Iron Maiden
Fear of the Dark


2.5
average

Review

by dude64 USER (6 Reviews)
February 2nd, 2007 | 16 replies


Release Date: 1992 | Tracklist

Review Summary: My review of an Iron Maiden album...

Iron Maiden failed with this album. Even though I love Maiden, this was a bland and boring ride. Far too long as well. After all, the 90's did suck for Maiden. They lost the singer, and replaced him with Satan himself, who doesn't have a good voice.

After putting out a classic, Seventh Son Of A Seventh Son, Maiden put out some album, and it wasn't too good. I know the name, however I'm too lazy to type it because it's not really worth typing out and all. After Fear Of The Dark, this album, they put out The X Factor. Long and boring, but decent in some songs.

When I purchased Virtual XI, I had high hopes for something good because I had heard Futureal. That was the best song on the album. Virtual XI was a flop in my book.

Now for Fear Of The Dark. Ok, cover art tells us something. Usually if Eddie ain't on the cover, than it's not worth listening to. Virtual XI did not have Eddie on front cover. It sucked. Yeah, it did. Did this suck? No, but it wasn't much better.

VOCALS

Bruce's vocals in this are very raspy and bland. On every album he put out in the 80's, his voice was clear and great. You could enjoy his voice. This time, I didn't enjoy it. It's a shame really, because it sounded like age was catching up with old Bruce, but he was only 33 when this was released. Or 32, depends on what his birthday is. Even on the newer studio albums, his voice sounds better than this, and he's in his late 40's now. This year he'll be turning 48! From Here To Eternity is probably the only track where Bruce's vocals are actually pretty good. But after all, that song is one of the best on this album. Bruce's vocals get a 3/5.

BASS & GUITAR

Steve Harris and Janick Gers. I think Dave Murray is still there too. Oh well, the guitar isn't that great on the album. It just doesn't really shine on this like it would on something with Adrian Smith. Now, Maiden's never been known for their guitarist, but he is a very talented guitarist, and it shows on the song Powerslave among others, but unfortunately, that song wasn't thrown on this album. It wouldn't fit though. Now, Steve Harris is still a great bass player, because believe me, he can play it. But it's not the playing. It's the fact that it doesn't fit with the guitar. I remember when Steve's bass would just perfectly blend in with the guitar. Now, it's just kind of there. Afraid To Shoot Strangers has some great guitar/bass, but then at some part in the song it just gets ruined somehow. The bass gets a 3.5/5 and the guitar gets a 3/5.

THE OVERALL RANKING

Overall, this isn't that bad of an album. It's not Powerslave or even Killers, but it's good for the Maiden completist. Other than that, I cannot recommend it to anyone. If you're looking for an album to help get you into Maiden, just skip the entire 90's Maiden catalogue. Anything in the 80's or the new century, and you'll be just gosh-darn, candy-eatin' dandy!

2.5/5 for a few decent tracks, not so top-notch vocals and instrumentation, and no Adrian Smith.



Recent reviews by this author
Pixies DoolittleDef Leppard Hysteria
Iron Maiden PowerslaveMastodon Blood Mountain
Yes Tales from Topographic Oceans
user ratings (2099)
3.3
great
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
dude64
February 3rd 2007


90 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Still not as good as my Yes review. I failed once again.

Bfhurricane
February 3rd 2007


6232 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Interesting review... decent album in my opinion. If you're going to review Fear of the Dark you better make sure you mention the song! f'ing epic.

dude64
February 3rd 2007


90 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I decided to experiment a little. thnx

Altmer
February 3rd 2007


5701 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I didn't like this review very much. Didn't hit anything home for me.



The album was okay. Afraid to shoot strangers and Fear of the Dark are awesome tracks

Intransit
February 3rd 2007


2797 Comments


Now, Maiden's never been known for their guitarist

Are you seriously like, a fetal alcohol case or a harlequin fetus with down syndrome?

This isn't even opinion that I disagree with, its just such an obviously false statement. If Iron Maiden is known for anything at all, it is their guitarists.

Altmer
February 3rd 2007


5701 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Heh heh, Iron Maiden is all guitars and vocals.



But one of the standout things 'bout Maiden is 'Arry's bass galloping.

The Door Mouse
February 3rd 2007


2092 Comments


Ok review. All I have is #OTB and I'm getting Powerslave next whenever I have the time.

Mikesn
Emeritus
February 3rd 2007


3708 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

They lost the singer, and replaced him with Satan himself
Wait, what?

After putting out a classic, Seventh Son Of A Seventh Son, Maiden put out some album, and it wasn't too good. I know the name, however I'm too lazy to type it because it's not really worth typing out and all.
Not good.

Usually if Eddie ain't on the cover, than it's not worth listening to. Virtual XI did not have Eddie on front cover.
Eddie is on every cover. See that giant face on Virtual XI? That's Eddie.

This time, I didn't enjoy it. It's a shame really, because it sounded like age was catching up with old Bruce
I agree, his voacls pretty much suck on this album. But he used the raspy singing purposely.



You didn't really describe the music much. All tell me is that Bruce sang with a raspy voice and it was bland, the guitar wasn't great, and Steve Harris doesn't follow the guitars and is just there. If I had never heard this album before I wouldn't have any idea what you're talking about. Looks like an honest effort, just try to go more indepth next time. Why aren't the guitars great? What is missing from the bass that makes it ineffective? Just something to think about.This Message Edited On 02.03.07

met65
February 3rd 2007


105 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

this is a great album. by the way, dave murray is better than adrian smith and janick gers.

dude64
February 3rd 2007


90 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Chan, I was just saying that if you asked some old metalhead from the 80's who hasn't picked up a Maiden album in 15 years and basically forgot who they were if they liked Maiden, they wouldn't say "Oh yeah they got that sweet guitarist!"

SCREAM!
February 3rd 2007


15756 Comments


that doesnt stop him from being great^^

Bfhurricane
February 3rd 2007


6232 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

If the person you asked did in fact like Maiden previous to you asking them that question, they would sure as hell remember they got incredible guitars. Maybe not the most talented, but in my opinion the most innovative of the 80s

dude64
February 3rd 2007


90 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

darnit foiled again

wisechick80
February 3rd 2007


12 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Sorry, this review just doesn't do it for me. You've gotta love Maiden FOR their guitar players! Maiden is the inspiration for other great guitar bands like Metallica so saying that they're not known for their playing is crazy!

dude64
February 3rd 2007


90 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Yeah, I love Adrian's playing, but guitars aren't the main reason Maiden are famous.

Esp Griffyn
February 4th 2007


28 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Yep, this is another typical Maiden Release, bland and boring phrasing, 2D composition and poor production make this another tired release.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy