Spineshank
Self Destructive Pattern


4.0
excellent

Review

by Damrod EMERITUS
January 14th, 2005 | 90 replies


Release Date: 2003 | Tracklist


Some general impressions
I've gotten into this album after reading about the first single, 'Smothered', here on MX on the topic of "The perfect Nu-Metal CD". I did not like them a lot on their last album, only one or two tracks (New Disease, Synthetic). But I checked out the song, and soon afterwards the whole album. It's better than I expected. No more Loops and overused samples. Samples are rather used to underline a certain mood in a song, not to build the main base of the track. Much more melodic vocals. More sides of music, more elements of rock and similar stuff are present here.

Of course, the basic style of music is not completely changed. But that was not to be expected. The first track "Violent Mood Swings" rocks pretty good. Before I even noticed what happened the first time I listened to it, I found myself softly banging my head. "Beginning of the end" is more like a slightly heavier rock song, with clean vocals that might remind one of Ozzy in a way. Nu-Metal is there in the form of tracks like "Stillborn" or "Falls apart", but done pretty well. At least better as many other combos of the Nu-Metal Genre IMO.


What I really like about the album:
It's a real fun record, and great to listen to. SDP was my constant rotation in my DiscMan for about two or three weeks (which does not happen often). What's great IMO is the use of much more melodic and clean vocals compared to the previous record "Height of calousness". Shouting, Screaming and clean vocals are pretty well combined. Like mentioned before, the use of samples is better as well. Synthie parts that remined me of Depeche Mode ("Forgotten"), or that underline a certain mood of a song are very well placed ("Beginning of the End", "Slavery").


What was not so good:
After listening to the album for a while, I got the feeling that the songs start more or less the same way. Same way of intro playing. And from my view as a bassist, the bass lines are not very exciting. They fit the songs well, but a little variation or more complex arrangement here or there would've been good.


Summary:
Spineshank do not re-invent music in general or Metal/Nu-Metal in specific with this record. It's nothing that was not there before. But compared to their previous record, or to other bands playing music of that style, it's a very solid album. No real lows for me. If you did not like the first two albums, you might still want to give "Self Destructive Pattern" a chance, as it is a major step in another direction. Listening suggestions are: Beginning of the end, Self Destructive Pattern, Fallback.

Rating: 3.5 - 4/5 :thumb:



Recent reviews by this author
Polar Bear Club Clash Battle Guilt PrideDown-Stares Cobras And Matadors
Unearth The MarchThe Psyke Project Apnea
In This Moment The DreamThis Is Hell Sundowning
user ratings (235)
Chart.
3.5
great
other reviews of this album
neurosisxeno (4)
Convinced you hate Nu-Metal? Give Spineshank a shot, I'm sure you'll be reconsidering....

related reviews

Anger Denial Acceptance

Comments:Add a Comment 
Bartender
Emeritus
December 29th 2003


826 Comments


I liked New Disease from their previous album, but borrowed the whole thing from a friend and wasn't too impressed. I'm even less impressed with this album, as I couldn't even find a new New Disease to like. So, I hate the album, but you've done a good review.

joshmilliken2001
December 31st 2003


8 Comments


This is one of my favorite albums, I really enjoyed The Height Of Callousness album and hated their first album Strictly Deisel. I would give this offering a 4 1/2-5 since I feel the it is flawless, and really do suggest to anyone who hasn't heard Spineshank to at least give it a listen all the way through. :thumb:

rik
January 21st 2004


4 Comments


i loved "the height of callousness" but didn't really hear there first album, i don't think this album is their best but i like it

BuddyBigsby
January 21st 2004


531 Comments


I listened to this album once and never felt compelled to pop it in again. And thank you so much for not doing a track-by-track, Jesus, I hate those.

tlitto05
December 4th 2004


4 Comments


Spineshank has always been one of my favorites, this CD contains some good songs and catchy choruses... I love this CD and should be on everyone's list to buy...

Dead
March 30th 2005


30 Comments


After I heard the New Disease song I decided to give them a shot. It was a good purchase. Better than I thought it was going to be.

Jim
July 23rd 2005


5110 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This album was my first "Shank" experience. Needless to say, i'm hooked! 'Violent Mood Swings' is the perfect intro and tracks like 'Consumed (Obsessive Compulsive)' and 'Smothered' are just perfect when you want to psyche yourself up for something.



I enjoyed this more than HOC and SD, only because it seems a little more complete and (dare i say) melodic.



Good luck to Johny in his new band! (And great review!)

A.K.tm
January 23rd 2006


12 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Very good album!

But it's not better then Srictly Diesel...

Jim
March 2nd 2006


5110 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I don't reckon so. SD's got some good tracks, and it's very raw, but kinda ametuerish and inconsistent. While My Guitar Gently Weeps is quite a good job on there part, and alot better than all the other (and there are many) metal covers out there. I also like Detached very much, but overall, I'd go the Pattern or the Callousness every time.

LivingZen
March 2nd 2006


13 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I think the best part of this album is listening to the progression that the band took to get it. Strictly Diesel was, in my mind, very reminiscent of the Deftones style, which is by no means a bad thing. Then they moved on to the electronic based THOC album which to me had many standout tracks and a few sorta fillers.



But SDP... my god! Much like the reviewer, it didn't leave my Discman for weeks. And if it happened to do so, it would only be going to another CD player so I could continue listening. From "Violent Mood Swings" right through to "Dead To Me", the album is sheer brilliance.

vlad123dracula
April 3rd 2006


12 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Great review i would agree with everything you said

f_u_c_t
May 1st 2006


1406 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Excellent album.

Zero673
July 20th 2006


5 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

good review, i think you covered the album very good.. i have this album it kinda ogt old but is still good

72haha72
January 20th 2008


476 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

one of the best nu metal albums IMO, it may be repetitive, but, just compare it to other nu metal albums, this one crushes most of them, I remember listening to it all day when I was like 14

Wizard
January 20th 2008


20146 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Nothingface makes these guys look like cripples! Still an awesome album!

Digging: Selbst - Selbst

Jim
January 21st 2008


5110 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

A great nu-metal album. Recommended.

BallsToTheWall
January 21st 2008


48191 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Still a sick album, Nothingface slays as well. Nothing wrong in liking some nu-metal from time to time.

Digging: CZARFACE - Every Hero Needs a Villain

TheyTookOurJobs
January 11th 2009


1318 Comments


i heard smothered, i liked it so i bought this album, but i have never got around to listening it even though ive had it for like 2 years now

Jim
January 11th 2009


5110 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

dude listen to it already it's coolies

Metalstyles
Emeritus
January 11th 2009


8570 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah it slays



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy