Dodheimsgard
Supervillain Outcast


3.0
good

Review

by Hawks USER (117 Reviews)
July 30th, 2008 | 45 replies


Release Date: 2007 | Tracklist


When Dodheimsgard, or DHG for short, was first formed in 1994, they were formed as a black metal band. They released two purely black metal albums, Krontet Kil Konge and Monumental Possession. After Monumental Possession, the band decided to take a turn on their music. They decided to make industrial and experimental metal while still keeping their black metal side in tact. Unlike other bands like The Kovenant, Dodheimsgard actually make this style sound pretty good. Supervillain Outcast is the bands most recent release. They had several lineup changes for this album. Founder and former vocalist Vicotnik was now handling only guitar duties, Kvohst was the new vocalist, Thrawn was on guitars, Clandestine was on the bass, Carl-Michael Eide aka Czral was the drummer, and Mort was handling all the synths.

The best way to describe this album is very fast. Even though the band toned it down on their black metal side, they still know how to play their instruments at a very fast and black metal like pace. Czral is a very well known drummer in the black metal scene and he doesn't dissappoint on this album. The main drumming style of the album is blast beats and when it comes to blast beats Czral is one of the best. The guitar playing by Thrawn and Vicotnik is also really fast and also pretty technical. They have speed, technicality, and also the normal tremolo picking that is so common in the black metal genre. Bass is pretty non-existent on this album. Also, this album is full of industrial samples. During every song, you always have some weird industrial parts being thrown in your face along with the fastness of the instruments playing. Now industrial isn't a genre that I'm very fond of, but Mort makes all of it sound good. Its nothing cheesy like what's heard from The Kovenant on their disaster S.E.T.I. DHG is probably the best band in the black metal scene to mix industrial and black metal at one time other than V:28.

Vocals on this album are decent. Kvohst's is a completely different vocalist than Vicotnik. His main style of vocals aren't really a black metal scream. Its more like a shout with a slight raspy edge to it. Its kind of hard to explain. When he does do the regular black metal screams though its definitely nice to hear. He has a pretty unique scream and doesn't really sound like anyone else in the genre. Sometimes he even does the low death metal growl, but that doesn't really happen too often. Unfortunately, he doesn't do his black metal screams enough for a great vocal performance on this album.

Overall, Supervillain Outcast is a good album. Its nothing that anybody is going to be talking about for years to come as one of the best black metal albums ever, but its pretty enjoyable. If you like industrial mixed in with your black metal and you like it done right, this is probably the album to get. Either this or an album by V:28 will keep you satisfied. The problems with this album is that it gets really boring and repetitive. With 15 songs and clocking in at almost an hour, this album can be kind of hard to listen to more than a couple of times. Other than that, you can probably get a couple of good listens out of this album.



Recent reviews by this author
Akasha Canticles of the Sepulchral DeitySerpent Of Gnosis As I Drink from the Infinite Well of Inebriation
Cradle of Filth ThornographyJanusz Jurga Hypnowald
AngelMaker AngelMakerMisthyrming Algleymi
user ratings (67)
Chart.
3.5
great
related reviews

A Umbra Omega

Comments:Add a Comment 
Hawks
July 30th 2008


73126 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

A little bit shorter than my last review. Tell me what you guys think.

Digging: Erang - Kingdom Of Erang

SCREAM!
July 30th 2008


15756 Comments


Not bad but I wouldve liked a bit more description (maybe go on a bit about how the industrial samples sound). Pretty good review other than that.

But seiously hawks. I want you to review something that isn't black metal at all. You listen to lots of other metal. Take one of those other albums and give it a shot.

taylormemer
July 30th 2008


4962 Comments


Wait! He listens to music other then black metal! Holy shit.

Angmar
July 30th 2008


2688 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

This is definitely one of the worst albums ever made.

SCREAM!
July 30th 2008


15756 Comments


Yo angmar. New SIG:AR:TYR came in the mail today and its pretty fucking great! Gonna try to have a review up for it after i give it a few more listens

Angmar
July 30th 2008


2688 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Cool, I'll hear it in time!

SHOOTME
July 30th 2008


2393 Comments


Good review, except for the cheap shot at The Kovenant.

Hawks
July 30th 2008


73126 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

They deserve the cheap shot. And SCREAM I'm thinking my next review will be Master of the Moon by Dio. No black metal in that lol.

Eliminator
July 30th 2008


2067 Comments


of course hawks would like this

Hawks
July 30th 2008


73126 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I thought your stupid ass was banned.

Eliminator
July 30th 2008


2067 Comments


nah my stupid ass was unbanned hopefully nao it can clean up its act and get some student loans

Tyler
Emeritus
July 30th 2008


7925 Comments


What I've heard from this band has been pretty bad

Hawks
July 30th 2008


73126 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Well this stuff is better than their regular black metal stuff. If thats what you heard then I can understand you thinking that its pretty bad.

taylormemer
July 30th 2008


4962 Comments


I dunno. They've got some pretty low averages.

Hawks
July 30th 2008


73126 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah you're right. Monumental Possession should have a low average because its really bad. This one is good though. Not great at all, but its good for a couple of listens.

Tyler
Emeritus
July 30th 2008


7925 Comments


Their MySpace is ridiculously self-indulgent and pretentious, wow.

I listened to Apocalyptism and it sounded like if Beck and Rob Zombie collaborated. It's really terrible, man. It sounds like the theme for some up-coming teen vampire flick or something. Vendetta Assassin started off sounding like a black metal version of the Power Rangers theme song so I immediately turned it off.

Hawks
July 30th 2008


73126 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah I just realized a 3.5 is too high. Its not great and 3.5 is a great rating so 3 seems right.

Wizard
July 30th 2008


20214 Comments


I listened to Apocalyptism and it sounded like if Beck and Rob Zombie collaborated. It's really terrible, man. It sounds like the theme for some up-coming teen vampire flick or something. Vendetta Assassin started off sounding like a black metal version of the Power Rangers theme song so I immediately turned it off.

Ok, staying far away from this (might sample their myspace songs).

Good review Hawks. Your focusing a lot more on content and not so much on the exaggerations.

Edit: The two samples for this on their myspace page were a joke and they look like Mudvayne on crack.This Message Edited On 07.30.08

Tyler
Emeritus
July 30th 2008


7925 Comments


The review is still a little too structured, almost too formulaic. Try to streamline your reviews more, keep them a little looser. It makes it easier to read when you aren't going through an intro, instruments and conclusion.

Hawks
July 30th 2008


73126 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Thanks guys. I might try a different style of reviewing next time.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy