Pink Floyd
Obscured by Clouds


3.5
great

Review

by pulseczar USER (67 Reviews)
May 10th, 2005 | 180 replies


Release Date: 1972 | Tracklist


Okay, so there are some things we must admit about Pink Floyd that hardcore Yes fans are always pestering us about. They weren't too complex. They weren't virtuosos. They didn't have bad hair (in the 70s, at least). They weren't that progressive, in the sense that Yes are. But still, the boys knew how to do their stuff. Why, one of everyone's most beloved albums Dark Side of the Moon was mostly developed on Floyd's 1971 and 1972 tours, playing early versions at shows, and writing the album in between shows and even recording sessions. Well, really only one recording session, the one for Obscured by Clouds. Plus the whole album was done in two weeks. But still, the writing process had to be stressful at times. The two weeks Pink Floyd took could've been a break, 'finally, we can stop writing this crazy concept album and play some good ol' rock 'n' roll!' maybe even therapeutic. Unlike John Lennon's music therapy, this therapy is surprisingly cohesive and well-crafted. So why has this album gone unnoticed" It's a soundtrack, and the band is discriminatory towards them. Plus it's to a movie no one remembers, if they had done Saturday Night Fever, I'm sure they would've went the other way for once.

Though Meddle is generally regarded as the transition from Floyd's experimental, and sometimes directionless music to the 'classic' Pink, Obscured By Clouds also does its share. Its overall sound is very much similar, going from the organ driven relaxation with an undertone of powerful emotion Mudmen resembling Us & Them, to the straightforward rocker The Gold, It's in the... approximating Money. Unlike older Floyd albums, Obscured by Clouds flows smoothly all the way through, never going out of balance. And though we all wish Pink Floyd would make another watery 23 minute trip likes Echoes, this has relatively standard length tracks.

Obscured by Clouds shows a lot of what was classic rock, mostly thanks to Dave Gilmour. His signature guitar is very prominent throughout the album, but not to the point where one begins to wonder if this is Pink Floyd or one of those loud rock and/or roll bands mother disapproves of. Most noticeably is the cheery The Gold, It's in the..., driven by an almost cheesy guitar riff (for the Pinks at least) and Gilmour's also cheesy sounding voice. His gruff voice doesn't really fit the type of songs you'd hear on those lousy road trip teen movies.

Though a lot of Fat Dave's blues distortion is featured on the album, it's not enough to keep the more serene songs down. The great textures and ambience provided by Rick Wright's organ and synthesizers (the first time Floyd uses them) resemble the sonic mystery of Echoes. Obscured by Coulds covers a lot of ground in terms of Pink Floyd's past and future, ranging from their pastoral type songs, to spacey instrumentals. Despite the range, Floyd play it safe the whole time, not expanding on what could be better songs. The band reached stellar levels in Meddle and Dark Side..., but here they stay at a normal level. It sounds like a textural rock record, more or less like the first soundtrack they did, More, which also seemed to restrain the band's creativity, but still make solid songs. It's still finely crafted, but anyone expecting something at the levels of their later works might be disappointing. Or one of those snooty Yes fan jarks.



Recent reviews by this author
Pharoahe Monch DesireEl-P I'll Sleep When You're Dead
Jaylib Champion SoundMF DOOM MM.. Food
RZA Afro Samurai SoundtrackEloy Inside
user ratings (1141)
Chart.
3.5
great
other reviews of this album
EVedder27 (3.5)
“Obscured by Clouds” is a complete and solid record, and it’s Pink Floyd after all. If that i...

Sircrapalot (4)
The Floyd follow up Meddle with a superb, underrated album that gets bogged down with some weak inst...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Pig on the wing
May 11th 2005


25 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah, good review. I really really must buy this!

AntiLopa
May 25th 2005


7 Comments


I found this album dusted in some drawer at my house . Well , because i am into Pink Floyd , and haven't heard this album yet i had to find out how it is . Unfortunately it was a great disppointment . I don't know , i guess Pink Floyd weren't on their high then .

Free Four had great lyrics , but that stupid effect that showed up after every-two lines spoiled the whole song!
Dammit . I even laughed because of how pathetic it was .

The rest of the songs deserves the score that you gave , and were decent . But certainly , this album cannot be compared to their later material (or to some sooner ). This Message Edited On 05.25.05

pulseczar
May 29th 2005


2385 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

^well the Floyd were told what to do on this album, Nick Mason even said that the music they played on OBC wasn't his style at all

I_love_my_fender
May 30th 2005


1 Comments


i thought this was a great album, it has a great unique sound if you ask me which is very Floydish.

robo2448
May 30th 2005


132 Comments


Great review. I'm definitely going to buy this eventually.

moaner
July 28th 2005


6 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I think absolutely curtains is a great ending to the album.

fendercustomstrat
August 3rd 2005


46 Comments


Great review. Would've been a much better album if they left out the instrumental songs. Sounds a lot more like David Bowie than Floyd though. I'd probably recommend Meddle or The Final Cut before this one.

pulseczar
February 7th 2006


2385 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Ha, I was neg voted, I'm in the process of re-writing this, coincidentally.

pulseczar
March 6th 2006


2385 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Annnnd a month later, I'm finished, even though it sucks.

CausticVodka
March 7th 2006


11 Comments


I think this is probably Floyd's most underrated album, but I don't really see why it's been neglected so much. It doesn't compare to their later material, but it's still got something going for it.

Zebra
Moderator
March 9th 2006


2647 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I didn't know that this album was done in just two weeks, that's amazing. The first three tracks are awesome, I also love 'Mudmen.'

This was a decent review, and it's good to see that you actually took the time to re-review something without re-submitting it.

Morvit
April 25th 2006


71 Comments


lol that effect that show up every two lines in Free Four isn't that bad. Ok, maybe it made the song a bit worst. But Free Four's still a pretty good song.

STLMiguel
May 22nd 2006


335 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Free Four" is one of my favorite Pink Floyd songs, no doubt. I like this album!

CantBuyAThrill
July 14th 2006


6 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This may be in my top 3 favorite Pink Floyd albums. "Childhood's End" is one of the best songs they ever wrote- and the rest of the album is really great. Think of the "jamming" part in "Echoes"- that's the "feel" you get from alot of "Obscured by Clouds". You can still tell it's Pink Floyd, though, after the first couple songs- with that distinctly relaxing Pink Floyd sound one would expect from the "Meddle" era. This is their bluesiest, and most underrated, album.

Cweef
September 15th 2006


24 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

listended to it, definitly not as good as the other PF albums

BurgerMcJackson
August 22nd 2007


32 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Wots...Uh the Deal is the best, man. Floyd has cranked out some decent ballads and this one is on the top o' tha lista.

Jim
November 7th 2007


5110 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

there's some good rock songs on this album, but i find it quite average as a whole unfortunately.

deslni01
May 3rd 2008


6 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is honestly one of my favorite albums ever. And, interestingly, whenever I play it with other people around I get "Who is this?" and "Can I borrow this?"



I honestly think this is one of the most underrated albums ever. Hell, even my dad - one of the most anti-Pink Floyd people ever - told me he really liked the album before he knew it was Floyd. After I told him who it was, his opinion changed and he's recruited many of his friends, as well.



But I guess to each his own. The great thing about music is anyone can like any artist.

kygermo
February 10th 2009


1007 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Totally underrated. "Wot's.." is just fantastic. I also admire where this album sits chronologically as well.

Aids
March 26th 2009


24410 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Whoa! Hold the phone. David Gilmour wasn't a virtuoso? You lost me there. Never before have I decided to not read a review after reading only the first three lines. Also, not that progressive? Maybe not in hindsight when compared to all the bands to come after them but they were they very epitome for progressive during their time (along with Yes and King Crimson). To say that this band is not progressive is pure blasphemy!



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy