">
 

Impaled Nazarene
Pro Patria Finlandia


4.5
superb

Review

by Hawks USER (117 Reviews)
May 24th, 2008 | 28 replies


Release Date: 2006 | Tracklist


Impaled Nazarene is a Black Metal band formed in 1990 in Finland by vocalist Mika Luttinen. This album, Pro Patria Finlandia, is their ninth studio album. If you know Impaled Nazarene, you will probably know what to expect, a brutal mix of Black Metal, Speed Metal, and Grindcore.

For me, when i listen to this album there is really only one thing i can think of to describe it and that is the end of the world. This album is so fast, so heavy, and so chaotic you might not realize what's going on. There is one way of drumming on this album and one way only......BLAST BEATS. The drummer's name is Reima Kellokoski and he just doesnt stop on this album. Now that you know that this whole album is fast as hell, you probably know what to expect from the guitarists. The guitarists, Tuomo Louhio and Jarno Anttila, tear this album up with extremely fast and melodic riffs and some brutal tremelo picking. As for the bass on this album, you can't really hear it which is really the common thing in Black Metal. It is audible at times, but overall its basically non-existent.

The vocals on this album are extremely well done. Mika does the Black Metal style, but its more of a low pitched shout than a raspy scream. Over the years his vocals have changed and on this album they've changed for the better. On songs like Weapons to Tame a Land and I Wage War he shows he can be versatile and hit some high screams and on songs like Something Sinister and For Those Who Have Fallen he shows off more of a Death Metal growl for some parts.

Lyrically this album, and the band in general, show off a lot of dark humor. Songs like Something Sinister, Goat Sodomy, Contempt, and a couple others should not be taken seriously. Other songs such as One Dead Nation Under Dead God and For Those Who Have Fallen are more about serious topics like war. Even though this band can be serious at times, they are very humorous throughout this album.

If you're someone who takes listening to Black Metal very seriously and have no sense of humor, you're definitely going to want to stay away from this one. On the other hand, if you're someone who wants a little bit of a change from the serious side of Black Metal and wants something that is humorous, but can be serious at times, i would say get this album. Overall this album is excellent there's not really any problem with it except lack of variety throughout.


Recommended Tracks:

Weapons to Tame a Land
Goat Sodomy
One Dead Nation Under Dead God
Kut
Contempt
I Wage War



Recent reviews by this author
Akasha Canticles of the Sepulchral DeitySerpent Of Gnosis As I Drink from the Infinite Well of Inebriation
Cradle of Filth ThornographyJanusz Jurga Hypnowald
AngelMaker AngelMakerMisthyrming Algleymi
user ratings (55)
3.5
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Hawks
May 24th 2008


75355 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I tried to take all the criticism i got on my last review and apply it on this one. Don't know if its any good, but i'll let you guys decide.

Digging: Cradle of Filth - Existence Is Futile

masscows
May 24th 2008


2230 Comments


A little short but it described everything pretty well. The writing isn't too great but you'll get better at putting your thoughts into words with time.
Take more time between writing reviews gathering ideas for what you want to write about, don't just sit down and decide "hey, I'm gonna review this" because sometimes it comes out a little messy.

Hawks
May 24th 2008


75355 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah it is pretty short. And i totally agree with you about the writing lol.

taylormemer
May 24th 2008


4964 Comments


Too much "this album," way too much in fact.

The last paragraph is hypnotic as well. Try and simplify it a little, like "if your someone who enjoys humour, of a black quality, then Pro Patria Finlandia is certainly a needed addition towards you collection. However, on the other hand, if you aren't then the boundaries of the CD should be avoided... etc."

And I personally find providing band bios in reviews unnecessary because that is what their bio/description page is for. If everyone puts their own intro including a history of the band, then that equals too much of the same thing. I know you haven't really done this in this review, but I think it is something you should keep mindful of in future.

foreverendeared
May 24th 2008


14680 Comments


wow, you did much better this time. there are still some writing flaws throughout, but this is a lot better.
i personally don't mind a little bit of band bio to kick off a review, just as long as you dont go into a long and tedious history. i think you give the reader JUST the right amount of bio to kick of this review. i would just take out the line "for those of you who don't know."

Hawks
May 24th 2008


75355 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks foreveredeared.

foreverendeared
May 24th 2008


14680 Comments


no problem. definitely keep reviewing. one small tip, next time you write a review, when you're done, put it down and wait an hour or so, maybe even wait a day, then come back to it and re-read it, correct mistakes, and make any changes you think it needs.


Hawks
May 24th 2008


75355 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Will do.

Hawks
May 24th 2008


75355 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Not me.

Hawks
May 25th 2008


75355 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I could really care less.

south_of_heaven 11
May 25th 2008


5577 Comments


I have "Manifest" by these guys. It's terrible, tbh.

Digging: Bonehunter - Dark Blood Reincarnation System

Jom
Staff Reviewer
May 25th 2008


3263 Comments


/in before Chan says that the correct phrase is "couldn't care less."

Hawks
May 25th 2008


75355 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Chan why aren't your I's capitalized? And South of Heaven, this album kills Manifest.This Message Edited On 05.24.08

south_of_heaven 11
May 25th 2008


5577 Comments


You should sit down at your computer, put on an album you've never heard before, and do a tbt and just type as each song plays out, only listening through it once. That way you get the best thoughts.
Best review format possible tbh.

foreverendeared
May 25th 2008


14680 Comments


i think that's the worst idea i've ever heard

south_of_heaven 11
May 25th 2008


5577 Comments


http://www.sputnikmusic.com/album.php?reviewid=10229

foreverendeared
May 25th 2008


14680 Comments


HAHAHAHA you just changed my mind.

foreverendeared
May 25th 2008


14680 Comments


yeah it was great chan. had me laughing out loud several times..... high fives

Yazz_Flute
June 19th 2008


19045 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Album art is killer. Album is pretty good but a little too samey. 3.5 for now.



I Wage War fucking owns though.

Hawks
June 20th 2008


75355 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

My favorite song is probably Weapons to Tame a Land. The opening riff got me hooked on this album.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy