3OH!3
Want


3.5
great

Review

by Papasfritas42 USER (2 Reviews)
October 11th, 2008 | 77 replies


Release Date: 2008 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Dated techniques but fresh execution makes this Colorado duo worth noting

I don’t know what it is about most hip/hop and rap that just turns me away. I enjoy some but it’s not one of my favorite genres in music. I’m no hater, I enjoy some Lil Wayne, Jay Z, 2pac, the Beastie Boys. But I’m not sure if it’s the stereotypes of all of it that turns me away for the most part. Most songs seen to be about how the artist “macked on some honey in the club,” and how so and so is a real OG. In a world where the same rap song plagues radio over and over, it’s nice to have a fresh perspective in the genre.

Enter 3OH!3, a group that seemingly came out of nowhere, gaining a slot on the Vans Warped Tour ’08. I actually missed them while I was there, but a friend informed me of their existence and introduced me to their cd “WANT.” When we listened, I brushed them off as just another hip/hop adventure that ended at the same destination as all the others. But upon further listening, I discovered that there was more to be had from these two guys from Colorado.

The beats and electronics that make up just about every song are actually really good. The distortion that is used really adds a gritty, urban feel to each track. Opener Tapp is an instrumental that lets the listener know what they are in for, showcasing what most of the songs are made of. Almost everything that they utilize has already been done before, but never before has it felt as fun as they have made it. There are record scratches, distorted claps, keyboards, massive bass beats and other staples in the rap genre. But they also use distorted guitar lines, which really throws the listener off, and nearly makes one want to classify them as alternative/punk rather than rap.

The lyrics are relatively cheesy, but the fact that the two members alternate vocals and styles makes the cd sound fresh. Songs like PunkBitch and Don’t Trust Me are creatively done, but still include the same themes of every other artist. Most songs incorporate sing along choruses that just scream for crowd participation. The rhymes are well executed and it seems like these two guys have a real passion for what they do, and know very well what they want to accomplish with this album, which is bringing the fun back to hip/hop. Rich Man has probably the best lyrics and best rhymes in my opinion, and a very catchy flow to the song. The lyrics are usually very humorous as well, almost seeming like the album is a spoof at times.

All in all, 3OH!3 has caught people’s attention, and will only gain popularity, and will have fans from all genres, seeing as the album dabbles in everything, and even includes piano driven songs. The biggest letdown is the fact that there is a lack of originality in most songs, but the group makes up for every negative in fun. So, if you are looking for something fresh sounding and need something to change your outlook on hip/hop, check these guys out.

Rating: 3.5

Recommendations
PunkBitch
Rich Man
I’m Not Your Boyfriend Baby
Holler ‘til You Pass Out


user ratings (547)
Chart.
2.2
poor
other reviews of this album
explosionsinmyeye (1.5)
A collection of party songs for the socially inept....

smithtable (2)
Even listening for the jokey meme cheese under the gross frat duding, this album doesn't deliver a l...


Comments:Add a Comment 
marksellsuswallets
October 11th 2008


4851 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Is this really funk? Why is this under funk? Eh...anyways decent review...

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
October 11th 2008


22485 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Pretty solid review for a first as it efficiently states a fair bit in it's 5 paragraphs. It needs a paragraph of lyrical examples though, as most hip-hop albums do.

Shrapnel94
October 11th 2008


2213 Comments


i donwloaded this album for my GF as a favor... never listened to it of course after 30 seconds into the first song

gasmaskman
October 11th 2008


1006 Comments


These guys SUUUCK.

username345
October 11th 2008


594 Comments


"But I’m not sure if it’s the stereotypes of all of it that turns me away for the most part. Most songs seen to be about how the artist “macked on some honey in the club,” and how so and so is a real OG."

There's looooooooooaaads of hip-hop that isn't like that.

Anyway, don't like what I've heard of this myself.

ATLbraves
October 11th 2008


193 Comments


I love this album.

Good review too.

YeahRiight
October 11th 2008


50 Comments


Dude, you are missing the whole point of this album, "almost seeming like the album is a spoof at times."

really? do you think? no shit its a spoof, that's the point man.

Papasfritas42
October 12th 2008


29 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

this is definitely a guilty pleasure. and yes it seems like a spoof, but these guys execute it well enough for it to be in appreciation as well. Not just to make fun of the genre but to celebrate it... Thanks for the feedback

Platonism
October 12th 2008


168 Comments


3.5 I DON'T fucking think so.

This duo is completely and utterly horrindous, and they're not funny one bit. Imagine two stupid middle class white kids trying to be gangster with a hint of wanted humor.

marksellsuswallets
October 21st 2008


4851 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

YUP YUP PHOTOFINISH!

Its kinda fun if you're in a car full of people during a four hour car ride on the way to an Underoath concert...other than that...not so much...

handoman
October 21st 2008


2386 Comments


My cousin was listening to this in his car. He knew every word to every song. Good thing we weren't going very far, it was ****ing annoying.

G3LLISTER
November 5th 2008


74 Comments


I covered these guys for my school news paper in Colorado a year ago after they finished warped. They're cool dudes but their music got on my nerves after a month.

cirq
November 29th 2008


9349 Comments


This "band" is really annoying

Don't trust me is the only relatively acceptable song on the album

AtavanHalen
November 30th 2008


17920 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

I'm really not into these guys at all.

Also, the review seems fairly ignorant at times, especially in that first paragraph. Punctuation is also something that could be worked on for your next review.

noworldforeric
December 26th 2008


43 Comments


shitty scene music is shitty and scene

applesoup
December 30th 2008


36 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I think you have read way too much into this album, but its still a good review.



This album is just a little bit of fun, it's catchy, its basically a gimmick. Just want to correct you slightly on a few things:



'The lyrics are relatively cheesy' - No they ARE cheesy,very much so it actually makes me laugh out loud.



"So, if you are looking for something fresh sounding and need something to change your outlook on hip/hop, check these guys out." - No, this is hip-POP, plain and simple. It's for scene kids out there who want to pretend they are 'gangsta'. Also you have some ignorant views on hip-hop, i suggest you stay away from the mainstream, and you may find some artists with meaningful lyrics, and heavy beats.



"The biggest letdown is the fact that there is a lack of originality in most songs, but the group makes up for every negative in fun." - Some's up whole album, i'll probably give this album a nice 3out of5, because its fun to listen to, but hasn't got any real substance.

xmOBSCENEx
January 23rd 2009


122 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

ha i loved it



starrstruck and cant do it alone are the best!

FaithlessRomance
January 23rd 2009


5 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I really enjoyed the album, and I agree entirely with your review.



I find that after two days of having one song on repeat anything can get on your nerves, and this was the case for me with

'Starstrukk'. I'm already growing out of them after only a couple of months, but I love their music and the fact that it's an extreme

exaggeration of everything we love and hate about hip hop/rap. You should definitely give them a chance, it's not nearly as bad

as it seems at first listen.This Message Edited On 01.23.09

ChristianPasaoa
February 24th 2009


10 Comments


While I really don't like this band, I'll admit some of their tunes are catchy...



...until they start singing.

Kiran
Emeritus
April 12th 2009


6029 Comments


do the helen keller and talk with yo hips



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy