first minute showcases all of the impressive instrument playing of the band as well as the effective vocals. Structurally, the song is better for holding its chorus back and while the mid-track halt is a little gimmicky, it thankfully does not result in a padded out overlong feel.

Up next is 'Cigarette Smoker Fiona' which is a reworking of an earlier song titled 'Cigarette Smoke'. Pretty much a 3 minute distorted guitar-driven track, there are elements of old-school punk apparent here. But while it is not at all bad, this isn't anything special and it can be seen how it was most likely considered to be too run-of-the-mill to make the album proper.

The interesting unplugged-like slower piece 'Despair in the Departure Lounge' follows as the focus is very much placed on the lyrics. Predictably (from its title) telling the story of missing your loved ones while on the road for work, this is borderline fascinating but unfortunately rather unmemorable and comes off as no more than decent variety. The same could be said for track 4 'No Buses', which contains a nice little melody and builds up fairly well, but simply does not demand repeated listens.

The EP closes with the almost 6 minute title track which sees a welcome return to the form that made the band's debut album such a standout. Right from the outset, we see this talented quartet showing how well they combine drums, guitar and especially impressive bass playing with Alex Turner's solid vocals. Furthermore, the lyrical content which concentrates on the band's sudden success is beyond their years. One could even suggest that it is a little premature for such a young band to be at this phase writing-wise already. Unselfishness" Impatience" Opportunism" Who knows"

So should the Arctic Monkeys have released this 5 track EP...""" The answer is (arguably and controversially) "no". While providing additional tracks for their fans was rather unselfish in a way, the sensational debut album stood on its own well enough and it would not be long until a 2nd full-length would be released. Even though they are decent and interesting, all 3 of the middle tracks are simply B-sides and nothing more, while I actually feel that the impressive closer would have best been touched up and improved for inclusion on the 2nd album. Passable and interesting, this EP is not essential for anyone but the biggest fans of the Arctic Monkeys.

Recommended Tracks: The View From The Afternoon & Who the F**k Are Arctic Monkeys"



Recent reviews by this author
Alessia Cara Know-It-AllBe The Wolf Imago
Marianas Trench AstoriaState Champs Around the World and Back
Editors In DreamMeg Myers Sorry
user ratings (240)
Chart.
3.6
great
other reviews of this album
the_accents (4)
...

Senor_Whippy (4)
...


Comments:Add a Comment 
bastard
November 1st 2008


3432 Comments


Who the fuck are the arctic monkeys?

JokesorInsults
November 1st 2008


244 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I disagree with this review, but it was well written.

marksellsuswallets
November 1st 2008


4845 Comments


Good one Max...

Good review as always Davey...I listened to the bulk of their full length yesterday and I have to say...I'm irritated with myself for avoiding it...This Message Edited On 11.01.08

JokesorInsults
November 1st 2008


244 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Track #4's name is messed up, I believe it's "No Buses"

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
November 2nd 2008


22464 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Maxy Boy, they are 4 young brits who played in a Monkees cover band. They played a show in the Arctic and when they got back to Britain (where it was actually colder), they suddenly had enough talent to compose their own fantastic music.

JOKESORINSULTS, I ummed & ahhed about doing this review but ended up doing so since a lot of the ratings & the 2 reviews for the EP were very positive. A lot of people think the extra variety shown on the EP was a positive. Personally, while I found it interesting, I believed it to be a negative.

JokesorInsults
November 2nd 2008


244 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

that's cool man

AtavanHalen
November 2nd 2008


17920 Comments


I'm the drummer in the View video.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
November 2nd 2008


22464 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Thanks for the pick-up on the spelling mistake of 'No Buses' JokesOrInsults. It wasn't me who made that mistake, but I have gone in & fixed that up.

I knew you would be irritated with yourself Brent. It just goes to show that hype is there for a reason sometimes. Oh well, I have been guilty of similar many times in the past. As they say, "better late than never"!

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
November 2nd 2008


22464 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Gee DavID, now you are testing my memory... Umm, that was the one where someone (not the band's drummer) was drumming atop a rooftop, wasn't it? But I can't recall the punchline/conclusion if there was a story being told at all.....

marksellsuswallets
November 2nd 2008


4845 Comments


Shouldn't the first song be View From The Afternoon?

AtavanHalen
November 2nd 2008


17920 Comments


It is.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
November 2nd 2008


22464 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Thanks Brent. I don't know how I didn't pick that up when fixing the other spelling mistake. Who the hell added this album!?!?!? It's fixed now.

Bleak123
November 2nd 2008


1900 Comments


Good review, don't disagree with what you've said tbh.

ClearTheLane
November 2nd 2008


990 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

come on mate it's bit better than average. I agree it's not an essential EP if you're not a fan of the band though..

I liked Cigarette Smoke from Beneath the Broadwalk a lot more than the Fiona-version for some reason.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-3LAWqrRaGE

I mean come on, it's a very fun song, simple but good/catchy.

robin
Emeritus
November 2nd 2008


4438 Comments


you should keep up reviewing bands like this in their entirity. i'd love to see you do it for a band like idlewild or something.

(i don't mean i'm unaware of you spanning bands discographies, i just think you should take requests or something, eh).

anyway, good stuff, i've never listened to arctic monkeys, but granted i know who they are. :pThis Message Edited On 11.02.08

Bleak123
November 2nd 2008


1900 Comments


listen to their debut album, it's pretty awesome.

AliW1993
November 2nd 2008


7511 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Great review, and I agree with the rating



WPSIATWIN and Favourite Worst Nightmare are both great, but the songs on this just dont interest me as much.

AliW1993
November 2nd 2008


7511 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

view from the afternoon is good thoughThis Message Edited On 11.02.08

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
November 2nd 2008


22464 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Well, I have got to say that I am pleasantly surprised as I was under the impression that more people (especially fans of the band) thought highly of this EP. Great to see the agreement BLEAK123, especially since you were part of the original hype machine. Thanks for the positive feedback Ali.

ClearTheLane, I actually agree with you on Cigarette Smoke being a smidge better than this EP version. Neither song does a great deal for me though. I think 3 is a fair enough rating. I was probably somewhere around the 2.7 mark. I tend to rate EP's a little more harshly than other people for some reason.

Robin, taking requests could be playing too dangerous a game when reviewing multiple albums. Especially with Idlewild who have a few.

Auldy
November 3rd 2008


350 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Sorry dude, don't agree with ur review one little bit.

I think this EP is the perfect transition from the party & drinking songs of their debut, to the more darker themed songs on "Favourite Worst Nightmare"



for example, "Cigarette Smoker" is full of Turners classic lyrics and it is concerned with the pub and nightclub scene, but is still adressing the darker sides of it, while "Who The Fuck Are The Arctic Monkeys?" (one of my favourite Arctic Monkeys tracks ever) is a snide introspective look into the band itself, and the music's darker mood itself is reminiscent of what is to come in "Favourite Worst Nightmare"



While I think that some of the lyrical ideas in "No Buses" have been recycled somewhat from their non-album single "Leave The Lights On", its still a solid track. My only dissapointment with this EP is the obviously poor production values on "Despair in the Departure Lounge"



Overall, I think this is a fantastic and very solid release, for an EP at least.





You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy