Wolves in the Throne Room
Two Hunters


4.5
superb

Review

by Odal CONTRIBUTOR (43 Reviews)
May 17th, 2008 | 43 replies


Release Date: 2007 | Tracklist

Review Summary: WITTR have stated in an interview that they do not wish to be recognized. Unfortunately for them, they happen to be one of USBM's best acts today.

Wolves in the Throne Room,is such an interesting group and for being an American Black metal band, they sure have a lot of European influences, a complete lack of corpse paint and pseudonyms. Diadem of the Twelve Stars, the band's debut, was certainly a breath of fresh air in USBM and Wolves certainly do not suffer from the sophomore slump. In such a short time they have matured their sound quite a bit and expanded on the black metal with the structure of post-rock mentality.

The album's opener, Dio Artio, is an excellent way to start off the experience. Floods of ambiance preceded by nature noises begin to fill the soundscape. Gradually, drums come plodding in quickly followed by more distinct electric guitars. Though the track length is over five minutes and Wolves push repetition to its limits here, it never becomes a chore or boring. This is about as Post-Rocky as Wolves get and it is interesting glimpse at what could be if they had chosen said genre instead of Black Metal.

Vastness and Sorrow does a complete 180 from Dio Artio and is pure black metal. All the staples are here, blast beats, tremolo picking, high pitched shrieks. However, they are done in such a fine tuned way that never does it sound cliché. Wolves' post-rock inspired structure makes this song shine with its awe-inspiring climax. Vastness and Sorrow also demonstrates that WITTR have ditched all of its filler and out-of-place sounding riffs that some criticized their previous effort for. The result ends up with less riffs and more repetition, but sounds more cohesive as a whole.

After the wake up call that was Vastness and Sorrow, Wolves step back and let you hear the beautifully chilling vocals of guest singer Jessica Kinney. Her operatic voice is backed up by tribal sounding drumming and very post-rockish guitars. Eventually, a storm of black metal arrives and washes away all of this in an epic shriek and the song continues on with the various improvements WITTR added to its black metal writing mentioned earlier.

All three of the previous tracks are amazing in their own right, but everything great about Two Hunters can be found in the last song, I Will Lay Down My Bones Among the Rocks and Roots. There are post-rocky sections, Jessica Kinney, chilling acoustic passages, shrieks, blast beats, perfect chord progressions accompanied by harmonized tremolo picking. Like I said, everything. With the conclusion of the cd being so strong, it is clear that Wolves have learned a lot from the short period between this and Diadem.

Production-wise, well this is black metal. This genre is known for having bad production quality. Wolves make this gritty style work to their advantage, and things certainly are clear enough for you to hear everything most of the time with the possible exception of the bass in some spots. Each of the members is very talented with their respectable instrument and no one ever feels out of place. There are some spots where the drums may get unnecessarily fast and or complex, but things work themselves out quite nicely and quickly.

With releasing two albums one year apart, it would be foolish to think that Wolves wouldn't fall into the sophomore slump. However, they defy the odds and produced an album that not only was atop many top metal cds of 2007 lists, but could very well change the perception of USBM as we know it. Wolves have crafted a more accessible, better constructed soundscape that simply must be heard to be believed.



Recent reviews by this author
Art of Anarchy Let There Be AnarchyLittle Simz Drop 7
Kanye West and Ty Dolla Sign Vultures 1meth. Shame
Torres What an Enormous RoomGoth Babe Lola
user ratings (1374)
4.2
excellent
other reviews of this album
Chamberbelain (5)
A Deep Cascade Of Sensational Black Metal....

NemesisDivina (5)
A truly breathtaking album that has improved upon almost every aspect of Wolves in the Throne Room's...

Sebekulten13 (5)
No other black metal album described the universe, the creation and the creator so beautifully, so s...



Comments:Add a Comment 
BallsToTheWall
May 21st 2008


51176 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Did not see this posted. Regardless I cannot stress how much I love this album. I'm stuck on a high 4 and cannot wait till my shirt comes in the mail.

AngelPhoenix
May 21st 2008


2761 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, this album is sweet, the last track is of majorly epic proportion.

Dis_Con_Nec_Ted
May 21st 2008


5098 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Damn I have to listen to this again! Remember digging this and hearing the sound of old times and having images of forests and all kinds of medieval stuff in my head. Amazing.

Wizard
May 21st 2008


20497 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Its about time you changed your avatar DirtyS4nch3z (fucking awesome album as well). I never knew you dug black metal.



I can't wait to get this in the mail. I love the samples on their myspace page.

botb
May 21st 2008


17556 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

this is probably my favorite black metal album of all time.

Dis_Con_Nec_Ted
May 21st 2008


5098 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

[quote=the_wizard]Its about time you changed your avatar DirtyS4nch3z (****ing awesome album as well). I never knew you dug black metal.[/quote]

Hahahaha. What do you care :lol:



I do like black metal I just don't own a lot of it.

Wizard
May 21st 2008


20497 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Hahahah I remember a while back you asked me why I never changed mine and I thought it would be funny to be a hypocritical moron.



this is probably my favorite black metal album of all time.


Please tell me you have heard of Emperor, right?



BallsToTheWall
May 21st 2008


51176 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Although ITNE was the first b.m album I bought and listened to, I have to agree that I enjoy Wolves alot more . I'm tired of having small fucking avatars when they're as brilliant as mine.

Wizard
May 21st 2008


20497 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

wittrs are better than emperor


I have never heard of them tbqh. I guess I should check them out. Emperor just does the whole black metal thing perfectly for me though.

Doppelganger
May 21st 2008


3124 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

wait didn't you do the same exact thing in another review, wizard



edit: oh shi yeah it was in elim's Warning reviewThis Message Edited On 05.20.08

Odal
Contributing Reviewer
May 23rd 2008


1709 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Wolves' shirts are so cool, I love their silver design. Ever since they cancelled their Boris tour,I am a sad panda.

BallsToTheWall
May 23rd 2008


51176 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah, that's the one I got. The silver design with the awesome forest and crazy spelling. Totally black metal. Album is quite amazing too.

Wizard
May 23rd 2008


20497 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

oh so you are discrediting his opinion without actually having heard the band







nice


Hahaha you got me on that one. However, I have heard enough off this to know that it will never equal up to Emperor.



wait didn't you do the same exact thing in another review, wizard



edit: oh shi yeah it was in elim's Warning review


Eliminator exaggerated his opening statement so much. While the album was good, it wasn't what he hyped it up to be.

And why do you always just hop into conversations that have nothing to do with you anyways?



This Message Edited On 05.23.08

Eakflanderyof
May 24th 2008


5252 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

wittrs are better than emperor




WitTR are good, but In the Nightside Eclipse and Anthems own anything they've done.



Hawks
May 24th 2008


84731 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This band will never be as good as Emperor.

BallsToTheWall
May 24th 2008


51176 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I don't really like the Emperor albums I have so much, I prefer Burzum, Drudkh, and Nokturnal Mortum. This band is phenominal however.

Eakflanderyof
May 24th 2008


5252 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Eh, Nokturnal Mortum has some good songs on that Lunar Poetry album, but everything else I've heard from their other albums is really boring.

Hawks
May 24th 2008


84731 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I cant get into this band. Burzum and Nokturnal Mortum rule. I've never heard Drudkh.

BallsToTheWall
May 24th 2008


51176 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

You can't go wrong with Drudkh really, very solid with all their albums. Same for Vinterland althought they have 1 and Windir is sick too.

Eakflanderyof
May 24th 2008


5252 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Eh, Drudkh is okay. Windir is cool too, but a lot of his stuff is kinda boring and bland. I've never really listened to Vinterland.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy