The Butterfly Effect
Final Conversation of Kings


3.0
good

Review

by AtavanHalen USER (181 Reviews)
September 16th, 2008 | 158 replies


Release Date: 2008 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Brisbane rock royalty chase tail on dissapointing third album.

Many words are fitting when attempting to describe Australian band The Butterfly Effect. “Epic” is certainly one that will often come up amongst fans- a title rightly deserved with the band’s fantastic 2003 debut, Begins Here. “Consistent” is another, describing the steady, tried-and-tested sound of the band’s next record, 2006’s Imago; a fine album, but significantly missing the spark of the previous effort. Heavy, melodic, emotional and excellent performers are others that will be used invariably. But “predictable”" “Average”" Even “boring”" Surely blasphemy has occurred. Unfortunately, these are the words that creep into conscience throughout the band’s third effort, Final Conversation of Kings. Despite some shining moments, there appears to be little to no heart or effort left in what TBE are doing as musicians.

One of the most discussed elements of this record thus far has been the inclusion of a horn section in some of the songs. Unfortunately, a collective cameo of about 90 seconds on a 40 minute record does not equate to a revelatory progression of the music. For what it’s worth, however, where it is used creates an interesting and contrasting soundscape- the call and response of the trumpet and vocalist Clint Boge in the opening verse of “The Way”, albeit a fleeting moment, is a highlight of the album. Its inclusion in the seven minute opus “Worlds on Fire” is also a welcome change, even giving the song a momentary feel of free jazz.Another standout moment on the record is the blistering and well-crafted “Room Without a View”. The song transitions perfectly from guitarist Kurt Goedhart’s Edge-like introductory lead guitar to a fast-paced, clean-toned chord strum, before striding powerfully into a dominant 6/8 hard rock tour-de-force. This the kind of song that TBE are certainly well-versed in, yet can still do in an energetic and passionate way, as evidenced here.

Certainly, if this was a continued trend throughout Final Conversation, and the better ideas on offer were more thought out, then we would almost certainly have a superior record on our hands. But the main issue here to be had is the perceivable lack of ambition on behalf of the band. Taking predominance here is an overbearing sense of familiarity. Granted, the band are more than proficient musicians, and one can always take the argument of “if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it”. But, honestly, how are we as listeners meant to be excited by music that we can already foresee exactly where a lead break will occur, where the vocals will be emphasised…even how the song will end" Tracks such as “Seven Days”, “Rain” and lead single “The Window and the Watcher” are particularly guilty of such predictability. They are enjoyable songs for those that are already infatuated with the Butterfly Effect sound (lots of guitar crunch mixed with echoing, crystal-clear bass patterns, Jeff Buckley warbling and aggressive Maynard-inspired grit), but there is simply nothing to entice the listener beyond this.

It should be emphasised that Final Conversation is by no means bad. What it is, however, is bitterly disappointing- especially given the quality- and, especially, originality- of their previous works. This is the band that once strived for “One second of insanity”. On here, however, you’ll be lucky to find even that.

Listen to Final Conversation at: www.myspace.com/thebutterflyeffectau



Recent reviews by this author
The Presets PacificaLast Dinosaurs In A Million Years
Every Time I Die Ex LivesDarren Hayes Secret Codes and Battleships
Wanda Jackson The Party Ain't OverPhrase Babylon
user ratings (264)
Chart.
4
excellent
other reviews of this album
Mikesn EMERITUS (4)
A confident, free flowing collection of songs that represents some of the year's strongest alt rock....

PayneTiger777 (4.5)
A more progressive/jazzy approach turns out to be quite a success for this popular Australian band....


Comments:Add a Comment 
PayneTiger777
September 16th 2008


4511 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This album is by no means disappointing to my ears. I can't wait to buy this. Best Buy better have it. Worlds on Fire is an epic song.

handoman
September 16th 2008


2386 Comments


I need to listen to their other albums. I can't say this was disappointing, but I don't know what the other albums are like.

DDconjoined
September 16th 2008


341 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah i agree with Payne. this is at least a 4. This is much more mature than any previous works, IMO this is TBE's best album, and i can't wait either to have this in my hands this weekend.

SnackaryBinx
September 16th 2008


2309 Comments


lol at whoever negged you.

I've never listened to this band, and I won't be listening to anything else until I get my Neurosis review done, but fuck, reviewing Neurosis is like having a political debate.

Cesar
September 16th 2008


2732 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This isn't amazing, but very good. Review is quite accurate.



This is pretty much tied with Begins Bere, I think I might like this a little more.This Message Edited On 09.17.08

Jom
Staff Reviewer
September 16th 2008


3154 Comments


Is this even released yet?

Cesar
September 16th 2008


2732 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Stream at



www.myspace.com/thebutterflyeffectau

Mikesn
Emeritus
September 16th 2008


3708 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

it's streaming from their myspace



edit: ninja'dThis Message Edited On 09.16.08

DaveyBoy
Emeritus
September 16th 2008


22486 Comments


Cue Billy's rebuttal...
Atavan, do you think they went safe & predictable to gain mainstream accessibility (a'la a band like Gyroscope)...??? Is there more of a poppy feel to this album compared to their previous efforts...???

AtavanHalen
September 16th 2008


17920 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Not at all, Champ. It's still the same kind of stuff; and that's part of the problem

PayneTiger777
September 16th 2008


4511 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I disagree. I thought this album was a lot different then the others they have released. I thought there was more of a progressive feel to it and the vocals sounded a bit different. I enjoyed the jazz feel to it.

AtavanHalen
September 16th 2008


17920 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Like I said, the "jazz" feel was very fleeting.

It was really disappointing how much potential is wasted on this album.

Cesar
September 16th 2008


2732 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

After further listening I can definetly say that Worlds on Fire is my fav song of the album. I can also say this has a chance of growing down on me.



Voted on review too.This Message Edited On 09.16.08

marksellsuswallets
September 16th 2008


4851 Comments


I felt this album was pretty refreshing, but that might be because I have no exposure to their older material so I have nothing to base this album off of other than just the album by itself...

Captain North
September 17th 2008


6793 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

TBH - Begins Here bores the shit outta me. Imago and the EP were brilliant though.



And I'm looking forward to this - just got the news my order has shipped. Should be here within a day or two - psyched now, whether or not your review said it wasn't brilliant (I'm inclined to disregard it as I'm in love with Window and the Watcher. Sure, its not exactly ambitious, but not all bands need to be. And some of the moments in that song make my heart skip, the emotion in the guitar and vocals). The only other song I've heard is ...And the Promise of the Truth, which I'll admit..seems like a repeat of Imago.



(And i refuse to listen to this until I have the physical copy..as hard as that to do. But theres just something magic about popping a CD into the player and hearing tracks you've never heard before).This Message Edited On 09.17.08

Jim
September 17th 2008


5110 Comments


Cue Billy's rebuttal...


AtavanHalen
September 17th 2008


17920 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Billy's rebuttal has obviously come in the form of the negative vote.

Jim
September 17th 2008


5110 Comments


i give him a little more credit than that. i'm sure his rebuttal will take on review form
very soon

AtavanHalen
September 17th 2008


17920 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Great.

billy33
September 19th 2008


216 Comments


hmm decent review, no it wasnt me who negged it btw.
disagree with a few things. ie. 7 days which i think is one of the better songs and certainly not as predictable as say. but yeah my opinion.
as for my "rebuttal", it will be in review form in a few days.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy