Mirrorthrone
Gangrene


3.5
great

Review

by Mikesn EMERITUS
June 4th, 2008 | 95 replies


Release Date: 2008 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Vladimir Cochet steps it up, and releases his best album yet.

Vladimir Cochet has come a long way since 2003. That was the year in which he released Of Wind and Weeping, his first under the pseudonym of Mirrorthrone. Now to be perfectly honest, the album was awful; the song writing was sloppy and left the album sounding stale and nearly unlistenable. On the other hand, Cochet's follow up, Carriers of Dust, was a dramatic improvement, particularly the nine minute "A Scream to Express the Hate of a Race", but lacked any real lasting power. As such, I wasn't really expecting anything from Gangrene. But with his third full length album, Cochet has managed to translate the potential demonstrated on Carriers of Dust into something worth listening to.

In the past, one of Mirrorthrone's most glaring flaws lied in the symphonic sections which Vladimir indulged in far too frequently. Often, I got feeling that Cochet was trying too hard to create a grandiose type of sound; perhaps epic, depressed, or evil sounding. As result, Of Wind and Weeping, as well as parts of Carriers of Dust sounded extremely contrived and corny. The irritating piano melody in the opening ten seconds of "Dismay" seemed to validate my worries that Gangrene would be more of the same, but my fears were quickly dispelled as the song transitioned into heavier material. Mirrorthrone makes the change between neo-classical pieces to extreme metal seamlessly; a trait which produces some of the album's most engaging moments, particularly early on in the album. The only real drawback to this kind of style is that it becomes the album's crux, and Cochet tends to rely on it a little more than he should. Consequently, though the majority of Gangrene is composed extremely well, parts of "Une Existence Dont Plus Personne Ne Jouit" and "So Frail" sound somewhat forced.

Perhaps even more significant is the improvement in Mirrorthrone's song writing. Whereas in the past, songs such as the twenty-two minute (!) "Ils Brandiront Leurs Idoles", "De l'Échec Et De Son Essentialité (Point 1. Marginalité Démystifiée)", "Racines Dénudées" were overkill, very rarely does Gangrene feel too ambitious, boring, or excessive. Every song contributes to the album's overall presentation; be it the thrashy, Iced Earth influenced bridge five minutes into "Dismay", or the epic, uplifting piece that powers through the opening minutes of the unfortunately titled "The Fecal Rebellion", and is frequently featured throughout the song. Even Cochet's sombre sounding piano performance in the intro of "No One By My Side" is noteworthy, as it is one of the most beautiful moments Gangrene has to offer. That the album is a lot tighter and more cohesive is essential, as three of the album's six tracks make up the longest Mirrorthrone has ever recorded – at fifteen minutes, "The Fecal Rebellion" is second only to the aforementioned "Ils Brandiront Leurs Idoles" – yet the vast majority of these justify their lengthy runtimes with enjoyable material.

Considering the albums which precede it, Gangrene just might be one of the year's most surprising albums. It isn't perfect, of course, but for the first time it seems as though Vladimir Cochet has finally realized his potential in this sort of metal and will have something of substance to offer up with Mirrorthrone. And really, what more could one ask for"



Recent reviews by this author
Funeral for a Friend ConduitPropagandhi Failed States
Tycho DiveMegadeth Th1rt3en
Fair to Midland Arrows and AnchorsArch Enemy Khaos Legions
user ratings (187)
Chart.
3.9
excellent
other reviews of this album
Odal (4.5)
At the very least, it is a significant leap from Vladimir's previous work. But, I feel that this alb...

related reviews

Carriers of Dust

Comments:Add a Comment 
SHOOTME
June 4th 2008


2393 Comments


Dethrasher isn't going to make it to 200. Your going to win, you winner.

asdemonsburn
June 4th 2008


793 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Very good review, nearly flawless. I think a 3.5 is a bit low, but of course I'm somewhat biased.

Wizard
June 4th 2008


20199 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Vladimir Cochet steps it up, and releases his best album yet.


Have you heard every release he has put out? Just a question.



Funny how you commented on my list I recently put up, if I had heard this yet hahaha. Excellent review like always Mikesn. I'm awaiting for this in the mail. The clips on their myspace page sound better than Carriers of Dust .

asdemonsburn
June 4th 2008


793 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Umm, I would assume he has from the opening paragraph. He's pretty spot on too. OWAW wasn't good aside from the intros to every song. CoD is fantastic I think, A Scream is probably Vlad's best song to date, just a masterpiece.

Wizard
June 4th 2008


20199 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ummm do you know how many side projects he has?



Carriers of Dust is still amazing however I've only had it for a week hahaha.

rasputin
June 4th 2008


14968 Comments


Ummm do you know how many side projects he has?

Mike probably meant the best album he has released under the Mirrorthrone pseudonym.

Wizard
June 4th 2008


20199 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ahhhh I see. I was just simply asking. I will be judging this too when I get my album in the mail.

rasputin
June 4th 2008


14968 Comments


Yeah I haven't heard it either, but I plan on doing so soon. I quite liked Carriers of Dust, but I'm pretty disappointed to find out the drumming hasn't been turned down a notch from 'ridiculous' to 'bearable'.

asdemonsburn
June 4th 2008


793 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Indeed, Mirrorthrone without a doubt is his best project. Unholy Matrimony - "Love and Death" has its moments, Weeping Birth "A Painting of Raven of Rape" has a few good songs, but mostly meh. The new Weeping Birth is out later this year, and I heard new Unholy Matrimony is in the works aswell.

McP3000
June 4th 2008


4050 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Ummm, why can i only find Carriers of Dust and Of Wind and Weeping on Amazon?

Wizard
June 4th 2008


20199 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I think Gangrene was released independently. You can by it off his myspace page.



I quite liked Carriers of Dust, but I'm pretty disappointed to find out the drumming hasn't been turned down a notch from 'ridiculous' to 'bearable'.




I don't know why everybody complains about the drumming on Carriers of Dust. I quite enjoyed it. Really intense drumming. Wasn't it all done with a drum machine though hahaha?

This Message Edited On 06.04.08

asdemonsburn
June 4th 2008


793 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I got Gangrene here:



http://www.willowtip.com/store/product_detail.aspx?id=1490



$11 w/ shipping included (U.S.), not bad

rasputin
June 4th 2008


14968 Comments


Wasn't it all done with a drum machine though hahaha?

Yeah, it's all programmed, hence them being ridiculous. Rather than a wall of sound, it's a wall of drums.

Wizard
June 5th 2008


20199 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, it's all programmed, hence them being ridiculous.


If you never read that the drums were programmed, would you have liked Carriers of Dust more.

FR33L0RD
June 5th 2008


1474 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

IMO a metal classic

Mikesn
Emeritus
June 5th 2008


3708 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Mike probably meant the best album he has released under the Mirrorthrone pseudonym.
Yeah. I made sure I worded it this way in the review, but I changed the summary at the last minute and forgot. I know of his other projects, but I haven't heard any of them yet.

The new Weeping Birth is out later this year, and I heard new Unholy Matrimony is in the works aswell.
Dude's got a lot of time on his hands.

Carriers of Dust is still amazing however I've only had it for a week hahaha.
You'll love this, then.

Wizard
June 5th 2008


20199 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nice, nice thats what I wanted to hear Mikesn.





Dethtrasher
June 6th 2008


2211 Comments


Dethrasher isn't going to make it to 200. Your going to win, you winner.

Wrong! :p But Mike is a better reviewer though.

SHOOTME
June 6th 2008


2393 Comments


Hey you got review #200, and you reached the hype, its really good.This Message Edited On 06.06.08

kmagnum1x
September 15th 2008


332 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

This guy is a damn good poet if you ever take the time to read the lyrics

Digging: High on Fire - Electric Messiah



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy